We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My only review ever - for the best service ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
L'Alyana Villas Ninh Van Bay
Ranked #7 of 209 Hotels in Nha Trang
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“My only review ever - for the best service ever!”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We had just come from Six Senses Ninh Van Bay (towards the end of 30 days of not so glam travel in Vietnam) so in theory An Lam had an enormous amount to live up to. In reality, though our villa - water villa 5 - at Six Senses was incredible, amazing views, secluded and romantic, the service at An Lam was incomparably better.

Our butler Pham Thanh Luan was perfect. Very unobtrusive, but right on everything we needed instantly, efficiently and with great results.

Our greatest surprise came when, asked if we liked our villa, we for once decided to risk disappointing the sweet Vietnamese and said we loved it - apart from the fact that it was a beachfront villa with no view of the sea. (There were bushes and thick foliage between us and the beach.) Their response:
Okay we will come and sort it out. We took this with a pinch of salt. Then Luan our butler came to check if NOW would be appropriate. Yes we very happily agreed. 4 minutes later they sent 4 guys with one of their managers and in 20 minutes time, we had a (still sensitively and slightly obscured) view of the ocean and beach. We have travelled the world over and NEVER had service like this!

Food was also MUCH better than 6 Senses, including far more Vietnamese options.

A lot of CAPITILISATION is in this review but for good reason. Our feeling is that Six Senses have somewhat rested on their laurels and on the strength of the brand name. And their food (with the possible exception of breakfast) was terribly disappointing.

An Lam while not quite as beautiful a location, or bay, will cost you half as much (depending on villa type) and will go a whole lot further to make you feel a damn sight more special!

Downsides:

The Beach outside our villa (beachfront number 2) is quite coarse and at times rocky. Other parts of the beach at the resort are softer.

I think that's it!

Thank you Luan and everyone at the resort for a wonderful stay. I hope we will be back but we are relentlessly travel-bug bitten and tend to seek a new place each time. If we had the tendency to return we certainly would.

Enjoy :)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank REBCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnLamVillas, General Manager at L'Alyana Villas Ninh Van Bay, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
So glad you have enjoyed the service of Mr Luan and the Vietnamese touch we like to highlight at the An Lam. For the beach in front of your Villa, the coarse coral rocks are a natural setting which helps prevent having other guests passing by to keep your privacy at its best. With our most thankful feelings, Antoine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    105
    20
    8
    6
See reviews for
132
440
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

I'm basically going to tell you what was great and what needs improvement. We stayed 4 nights in a Hill Rock Villa (no 29)

what was great:

service - impeccable service on every level. We didn't come across one disinterested or crabby staff member. From general manager to gardener, all were amazing. Shout out to Ursula and Binh who are extraordinarily good at their jobs.

location - far away from the hustle and bustle of Nha Trang: you don't have to deal with the masses of obnoxious Russian tourists here as the resort is only reachable by boat. If you do want to go to Nha Trang there's a complimentary boat service to take you there.

relaxation - Our room (the hill rock villa pictured on their websites) was lovely. No noise, great layout. AC worked well as did the fans in the villa and in the outdoor sala. Private too. Pool was lovey, bed was super comfortable too.

what needs to be improved:

food - wasn't great. Breakfast was ok. My pancakes arrived cold one morning. Also the barbecue wasn't fantastic either. My partner thinks he may have eaten some under cooked seafood as he got quite ill. We hadn't left or consumed any food that didn't come from the hotel during our 4 night stay so it had to have been caused by them. It's taken 10 days for his stomach to settle. A major revamp of their menu and kitchen staff is needed as it simply isn't 5* standard. Also they need to revise their restaurant music playlist as at the moment it's mostly an annoying compilation of what sounds like electronic oriental music

maintenance and aesthetics - the hotel needs a little bit of maintenance. Most of its structures are made from wood and a lot of it needs restoring. The decor is also a little drab and dated, nothing really spectacular about it. Stains on fabrics are common and are not what you expect from a 5 star hotel. Overall when you walk into any space in and around the hotel, none of it gives off a "wow" factor.

beach- I know nothing can be done about this but thought I should mention it. The sand at the beach level is fine, lovely in fact. However at the shore line, the not-so-fine sand is very coarse and painful to walk on so bring water shoes if you have them - it's more like larger bits of crushed coral and shells than sand.

housekeeping - one day we decided we didn't want housekeeping to come in so we put up the "do not disturb" rope that bars access to the outdoor staircase up to the room. Housekeeping completely ignored it, put the rope down, and came in to clean. What's the point of the sign if staff ignore it?

tips for you:

If you want a view from your hill rock villa, forget it. We asked for the villa with the best one and I'd describe it as adequate at best as it's largely blocked by trees/plants. Pictures on their website (they photographed the exact room we stayed in) make the view look a lot better than it really is. Foliage is largely to blame. Dare I say that the hill villas at the six senses next door might be better?

Also if you are an animal lover DO NOT go on the trip to Monkey Island. The fact that the hotel offers this trip astounds me. We saw monkeys tied to dogs, tied to fences and made to race so people can place bets on the winner. Also, there were goats clothed and tied to sleds being dragged around by dogs in some sort of sick circus act. Muzzled bears forced to walk on their hind legs, a sad looking elephant, ostriches forced to give "rides" to tourists, and an eagle in a cage all make appearances too. If this type of thing entertains you, by all means go on it. Apparently we were the first people on the trip to complain. Instead, ask staff to go to the 3 snorkeling spots that we went to. We optimised the "breakfast fishing cruise" which combines fishing and snorkeling by removing the fishing and focusing on the snorkeling. There's lots of fish and coral. (see photo of snorkeling spot - it's one of the later ones)

Room layout: Room layouts of the hill rock villas vary vastly so do your research!

Overall I'd say this was a pretty good stay but not good enough for us to want to come back. Whenever we stay at a hotel we always look for the things that stand out. Unfortunately here, we weren't really impressed by anything other than the impeccable staff and service we received. The hotel just lacked the wow factor for us.

Room Tip: Room 29 is the hill rock villa shown on the hotel's website. Keep in mind the layout of the hill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kovsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnLamVillas, General Manager at L'Alyana Villas Ninh Van Bay, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Your review is really what we like to read for pointing some weaknesses. We will work on it. Just few hours ago, we chopped down four trees to clear the sea view from Villa 29! We will also work on the food choice to offer more Asian options. Warm greetings from the team. Antoine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timmendorf, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We enjoyed 10 days in An Lam Villas for our honeymoon and liked every minute! The place is absolutely great and remote, the service was fabulous (Phu is a great butler, Ly great waitress) and Management highly customer satisfaction driven (Ursula). We will certainly come back!

Room Tip: Villa 27 is very quiet and remote but with fabulous view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RZ-WI-911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnLamNinhVanBay, General Manager at L'Alyana Villas Ninh Van Bay, responded to this review, January 17, 2016
Thank you for your nice comment, we are more than happy to welcome you back at any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

I booked this resort as a surprise for my boyfriend's birthday. We felt it was a beautiful location and the villas were comfortable however we were disappointed with the food. Breakfast was excellent but the quality of food at dinner was poor. They seem to compensate for poor quality with quantity. The quality is more suited to a budget hotel than a luxury resort. We had the private BBQ on the beach which was extremely disappointing, I would definitely advise against this. The quality of the food was awful.
Positives: beautiful location, comfortable villas, excellent breakfast, very good and enjoyable optional activities, friendly staff
Negatives: very poor quality food, poor housekeeping service (we needed to request things to be refilled or replaced)
Overall I was disappointed with the resort as it lacked the attention to detail that I expected from a luxury resort. I also felt it was overpriced and poor value for money.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank A F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnLamVillas, General Manager at L'Alyana Villas Ninh Van Bay, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
We are all deeply saddened when acknowledging your disappointment regarding our private BBQ and housekeeping. We shall work on both and please accept our apologizes. Antoine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed at the An Lam Villas for 9 nights for our 20th anniversary. From the minute our private car collected us from the airport to the minute we were dropped off on our return we had a fantastic time. The setting is beautiful, the accommodation superb and the service second to none. We were a little apprehensive prior to going there as we had never had a butler service before and did not know what to expect. We opted for the lowest 'discreet' level of service which was plenty for us (you also get a 24 hour personal call number) and can honestly say that our butler Nguyen (Win) was amazing, a real credit to his employers. Nothing was too much trouble and he went that extra mile, as do all the staff here, to make sure we had a real quality holiday. After 20 year of marriage we felt like we had been on honeymoon! The little touches that make An Lam stand out from other places are numerous, iced water and cold hand/face towels, fruit and cakes daily in your villa to name but two. Although the standard of service is extremely high it is never stiff and stuffy, everywhere is spotless, smelt beautiful and staff who you have rarely met know your name. The food was fabulous and the beach/poolside setting made the restaurant a pleasure to eat in. We did a few of the many activities on offer (some free of charge) .The climb up to see the view, through the jungle behind the resort was well worth it and our guide San was knowledgeable and fun. The luxury picnic at the private villa was amazing! Not to mention fishing, snorkeling and a great Vietnamese cooking class. We took advantage of the free boat service to Nha Trang the nearby busy city resort which was great for souvenir shopping/sight seeing but do check your change in the bars (we were nearly caught out). An Lam is the perfect place to stay if you want somewhere to chill out, relax and enjoy life. Thank you to all the staff (especially Win and Hien in the restaurant), we hope to stay with you again sometime.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms as far as we could see! We had villa number 32 in the treetops (very Tarzan a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paulie-dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnLamNinhVanBay, General Manager at L'Alyana Villas Ninh Van Bay, responded to this review, January 17, 2016
Thank you for your lovely and honest comment. It was a pleasure to have you had as our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

We ended our honey moon trip in Vietnam at An Lam Ninh Van Bay Villas. The place is beautiful. Surrounded by a natural park, the hotel villas are exactly what you expect for natural luxury. We stayed in a Lagoon villa, nice view on the lagoon & beach, private pool, big outdoor bathroom... Our butler Truc was really nice and helpful. We really enjoyed his helpful advice and we are grateful for his attention to details. The food is good (we had meals both in our villa and in the restaurant) and the happy hour in the bar is a good deal. Finally, great sunshine view from the basket in front of the harbour! Thank you Truc and all the staff of An Lam for making our final days of honey moon so great!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tatiana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnLamNinhVanBay, General Manager at L'Alyana Villas Ninh Van Bay, responded to this review, January 17, 2016
Thank you for your wonderful review. It was a pleasure to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhatrang, Vietnam
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Me and my wife book a room here and spend all day at this resort for wedding photos . Everything is perfect like location , Beach , food and drink especially the staff make this place become a paradise . Ms Ursula and her team make you feel like home away home . Free complement drink and snack is a touch . Will definitely recommend this place to everyone .
Go Here For Your Holiday and ask for Ms Ursula she will show you good time .
Thank you very much to make my holiday perfect .

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnLamNinhVanBay, General Manager at L'Alyana Villas Ninh Van Bay, responded to this review, January 17, 2016
Thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor. It was a pleasure to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nha Trang hotels
10.1 mi away
InterContinental Nha Trang
InterContinental Nha Trang
#6 of 209 in Nha Trang
942 reviews
22.6 mi away
Fusion Resort Nha Trang
Fusion Resort Nha Trang
#9 of 209 in Nha Trang
320 reviews
10.0 mi away
Sheraton Nha Trang Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Rosaka Nha Trang Hotel
Rosaka Nha Trang Hotel
#3 of 209 in Nha Trang
291 reviews
17.0 mi away
Mia Resort Nha Trang
Mia Resort Nha Trang
#1 of 209 in Nha Trang
1,271 reviews
1.4 mi away
Six Senses Ninh Van Bay
Six Senses Ninh Van Bay
#2 of 209 in Nha Trang
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Alyana Villas Ninh Van Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Alyana Villas Ninh Van Bay

Property: L'Alyana Villas Ninh Van Bay
Address: Tan Thanh Hamlet, Ninh Ich Commune | Ninh Hoa District, Nha Trang, Vietnam (Formerly L'Alyana Ninh Vân Bay)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Khanh Hoa Province > Nha Trang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Nha Trang
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nha Trang
#7 Spa Hotel in Nha Trang
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Nha Trang
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nha Trang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — L'Alyana Villas Ninh Van Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the ultimate and unique experience at L'Alyana Villas Ninh Van Bay. Situated in the picturesque Ninh Van Bay, L'Alyana Villas will indulge you with exquisite food, flawless service and its stunning white sand beach. Soak up the surrounding environment of tropical forests and mountains studded with massive granite boulders looking out over the South China Sea. Slip away with a gourmet hamper or indulge with a therapeutic spa treatment - it's all about peace, privacy, and the ultimate holiday in authentic Vietnamese style luxury. Nha Trang City is located 300 km East of Ho Chi Minh Ciy and 25 minutes by car from the Cam Ranh Airport. L'Alyana Ninh Van Bay are located 10 minutes away from Nha Trang by speed boat. L'Alyana Villas serenity are on the lay side of Ninh Van Bay, with the Ocean in front of the resort and protected by beautiful hills and vegetation behind the villas. The L'Alyana Villas Welcome Lounge and jetty is located 16km north of Nha Trang City Centre. Here you will be met by our speedboat which will whisk to away to L'Alyana Villas, a leisurely 8 minute boat ride away. If you are arriving in Nha Trang, our hosts will greet you at Cam Ranh airport, 35kms south of Nha Trang, where they will assist you with your luggage, and bring you to L'Alyana Villas Welcome Lounge. The boat transfers are included in your villa rate. With a total of 33 private pool villas, our Beach and Lagoon Front Villas are set in exclusive, private locations with stunning views over the lagoon and Ninh Van Bay. An open plan layout is designed to take full advantage of the spectacular views and create an inviting indoor/outdoor ambiance. Set into the rain forest our elevated and private Hill Rock Villas offer tree-filtered ocean views. The three store layout provides a spacious sleeping area with king size bed set in the tree canopy; a large entertaining deck and living area where you can enjoy a private dinner cooked by your personal chef; and a substantial bathroom on the lower level. While you feel a million miles away from reality, we do not want you to compromise on comfort. Each villa has a personalized intimacy butler service to attend to your every whim, while rooms are fitted out with every modern convenience including ipod docking stations, wireless internet and full entertainment TV system. For those who want to forget about technology - you can wile away the hours in your hammock or sun lounge and discover how quickly you can adapt to the life of true busy relaxing . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your L'Alyana Villas Ninh Van Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
An Lam Ninh Van Bay Villas Hotel Nha Trang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing