We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central locale, remember it is only one star, with view ac, cable and fridge!! for $10 a nite!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phu Quy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Phu Quy Hotel
Ranked #157 of 190 Hotels in Nha Trang
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Central locale, remember it is only one star, with view ac, cable and fridge!! for $10 a nite!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2009

Stayed 8 days in October with a friend we had separte rooms costing 1640,000 dong ($1au=17,000).

Funniest place as in you don't really exist!! Yes you had to ask to clean the room, but they were more than adequate in agood location one street from the beach and a liitle pub/restaurant area .... The room had balcony, window to view of beach and conservatorium. Good AC, a fridge, a bath hot water no problems.
Overall quite an Ok place in Nha Trang.

It is like a rabbit warrren, catch the lift to the roof, lug your bag across the roof, down a flight of stairs to your room which is completely inaccessible via lift!! Where the lift went never did find out!! The other option was up 4 flites of stairs!! Which my friend had to do!! or go to rrof and down even more stairs!!! Not for the feint hearted when you try and get luggage down stairs on checkout!! No help to be had!!
They did charge a lot more for island travel, as we all know u must shop around!!
Food dreadful in restaurant...
Overall had a good time and for the minimal amount of money, you are safe and secure and clean - what more could u want!! Oh - if it is raining remember to take hotel card, they will close the door and windows And bring in your washing!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tropicaltimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    20
    21
    9
    20
See reviews for
10
27
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, VT
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2009

We stayed for 3 nights and 4 days. Everything was exactly as expected. Our room was on the 10th floor and overlooked the beach and city. The room was very clean. The staff was helpful but not overbearing. The wired and wireless internet worked very well and the place seemed very safe. We were a little worried due to some of these reviews so we kept our cameras in the safe but I also left a little bit of money out and it did not go anywhere nor was there any evidence of anybody going through our bags.

The owner was also there and was very helpful. He just finished installing a new flat screen tv for monitoring the security cameras which a located in the hallways of every floor.

The location is ideal just off the main drag across the street from the beach and more importantly the microbrewery!

The only thing that is a little frustrating is the light outside on the balcony stays on until after 10pm to help light the outside of the building. The curtains can block out most of the light but it would be nice to be able to turn that light off.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VTSKI56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2009

Travelers, PLEASE BE WARE of this hotel if you don't want to end up like us.

I went Nha Trang with my frds, we have 4 persons in group. We stayed at PhuQuy 3, which is their new branch hotel. What we experienced from this hotel destroyed our whole trip, gave us a very bad experience about vietnam.

When i called the hotel 2 days in advance to book, the staff said their quad-room is avail. 1hr before we reached the hotel, i called again, they confirm the room is ready for us. However, when i reached, the staff said, all quad room is occupied, and brought us to a double room for temp stay. It's 7am in the morning, 11am we went down to ask the staff, they said our quad room is still not avail. 7pm we got the key to the quad room.

Finally, we stay for the same period as what we told them in advance, but what we got is:
- they give us a double room for 4 persons to stay, it's humid, water is super weak and too small for all of us. It will be fine if we just paid for what we stay, but...
- when i called to book, the staff said they will charge us $$ in total. After we stayed there, they charge us double the $$ they agreed before, more than that, charge us the rate of the quad room while pushing us to a double room (???)
- NEVER ask them about the island tour, they charged 1.5 times higher than outside rate. Imagine we got 4 persons, each 1.5 times more expensive, how much will we lost? Actually we only found out about this cos we asked different staffs, and each of them make up the price by themselves, so stupid =P
- When we argue with them about the hotel charge, why they agree like this now they change like that. This staff blame the other and finally none of them take any responsibility, they just simply said "i dont know about that, i only know you must pay $$$ now...", threaten us some more x(
- we requested to meet the manager and of cos they didn't allow us to.
- and please aware that THIS HOTEL NEVER CLEAN YOUR ROOM. We stayed there for 4 nights, and they never tidy up our bed, actually what they did is cut the room power during day time (they assume you not staying in the room, so if you do, have to request for power ok?)

Whenever i thought about that time, felt very sad. though i met a few nice viet guyz from our island tour but whatever happened has stopped us from visit this country...

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wombatsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nha Trang hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Where in the world...?!
Level Contributor
82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2009

We stayed at the Phu Quy Hotel for 2 nights after seeing it in the LP guide. It''s a basic run of the mill hotel with dated and very basic rooms. Also, the staff only seem interested in making money from selling you tours - not in your general well being! I wouldnt say it was the best value place around, but the location is good - very much in the backpacker area with lots of restaurants/bars and the beach a 2 minute (plus 20 minutes to cross the busy main road!) walk away.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jocypri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heilbronn, Germany
Level Contributor
117 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2009

Staff is anoying and tries to cheat whenever possible. Just a few cents, but I don't think this matters.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank salsaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2009

I stayed in a twin room with my friend for 3 nights at the Phu Quy Hotel.
It wasn't a fantastic experience though, the staff were the rudest we had on our 3 week trip. They had 4 computers but don't count on using them once you have passed your checkout time.
People were yelled at to get off, all our other hotels were more than happy for us to use their internet after checkout time.
The room was small and the shower wasn't great either.
There are nicer places to stay at for the same price.

  • Liked — Rooftop Terrace
  • Disliked — Staff service, size of room, shower
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank magic25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2008

This property was one of the selected mid-level hotels in the Lonely Planet. When we got off the train, we had the cab driver take us to the hotel. It was pouring down rain and the wind was howling, so this didnt help in finding a hotel .. since we couldnt really walk around and check out different properties. We settled for the Phu Quy, but were not impressed with the friendlyness of the staff at all. The woman, who was obviously the boss and in charge of the property was short and curt. I told her we found the property in the Lonely Planet and she quickly informed me it was out of date ... and I knew right away she was going to try and hit me with a higher rate. It was a double room with shower and no view for about $15 USD a night. The bathroom was not the cleanest, and the bedding did not give me the clean warm fuzzy I am used to. I used my silky liner in the bed to assure cleanliness. The included breakfast was ok, and the complimentary internet was nice (when it worked). I would try a different hotel on my next Nha Trang trip!

  • Disliked — the staff was not friendly
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Captain_JeffAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nha Trang hotels
0.0 mi away
Nice Swan Hotel
Nice Swan Hotel
#115 of 190 in Nha Trang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Vie Hotel
La Vie Hotel
#171 of 190 in Nha Trang
3.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Lion 2 Hotel
White Lion 2 Hotel
#88 of 190 in Nha Trang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Suisse Hotel
La Suisse Hotel
#49 of 190 in Nha Trang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Happy Light Hotel
Happy Light Hotel
#151 of 190 in Nha Trang
3.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.9 mi away
Praywish Hotel
Praywish Hotel
#152 of 190 in Nha Trang
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phu Quy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phu Quy Hotel

Property: Phu Quy Hotel
Address: 54 Hung Vuong St, Nha Trang, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Khanh Hoa Province > Nha Trang
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 190 Hotels in Nha Trang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Phu Quy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phu Quy Nha Trang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing