We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So bad we left” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropicana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tropicana Hotel
Ranked #135 of 190 Hotels in Nha Trang
Islamabad, Pakistan
Level Contributor
282 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“So bad we left”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We ended up here after a stuff up with another hotel, we couldn't leave fast enough.

The safe didn't work
There was no hot water when we got home later
There was no hot water in the morning
The staff knocked on our door at 8.15am to count how many towels there were
There is a construction site for the 4 seasons across the road and they were pouring concrete at 2am which was really noisy
The breakfast was really average
The staff were unresponsive to addressing our issues
The hotel lacks lighting in corridors at night.
The decor is so dated you may mistake it from somewhere in the 70's

We both rated this hotel in the bottom 3 hotels we have ever stayed in. Find somewhere else.

There is free wifi but does not allow connections to facebook.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Oren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    9
    11
    7
    11
See reviews for
6
15
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed for three days and had a wonderful experience. The room was very clean with tea & coffee provided. Special treat having a fruit selection as well. Even though the place is a little older it has charm that we really enjoyed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maryanne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

We were 4 guys. We payed about 1 million dong (40€) per night for a 4 bed room . The hotel is a little bit old and not so cool like other hotel in the area. Breakfast was included but wasn't the top. The room was clean.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mike t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

All our rooms were awful. We stayed in Room S1, which is the suite. The rooms were so old. The sheets were dusty and had smells from the previous occupants (that oily smells from long ago). The bathroom smelt of sewage and the water was weak to the point where I had to wash my hair with the tap because the shower head drizzled water. The other rooms had mould on the walls. Eeeeekkkk....

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Dangers84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nha Trang hotels

Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Normally I am the sort of person, who, when travelling overseas, isn't too fussed about my hotel rooms - as long as they are clean it will be fine with me, as you spend so little time in a room anyway. But this hotel made me sick. It was so dingy, dated and depressing. I hated being in our room. Sometimes dated things can be charming in an oddbeat way, but take my word for it, the Hai Yen does not fit into this catergory. Do not stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paris-kitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

As many of the other reviewers have said, the Hai Yen hotel is old, dated and has seen better days. The room was clean but a bit dingy, and the furniture/fixtures and fittings were clearly old. The towels had small stains on them, and when we asked for new towels, we found that they were also stained. Unfortunately the hotel staff had decided to air out the room by leaving the balcony doors open so when we came into the room, there were a fair few mosquitoes in the room. We managed to kill most of them but there was one sneaky mosquito that kept me up all night with it’s buzzing and when I woke up the next morning, I found myself with about four new mozzie bites. The television was showing static on all the channels and the air conditioning was very loud.

A buffet breakfast is included in the price of your stay. There is a large range of food on offer: fresh noodles (like pho), omelette station, the usual breakfast fry-up type items (eg. sausages) prawn dumplings and a variety of local specialties, as well as fresh fruits, jelly, juices, tea and coffee. The location of the hotel is very good, on the main strip on the beach front. Our stay cost about $30 USD/night, twin share, which was very cheap. The hotel also provides nice fresh fruits and free bottled water, and the rooms are fairly quiet.

I would recommend that travellers to Nha Trang stay at a different and more new hotel. With all the new developments happening on the beachfront and the international hotel chains opening alongside the Hai Yen, it looks even smaller, older and sad.

Room Tip: Get rid of the mosquitoes before you go to sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SN28_Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

Unfortunately this was not what we'd hoped for - dated rooms, hard beds and poor breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nha Trang hotels
0.0 mi away
Nha Trang Lodge
Nha Trang Lodge
#82 of 190 in Nha Trang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Angella Hotel
Angella Hotel
#81 of 190 in Nha Trang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vien Dong Hotel
Vien Dong Hotel
#67 of 190 in Nha Trang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lotus Village Condotel
Lotus Village Condotel
#30 of 276 in Nha Trang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beach Front Apartment
Beach Front Apartment
#39 of 161 in Nha Trang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
1.1 mi away
Queen 2 Hotel
Queen 2 Hotel
#63 of 161 in Nha Trang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Hotel

Property: Tropicana Hotel
Address: 40 Tran Phu St., Nha Trang, Vietnam (Formerly Hai Yen Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Khanh Hoa Province > Nha Trang
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 190 Hotels in Nha Trang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropicana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Also Known As:
Hai Yen Nha Trang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing