We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute place, nice staff, average food.”
Review of Tre Viet - CLOSED

Tre Viet
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cute place, nice staff, average food.”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

In the middle of the restaurant there is a pond with ducks, which is brilliant. More restaurants should have cute ducks sleeping in the middle of the restaurant.
The staff were nice.
We picked our own fish, she let me catch it which was fun. The fish was BBQ'd really well.
We had a lobster which wasn't cheap and they violated it. It was way overcooked, incredibly tough. Poor little guy.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank COCOBANANAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    12
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Merksem, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Real Vietnamese food”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Based on the comments on tripadvisor we wanted to experience this address ourselves. We found confirmation of all the good things we read: great original Vietnamese food, friendly service and normal prices. You can choose your own personal fish, ... We will certainly go back.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeannine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
398 reviews
334 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Don't have most things I've ordered.”
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

First arrived, open the menu see lots of wine 1st page, ask why no price on it? They said they don't sell wine. Only dalat wine. ;-(

So, go across the street but a bottle of wine. They do charge 100k corkage. We are alright with it.

Had half kilo grilled prawns. Very good taste. 10pcs.

Grilled squid was good too. Small squid for that price. Morning glory was gorgeous.

Ordered clams....come back 5 mins later said don't have. Suggested me have shell, put order down, come back later telling don't have. Ended up have some egg fish grilled.

The staff is very friendly and try to speak English to you. Making good effort. The lady asked where we are from. Told her Malaysia. Being a ASEAN country don't really know where your neighbours are. Lol

But it is damn quiet on the Xmas day in the restaurant where elsewhere is so busy. My rule is only go to the restaurant that is busy. Don't rely on tripadvisor too much and you'll end up disappointed.

Not much seafood been stock up. Not much choices around Xmas time
Which would be peak season for tourists. Bad management.

Helpful?
Thank Daymondyeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great restaurant!”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

After reading reviews on TA, I decided to have dinner at Tre Viet Restaurant. True to its name, "Tre Viet" means Vietnamese Bamboo, many things at here made of bamboo tree. It was impressed me. Seafood was cooked excellent and well presented. Drinks were aslo nice. Staff was friendly and professional. I really love evevry thing of this place. Highly recommend. I'm sure i will get back here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tania L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mallacoota
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worthy of a meal.”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

A good venue , relaxed open air restaurant with very good food and friendly helpful staff. The manager Ly was especially attentive to everyone's needs, she has very good English and Russian language to help you make the right choices of food. A handy location too in Hung Vuong St..

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clarrie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tre Viet also viewed

Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
 
Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing