We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Food & View!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Shack Vietnam

The Shack Vietnam
Ranked #55 of 487 Restaurants in Nha Trang
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $6
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, Asian, Vietnamese, Pub
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Food & View!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

One of the best days I've ever spent with my family was at The Shack. We tried the fresh BBQ squid, fish tacos, and onion rings. OMGosh, the food along with the view--just what I hope heaven is like. Comfy chairs, laid-back atmosphere, and a good mix of music. The staff works hard to meet your needs with a smile. Such a chill day with the family. Wish I was there now, haha.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pajarita_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    34
    10
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Nha Trang, Vietnam
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A MUST MUST VISIT!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

This place is heaven on earth. Located around 23k south of Nha Trang you can visit a real tropical beach! First of all the ride out is amazing with views of the surrounding islands and a great view of Nha Trang. The food here is so so fresh and tastes like nothing else I have tried in all of Vietnam not just Nha Trang. All of the staff are really friendly and are good to chat to. They also offer professional surf lessons, I had never tried before but now can't wait to try it again. Great place to relax for the day, perfect atmosphere, even better food!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lowton09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Take a trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

If in Nha Trang for a few days and have time, make a trip out to Long Beach for an amazingly clean and almost remote beach. Tippy is a great host and the food and beer excellent. Really enjoyed our day at Long Beach and really not that far, about 25 minutes on a scooter

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Toby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nha Trang, Vietnam
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“RelaxRelaxRelax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Firstly, the beach here is wonderful, so anywhere you choose to sit, you will enjoy a fine afternoon of sun and lounging. We chose The Shack because of the good reviews and weren’t disappointed. We had the Fish Taco and Burrito. The fish taco a little small but the Burrito was great. Also, the beer is cold and Tippy the Host a great bloke. Make a trip to Long Beach and enjoy The Shack.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lovinglife170986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
74 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Didn't quite live up to the raves . . .”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

After reading reviews for this place for quite awhile, I finally had the opportunity to try it myself. While the burrito I had was tasty, it was far from what I'd say was Mexican! The 'salsa' wasn't really salsa, it was a sauce of some sort, completely blended. Not bad tasting, but not salsa! The chips with the salsa and chips were home made, warm and tasty. My friend had a quesodilla that he thoroughly enjoyed. I'll definitely go back next time I go to Long Beach, but my expectations will be a little lower . . . all that being said, the view is spectacular, the beer cold, the food decent, and the service ok.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gwoodsgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shack Vietnam also viewed

Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
 
Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
 

Been to The Shack Vietnam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing