We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't want to judge on 1st impressions but.....”
Review of Kirin

Kirin
Ranked #142 of 514 Restaurants in Nha Trang
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“don't want to judge on 1st impressions but.....”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Centrally located, the restaurant looks like it needs a bit of an uplift for the walls are bare. We sat downstairs and felt a little bit like we were in an East London cafe, on a table by the wall with the staff doing the cutlery polishing on the table behind.

Boyfriend had the pork in clay pot which he enjoyed but not the best we've tried in Vietnam. I had the roast pork with apple (although tasted more like tropical fruits) and would say it was rather average with over cooked French fries and would recommend you choose Vietnamese rather than western food from the menu.
Good for a cheap eat and light snack but would like to see them do better.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    75
    40
    28
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Excellent Food in Central Nha Trang”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The food here is amazing! I went on a recommendation from the waitress and wasn't disappointed. The seafood was cooked right in front of me on the BBQ. I had a fresh beef and lemon grass salad and BBQ Tiger prawns with a few beers and paid around £5 for the whole thing! The staff were really friendly and the restaurant is right in central Nha Trang.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really great seafood”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We had awsome Prawns and fish here. Banana leaf wrapped fish and chilli prawns. Really good. And clean place to eat. Beers only 15000VD for a large Saigon Beer. Definately worth it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good all rounder”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Great all rounder in Nha Trang. Sit upstairs for a nice cold inexpensive beer with a pleasant view. Superb little wine list consisting of 8 or so well priced good quality wines( we like the Chilean Sauvignon Blanc). Seafood is cooked nicely, fresh and inexpensive and the salads are a stand out. Hard to go wrong here, recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AustraliaAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Must go place”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I followed the Nha Trang tour guide from qyer to this restaurant. at first we didn,t see too much people eating here (compared to china mainland), so we didn't consider this to be a good place. But when I met several friends of mine, I have nothing good to recommend to them, and I led them here. We all definitely love this restaurant so much! Black coffee and white coffee, shrimp noodle, fried rice,crocodile...The pomelo salad with shrimp and pork is highly recomended!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank toozhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kirin also viewed

Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
 
Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
 

Been to Kirin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing