We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value.”
Review of Carpe DM Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Carpe DM Hotel
Ranked #1 of 302 Nha Trang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent value.”
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Great for the price-room standard well above what one expects at a budget hotel! Comfy bed, good TV, modern bathroom and very clean. An easy walk to nice restaurants, shopping and the beach.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny D, Owner at Carpe DM Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2011
Thanks DJ for saving us from excellence! Meanwhile I treasure all those 34 'excellent' reviews from all of you who arrived (sometimes early, sometimes late) in our hotel to find something beyond expectation for less than 20 USD (as deducted from your reviews). Believe me, it means more to me than the money you give me (note, we will never annul the invoice when you check-out). Well, every review deserves an answer (that I didn't give), but you are all so generous (moreover there is the generosity of TRIPADVISOR; this window to the world is offered by them - I would like to reward them, but in a lesser way than e.g. Sheraton (16 rooms<>200 rooms). Thank you all from the bottom of my heart ( you too DJ, even though your review was only 'very good'). I promise you that we will try to live up to your expectations and you all know that this is sometimes very difficult in Southeast Asia (Vietnam). Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    65
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
60
217
52
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

After booking with the wrong email and arriving early in the morning we were wsrmly welcomed by Danny.
The place is terrific- clean, big rooms, nice bathroom and the stuff helped us with everything- even took us to the bus company to book our ticket.
And the place is close to everything but not noisy at all.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iamsophy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nha Trang, Viet Nam
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2011

Well, I never believe extreme superlative reviewed either. But Carpe DM combines an excellent hotel with excellent prices. My superior room had a balcony, windows on 2 sides (a rarity in VN hotels), a couch, desk, wifi, mini bar, full bath (yes with the shower actually contained in the tub, another rarity), comfortable mattress (yet another rarity), air conditioning (barely needed in Nha Trang). The manager was pleasant and helpful (the even arrange limousine service to the hotel). Laundry service was provide without the gouging prices of some hotels. All this and even before I saw the room I was afraid the price was a misprint (I lived there whie looking for a long term apartment and the price per day in the hotel was actually cheaper than the price of the apartment I eventually took. There is elevator service (although since I was only 1 floor up, I seldom used it) And it is Not Smoking!!!!!!!!!!!!

Did it have any down sides. A few but they were minor: Primary hot water is via solar heating. It is fine on nice days but on raining days, the shower never gets warm by western standards. They do not accept credit cards, It is a bit difficult to find (even though conveniently located).

Room Tip: the superior room is only $2 more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woodsdancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2011

I had a really great stay at this hotel! At the beggining I was not sure about the location, because it's not in the main street, but then I realized it is a great thing 'cause in the nights it's very quiet and you are just 2 min walking from the restaurants and bars and less than 10 minutes from the beach and the sailing club (which is a great place too).
The owners are really helpful and nice people!!
For sure I recommend this hotel!! :)

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adriana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Bumped into a fellow traveler in Vietnam who recommended this place. Arrived here at 5 in the morning with no reservation. The owner welcomed us and allowed us to stay until a room was available at 9. This is by far the best place we stayed in Vietnam and it's hard to believe how cheap it was! Service was outstanding!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 14, 2011

Truly lovely hotel and Danny the ownerand the rest of the staff are all lovely a nd very helpful. The hotel is decorated to a very hight standard considering the price for rooms. We stayed in a family room so had 2 large double beds, set in a huge room with lots of storage for all of our belongings. Nice large balcony on the side which overlook the Military hospital and if your into football locals play matched on the astro turf on Saturday and Sunday mornings (so can be a little noisy but not a problem if air con on). Nice bathroom and toiletries included. Hotel situated down an alleyway from main road but very safe to walk down and lots of families live around the area so normally children out playing. Truly enjoyable stay and we will be returning next year for sure .

Room Tip: All fab im sure as only 3 rooms on each floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mackays3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2011

We came here without any reservations, arriving at about 6.30AM. The owner happily greeted us and showed us the room which was the best we saw during our entire trip. We were happy to get the room (he told us he had booked completely out the next week) which was huge, fully equipped with AC, fridge, tv, full bathroom and very comfortable beds. Carpe DM was the nicest place we stayed at on our 2 month trip through Asia/Australia. Its in a quiet location away from the noise but central enough, and very close to the beach. The owner made a very nice breakfast for us for 2 dollars. Cheapness is not something they believe in here, and really stands out against all the other hotels at which we stayed. After our stay (which was too short) we were fully rested and ready to continue our travels.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanner S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nha Trang hotels
0.1 mi away
Rosaka Nha Trang Hotel
Rosaka Nha Trang Hotel
#3 of 208 in Nha Trang
283 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Summer Hotel
The Summer Hotel
#28 of 208 in Nha Trang
406 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Nha Trang
Novotel Nha Trang
#10 of 208 in Nha Trang
1,847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Nha Trang
InterContinental Nha Trang
#4 of 208 in Nha Trang
931 reviews
0.3 mi away
Green World Hotel Nha Trang
Green World Hotel Nha Trang
#11 of 208 in Nha Trang
669 reviews
1.0 mi away
TriStar Hotel
TriStar Hotel
#30 of 208 in Nha Trang
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carpe DM Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carpe DM Hotel

Property: Carpe DM Hotel
Address: 120/62 Nguyen Thien Thuat, Nha Trang 00000000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Khanh Hoa Province > Nha Trang
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 302 B&Bs / Inns in Nha Trang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very nice hotel situated in a quiet area (side street of Ng Thien Thuat with the same name). Beautiful, spacious rooms with a balcony and mountainview, a 5 minutes walk from the beach, a 2 minutes walk from the hustle and bustle of the bars and restaurants of Ng Thien Thuat, Biet thu, Hung Vuong, Tran Quang Khai. Excellent value for your money in a somewhat residential area, friendly and multilingual service. Check it out! Roomfacilities : bathtub, airco & fan, elevator, telephone, wifi, minibar, hair dryer, make-up table, desk, cable net TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Carpe DM Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing