We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average experience”
Review of Vien Dong Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vien Dong Hotel
Ranked #67 of 197 Hotels in Nha Trang
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Average experience”
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here during our Contiki tour. It is not too far from the beach and we could easily walk. The bedroom was comfortable but a bit small. The bathroom was clean. There is a forex facility and a swimming pool. The staff is friendly and very helpful. The breakfast room was a bit untidy but the food was decent. The elevators tend to close on you so be careful to move quickly in and out.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Revy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    62
    35
    15
    10
See reviews for
41
55
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
79 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The staff is friendly and usefull, but that's the only nice thing I can say about this place. Problems were:
- very noisy room 443 overlooking the street
- dirty bedsheets with sand or dust between them when we got the room
- bathtub made of plastic, which was broken and leaking: the bathroom turned into a pond after a simple quick shower
- bugs in the bathroom (ants and smaller bugs)
- bedbugs in the poolside sunbeds
- the hotel seem to specialize in hosting groups of Russians. Not your best luck if you happen to check in or out at the same time as them, or even use the pool or attend to use the elevator
We had 3 nights booked but ended up leaving after the second night, loosing money (no refund) for the better.
Find another place. Really.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Courla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nha Trang hotels

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I stayed here for two nights in early April and had a great time in Nha Trang - highly recommend this gorgeous beach town. As for the hotel, I was also happy with my stay. Bear in mind, I'm not the most picky traveler on the planet. Check-in was simple although it is true the front desk people aren't super friendly like in other places, they aren't rude either. They do their job.

The room I had was nice, but it is true they are a bit on the smaller side. I didn't find the bed so uncomfortable as others have mentioned but I'm not that fussy either. The TV was an old CRT set, but hey, who comes to Nha Trang to watch TV? The only thing I had an issue with was the AC in my room. It wouldn't turn on and I would have to get someone to come by and get it to work a few times (it was ultra-hot when I went in April).

The breakfast had a nice big layout so plenty of options, including the omelet bar. Overall it was clean and a nice inclusion. Location was fantastic as well - the hotel took up an entire street corner so it was very easy to find. A few nice restaurant options and a big shopping center were right nearby the hotel. The beach was only a block or two away!

If you're budget conscious I think this is a fine hotel at which to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ab3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Although 100 m from the beach, we cannot recommend the Vien Dong hotel. If you don't have a strong backbone don't sleep there, unless you take one of the covers of the beds around the swimmingpool, as we did, to put under the sheets. Staff should have a training in smiling.
If you speak Russian, there is no problem. If you could not avoid this hotel, go to the beach and lay down on the beds of the Best Western hotel for free and sleep. When they ask your roomnumber, just give a number and tell them you left your key in the hotel. Sleep well there but don't forget the sunoil for your skin.

Room Tip: Take a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ad W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luang Prabang, Laos
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Definitely only stay in rooms at the back of the hotel (even numbers), you'll get a tiny balcony and no traffic noise. Breakfast is extremely diverse, including spaghetti bolognaise, chips and soup. Good AC and wifi, but cleaning not great. The hotel is geared for the Russian speaking market more than English speaking. I wouldn't recommend or return.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

I feel I must have missed something about Nha Trang, or this area at least. The hotel looked quite nice from the outside but the rooms were dated and on the small side. On the plus side it is close to the beach, but the hotel and surrounding area has little to offer. Pool was big, but sun beds were very grubby. The hotel really only caters for Russian tourists and restaurant menu was only in Vietnamese and Russian. No decent restaurants around and the whole area had a pretty nasty vibe in my opinion. I definitely wouldn't recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed here with a group of people attending an event, scoring a discount rate of $US33 per room single stay (a 10 percent discount on an already cheap rate of only $36 a night).

Premises and room were clean and in good condition. Air con fine. And Wifi was reliable and fast.

Short taxi rides seemed the go for wherever we were going aside from the beach, which is a 5-10 walk.

Breakfast offered good variety too.

Given the price, and the fact that I had no complaints on any front, I have to give this one four stars.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meja E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nha Trang hotels
0.1 mi away
Angella Hotel
Angella Hotel
#77 of 197 in Nha Trang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.1 mi away
Green Hotel Nhatrang
Green Hotel Nhatrang
#63 of 197 in Nha Trang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Summer Hotel
The Summer Hotel
#27 of 197 in Nha Trang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Nha Trang Lodge
Nha Trang Lodge
#92 of 197 in Nha Trang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.4 mi away
Asia Paradise Hotel
Asia Paradise Hotel
#50 of 197 in Nha Trang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.3 mi away
Green World Hotel Nha Trang
Green World Hotel Nha Trang
#11 of 197 in Nha Trang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vien Dong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vien Dong Hotel

Property: Vien Dong Hotel
Address: 1 Tran Hung Dao Street, Nha Trang, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Khanh Hoa Province > Nha Trang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Nha Trang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vien Dong Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vien Dong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vien Dong Nha Trang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing