We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Day!”

Magical Mystery Tour Nha Trang
Ranked #41 of 126 Tours in Nha Trang
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The English Tour Company for all your needs The best private tours, sightseeing trips and things to do.Tours of the City, Countryside and river cruise Private car, river boat, speed boat or wooden boat. Da Lat, Diep Son Islands, Dak Lak tours. Pick up and escort you throughout your trip, ancient temples and city highlight, buffalo safari, waterfalls and countryside you choose we make it happen. 4 Island snorkeling on Marine Park. Sunbath and swim on the islands and take lunch at one of the restaurants. Your tour Your choice.
Reviewed June 14, 2015

We had been to Nha Trang before so we mostly wanted to see things we had not seen already. We contracted with Jimmy and Jane (Scottish & English), a couple living and working in Vietnam in the tourism industry. We met Jimmy and Jane at 10:30AM and we set off with Jane as our guide for the day. Our first stop was the Po Nagar Temple, a Cham (Hindu people) temple, one of the oldest in Vietnam founded around 781 A.D. Then to the City Cathedral or “Rock Cathedral” built by the French in the 1930’s, gothic architecture with stunning stained glass windows. We visited a typical country house for a rest stop and enjoyed a fruit plate and tea before heading out into the countryside (this was literally a left turn off a main street and within two blocks we were in rice fields) to see water buffalo. Within 5 minutes we were out of the van taking photos of water buffalo and their calves. A rural fishing resort with ponds and shelters for the visitors was our next adventure. Long Son Pagoda has different levels, at the top is the second largest Buddha in Vietnam. We stopped at a bakery preparing French bread just as they have been doing since the French arrived, 6,000 loaves per day and it was delicious. Lunch was at a local restaurant, billed as a “light lunch” we had two kinds of rice, beef with noodles, eggplant, spring rolls, morning glory stalks with garlic and beer. Then a stop to browse in a silk picture embroidery factory to see the young women sew the intricate and beautiful pictures. We were now ready for our drink at the Sheraton roof-top bar to watch the sunset and the lights of the city and the fishing boats in the bay come on. Lovely spot and great views. The the highlight for us was the Vietnamese Spa for pedicure, foot and upper body massage. What an experience with various folks working on us. Tattoos were available but we declined. Back to the ship arriving about 8PM. We said our good-byes to Jane and Jimmy. Jane was very knowledgable about the sites we visited and she really made it all come to life for us. It was a really fantastic day.

2  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billy342, Owner at Magical Mystery Tour Nha Trang, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2015

Thank you bob and Iris, Jane was happy you enjoyed your day, we try to get as much of the best of Nha Trang when you come off the cruise ships, during the time you have ashore, plus fit as many things in that you individually requested. Enjoy cruising and many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"cruise ship"
in 26 reviews
"private tour"
in 15 reviews
"day tour"
in 18 reviews
"great tour"
in 10 reviews
"local bakery"
in 4 reviews
"real vietnam"
in 12 reviews
"local scene"
in 2 reviews
"historical knowledge"
in 2 reviews
"catholic cathedral"
in 3 reviews
"papaya salad"
in 2 reviews
"small van"
in 2 reviews
"long son pagoda"
in 9 reviews
"po nagar"
in 9 reviews
"wooden bridge"
in 4 reviews
"ancient house"
in 6 reviews
"wonderful sights"
in 2 reviews
"ex pats"
in 2 reviews
Filter

82 - 86 of 152 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2015

Within the first half hour of our city/countryside day tour we felt like we were out with friends. James and his lovely wife Jane are truly down to earth people with a passion for their adopted country and it's people and it was a pleasure to spend a day with them sharing that passion.
What we received was far above what we expected for the price and if we had more time would have booked another tour with them.
Cannot recommend highly enough and will book again next time back.

2  Thank Ron1954Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billy342, Owner at Magical Mystery Tour Nha Trang, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2015

Thanks Ron for your nice review, we enjoyed the day too, we just try to be normal and helpful as possible for the people who take our tours, time is to short when you are on vacation. I look forward to your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2015 via mobile

From first contacting Magical Mystery Tours to the end of our tour, we were thoroughly impressed. Our journey began with a short conversation with jimmy and jane in which we discussed what we wanted to achieve during our stay, they then produced an itinerary to suit us at an attractive price. Our trip was smooth running and invigorating due to their vast knowledge of Vietnam and Nha Trang. The warm welcome we received meant that we hit the ground running and their enthusiasm produced a fun and a relaxed time throughout. I would thoroughly recommend Magical Mystery Tours to anyone that wants a trip with a difference. The foundations of their success is due to their local knowledge, we saw and had experienced things that we wouldn't have otherwise. Many thanks again!

1  Thank Nicholas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billy342, Owner at Magical Mystery Tour Nha Trang, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2015

Thanks nik, glad I could help you guys out and really pleased that you enjoyed Nha Trang and also your time in Vietnam. It can be difficult travelling during TET. Stay safe thanks for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2015

Magical Mystery Tours is owned and managed by James and his Wife, who are Scottish but been living in Nha Trang for many years ; they are now locals and have a vast amount of knowledge, history, facts and passed on lots of wee stories and interesting bits about local customs, and daily life we would never have found out had we not spent the day with James. We had an absolutely fantastic day; even though we were late, James managed to pack everything in. We were lucky to join a lovely group who had booked before us; we were last minute as usual and of course James was fully booked! Many thanks to Gwen and her lovely friends for allowing us to join them. Everything went smoothly and was efficiently organised from initial email, taxi from the port and return to the ship in plenty time. We visited a noodle makers, saw a bakery, mat weavers, silk embroidery, historic places, had a boat trip, visited a local craft shop and had a delicious
lunch in a local restaurant; I cannot recommend James and his tours enough, we had a brilliant time, this was the best tour we had on our cruise; half the price of the ships
tours, no crowds of people and no wasted time in jewellery stores. If you want to see and learn about the real Nha Trang and Vietnam; James is the man for you; don't be like us though and book early. X

Thank Lynnk22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billy342, Owner at Magical Mystery Tour Nha Trang, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2015

Thanks Lynn, glad you enjoyed your day tour from the cruise ship, it was real fun showing you all around When i get to Ness I will let you know many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2015

We pre-booked our tour with James prior to departing on our cruise into Vietnam - Nha Trang day trip. In the lead up to the day, James was very good at communicating with me about the details of the tour and accommodated our specific requests that we thought we might like to see. I would go so far as to describe this service as above any level of communication that I usually come across.
We were going to be late due to the cruise ship Tender being late and I also messaged James these details of which nothing was a problem. His partner Jane was waiting for us at the designated pick up spot and had a lovely air-conditioned van that seated all 6 of us. Jane also came with drinks for the kids and adults, very thoughtful.
Lunch was pre-arranged at a great Vietnamese eating spot, we visited many of the touristy areas we needed to see along with some rural places that were very interesting. Jane commentated throughout the entire tour and was a wealth of knowledge about Nha Trang and Vietnam in general. In some respects, her knowledge alone was well worth the price!
I would highly recommend contacting this tour guide when in Vietnam, Nha Trang area.

Thank Mpeeto14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billy342, Manager at Magical Mystery Tour Nha Trang, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2015

Thanks Emma, we try to tailor our tours to specific needs and also match our guides to the customers, Jane adored you children and they were so well behaved and polite, a credit to you both.
Some times we get a fast ball on the day so we have to adapt to that, our problem not yours. We are glad you enjoyed your day and your tour, which we adapted on the day due to the time constraints. Many thanks from me and a big thanks you from Jane, happy that you had a great time.

J&J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magical Mystery Tour Nha Trang also viewed

Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
 
Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
 

Been to Magical Mystery Tour Nha Trang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing