We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very bad experience”
Review of Ken Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ken Hotel
Ranked #121 of 220 Hotels in Nha Trang
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Room was good, but had laundry done through hotel and came back with three items missing and also an iPod went missing from the room- brought these issues up with the staff several times but they were very rude and just said that we had lost them, as said earlier room was good and location was about 15 mins from beach but just a shame about the staff. Plus the water in the room is not complimentary (we should have asked but a sign would of been helpful)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Baxter1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 69 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

After 2 months backpacking around SE Asia ee've learnt two things:

In our price range, hotels and guest houses are pretty much the same in terms of quality, give or take. Hot shower, cable tv, aircon, fridge, pretty ok beds, some of them have even been built from the same floor plans!

The difference between a poor experience and a great experience comes down to the little touches and the staff. And here, Ken hotel failed.

Our room was completely fine, as per my above comments.

However we had to ask twice for towels, which were not in our room when we checked in. No one bothered to explain whether the water in the room was complimentary (as in some places) or charged for. Luckily reviews on booking dot com made it clear it wasn't free and that we should definitely avoid using the laundry service. We didn't the hard sell for tours, but of course we were asked. Whether the fact that we weren't interested explains the real lack of customer service we received, who knows?

The biggest issue we had was trying to book onward travel to Hoi an. After asking the girl at the desk twice, once when we returned at night and again in the morning, and her seemingly not believing that there was a 5.30am train or that we couldn't catch that train but saying she would ask, we decided to book it ourselves. After explaining this and then asking for my passport back, to show at the booking office, she refused to give it to me. After fruitless attempts at communication, we were lucky that my partner is a dual citizen, so we could swap one. when we checked out, the night before, the other girl forgot to give my returned passport back (and, in fairness, I forgot to ask). When i went back downstairs, the man behind the counter could not understand me at all, and instead Handed me the phone to try and explain to one of the girls somewhere in a loud environment so she could then relay the message to him. We got there, in the end.

In the end, its these small things and just the all round unfriendly vibe we git from the place that would put us off recommending anyone else stay there. Nha Trang is awash with accomm options, and im sure there are similarly priced options that would be much more welcoming of your custom!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jared M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

the hotel is not located in the backpackers area, which is good if you don't want to pay overpriced food and drinks, but you can easyly walk there in 5 minutes.

there are many restaurants and coffee/breakfast places nearby.

clean rooms with comfortable beds, wifi, and satellite tv.
good bathroom and located in a quiet street.
near to beach and market, 20 walk to train station.
nice roof top terrace with fantastic views over the city

the staff will help you in any means but not hustle you for any tours or else.

I had booked 4 nights and then I stayed another 3 night beacuase of the really good price of 10 usd.

the only thing missing would have been a computer.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rolando s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was fantastic. It only takes 10 minutes to walk from the beach, it's near the nightlife and the staff are friendly! Our room was great, with air con and working TV. Everything was great. The room was cleaned, wifi was strong, and they even looked after our bags after we checked out. Wonderful experience and all for so little money!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aj0804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

For 10 $ a day it's a real bargain, I really enjoyed my stay, room was nice, with free aircon and fridge, cleaned everyday, even the towels were daily changed. Staff is really nice especially Truc and Thien, two lovely and nice girls always smiling and helpful.It's 5 minutes walking from the beach and the nightlife, so a pretty good location!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank motumbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The Ken Hotel is a new hotel in Nha Trang. I'm unsure how long they've been open, but the place feels quite fresh.

Our room was on the third floor, but as they have a shiny and speedy new lift this was no problem. The room was small and neat. We had an extra single bed in a space that might have contained two chairs. AC, CRT TV with western channels and a fridge. No kettle, but they have loads of big thermos flask, so hot water for beverages is available. The wifi worked fine, I think there are routers on every other floor.

The front desk staff are very friendly; not the best grasp of English, but the smiles are genuine and the welcome is sincere.

I would definitely recommend the Ken Hotel: decent value, reasonably located, friendly staff.

Room Tip: Have a look at more than one room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cpome7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, traveled with friends
2  Thank Helen1m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nha Trang hotels
0.4 mi away
White Lion 2 Hotel
White Lion 2 Hotel
#99 of 220 in Nha Trang
197 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Suisse Hotel
La Suisse Hotel
#67 of 220 in Nha Trang
354 reviews
0.2 mi away
C30 Hotel
C30 Hotel
#153 of 220 in Nha Trang
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hoang Hai (Golden Sea) Hotel
Hoang Hai (Golden Sea) Hotel
#37 of 220 in Nha Trang
509 reviews
0.1 mi away
Copac Hotel
Copac Hotel
#89 of 220 in Nha Trang
64 reviews
0.6 mi away
Praywish Hotel
Praywish Hotel
#179 of 220 in Nha Trang
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ken Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ken Hotel

Address: 85 Le Dai Hanh Street, Nha Trang, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Khanh Hoa Province > Nha Trang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 220 Hotels in Nha Trang
Price Range: $13 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ken Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Ken Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing