We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surf on one of Vietnam nicest beaches”

The Shack Surf School
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Shack Surf School is located at Bai Dai Beach which is 23 kilometers South of Nha Trang at the Shack Restaurant and Bar. We offer lessons for all experience levels and have over 18 boards to choose from. Our instructors are experienced surfers and fluent in English. In addition to surfboards, we also rent Stand up Paddle Boards. We also serve up GREAT FOOD. Please contact the Shack's website for more info and to arranged discounted transportation.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Surf on one of Vietnam nicest beaches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

A great place to relax and have drinks served by the adorable young french couple who owns the place. Take a surf or a paddle board while waiting for the fresh seafood lunch which you will grill on your own BBQ.
Not many waves when I was there, but go in the fall for great surfing. If you're a beginner, Céline will teach you and you will end up standing on your board at the end of the day!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Remi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth the drive & the hunt”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

After reading the review on tripadvisor we decided to take a taxi to the Shack while staying in Nha Trang. Our taxi driver ended up dropping us off at wrong place and told us that The Shack was closed. He of course dropped us to another beach shacky style restaurant with a similar set up (all the restaurants face the water with reclining chairs to lounge in) and the staff tried to lure us to go there but we were determined to find 'The Shack' as we had read about the great food. So we headed on to the beach in search for it and initially we were bitterly disappointed. The sand is covered in all types of litter which was extremely off putting. But we perceived and hunted up and down the beach until we stumbled across The Shack and we were delighted to see that that end of the beach was much cleaner.The private beach in front of The Shack was in fact spotless with no rubbish on the sand and the food and drinks were great. We hired a double tube and despite the fact that we only one child in our group of 4 we still managed to spend hours playing on it. We also got chatting to some other travelers and had an absolutely fabulous day. It was well worth the drive.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shontel80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure worth a day trip from Nha Trang”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Just arrived back to our hotel after having visited "The Shack". We had read about this place on tripadvisor and we weren't disappointed. The taxi driver had to stop a few times to seek directions off the locals however we arrived from Nha Trang after about 30 mins. There were several open style restaurants along the beach front. The Shack had a great menu catering for those looking for western food and those looking for local cuisine. After a great lunch we went swimming in the ocean with our two children before returning to the comfy recliners where we could've easily have fallen asleep listening to the ocean. The American and Australian staff members were most friendly and accommodating. There is a private beach shower at the rear of the premises and clean toilets. We would highly recommend this place to visit for a few hours from Nha Trang if you would like to remove yourself from the hustle bustle for a while! Taxi drivers will wait for you before restarting the meter to return you to your hotel.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kirtyau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“The Shack is a Great Spot not to Miss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

The Shack on Bai Dai Beach near Nha Trang, is a must while you visiting this region Vietnam. The Shack is just one of many shack type eating places on Bai Dai Beach, however this place stands because the young American guy who operates the place can knock up a real mean burger. Seafood is also sold at the Shack which is real fresh (in tanks) and tasty and can be BBQ at your table. The place consists of old deck chairs and long bench type tables under a simple roof structure on the beach with a bar and kitchen at the rear. The beer is cold and the service excellent, and more importantly it is about 10 metres from the ocean. There isn’t a problem spending all day there eating, swimming and partaking in the odd cold beer. You can also hire a surf board/s for the day if you wish. A great spot for young and old to relax and feel like you are really on holiday. The Shack is situated approximately 23 kms from Nha Trang on the way to the Nha Trang international airport. When I visited the Shack we hired a taxi for the day, the taxi driver took us there in the morning there and waited until we wanted to home around 3:30pm all for grand sum of about US$40, well worth the cost and it is easy access for taxis. You can also go via motor bike.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChinaGaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Surf Shack the place to be”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Fantastic times at Tippy's Surf Shack - we spent two full days there and would have slept there had there been hammocks! Got a surf lesson form Tippy - my first ever - and it was great, very well explained and there was a full safety explanation as well. Food was excellent - really nice fish tacos and fresh fish and chips. Definitely recommended - the beach was private-ish, more than in Nha Trang township, nice vibes... worth renting a bike and biking out, it's pretty easy to find. Enjoy!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shack Surf School also viewed

Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
 
Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
Cam Ranh, Khanh Hoa Province
 

Been to The Shack Surf School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing