We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid! Avoid! Avoid! Harassed at 5.30am!”
Review of lan Phuong

lan Phuong
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nha Trang
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
lan Phuong
Ranked #214 of 311 Nha Trang B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

The most disappointing accomodation experience in Vietnam so far.

My lady friend and I booked this hotel on a recommendation before we had arrived in Nha Trang as we were arriving late in the day and didn't want to do the accom search with packs on in the evening.

We asked for a double bed room and when we were shown up there was two single beds. We asked if it was possible to have a double bed and they said no those rooms were all full. Ok, no problem maybe tomorrow? Yes, the lady said. Next day same story.

Constantly hassled about when we were leaving. We said if we had to tell them right now then we would be leaving tomorrow. Ok, said the lady you can tell me in the morning.

Made a big show of giving us a discount... Was 30,000 VND less than the max price on the wall behind reception. I asked to see the other rooms. They we cheaper on the board. All the rooms were the same just more levels up. All the same price according to her. The board was wrong... Apparently.

Two holes in the bathroom wall. One in the shower going through to the main stair well... The key she gave us didn't fit our room door.

We are not too precious my girlfriend and I and all of this didn't bother us too much all though the staff/owners? Were constantly rude and dismissive throughout.

The last straw was having this same lady hammering on our door at 5.30am demanding to know if we were leaving or not because she had another guest she wanted to fit in.
Seriously, there are cleaner, cheaper, friendlier hotels in the very same alley. Spend your money there!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank majicjackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (12)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 12 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2012

we have had a really nice evening in Nha Trang and went to Lan Phuong hotel for the night with a friend that had hired a room there. once we got there i tipped over with my motocycle over their plant and it went broke. i told them that i will pay for what i cost, they said 2,500,000 dong, and i said ok i will pay it. then suddenly the guard said the plant is invaluable. they explained alot about the plant. i'm vietnamese myself and i know they are not worth alot, my agreement on 2,500,000 was way over priced, but now they wanted 4,000,000 dong. i was so angry and argued with them a long time and at last they said ok, give us 2,500,000 dong and we will forgive everything. i refused and will talk to the owner tomorrow.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TranNhatCuong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

My boyfriend and I checked into the hotel for two nights. We made this clear when we checked in, but were constantly asked "When are you leaving?", "Do you need a bus?" or "Do you want a boat trip?". I guess this is fair enough, they want to make some extra money in commissions. What was very annoying was that we were told that check-out was noon. So, when we got three knocks on the door before 11 am asking when we would be out I was a bit infuriated.
When we finally did check out the woman who was working didn't apologize for banging on our door all morning. She just said it should have been "no problem" for us to leave and then tried to rip us off for 200,000 dong on our bill. Her fours were written like sixes and she didn't correct us when we gave her too much money. We were outside and down the street when we realized we over-paid and had to go back.
The other woman, working during the day, was also extremely rude. When we asked about calling to book the open bus, the woman rudely told us "She didn't do that" and put her headphones back on to listen to her YouTube video. We had to inquire as to why she couldn't when it had been no problem to book over the phone in all the other hotels we stayed at. We finally found out that the bus station worked differently in Nha Trang. This is fine, it was the attitude that bothered me. This is the same lady who refused to speak when I asked her where the showers were. (We checked-out at noon and had a 6:30 pm bus, so we were told that we could shower after our day at the beach.) She just rolled her eyes and pointed to the back of the hotel. A nice guest had to inform me that the showers were behind the restaurant.
In all fairness I have to say that the rooms appeared to be clean and taken care of. However, we did find a huge cockroach in our bathroom the first night we were there. The old man that works the night shift seems very kind, but he doesn't speak English. They lock the doors around 9 pm, so if you want to get in after that you have to wake him up.
I have to say that this hostility and rudeness was totally unwarranted. My boyfriend and I were quiet and respectful. We didn't even have a late night out when we stayed there. Nobody needs to deal with rude staff when you are paying to stay at their hotel. There are plenty of other hotels and hostels in this area. I would recommend choosing anywhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stacy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Чем выше этаж, тем лучше вид из окна.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NatalyaN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank Erik O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nandafabra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank le2uriste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nha Trang hotels
182.9 mi away
Mia Resort Nha Trang
Mia Resort Nha Trang
#1 of 214 in Nha Trang
1,341 reviews
4.6 mi away
Vinpearl Nha Trang Resort
Vinpearl Nha Trang Resort
#20 of 214 in Nha Trang
984 reviews
1.3 mi away
InterContinental Nha Trang
InterContinental Nha Trang
#6 of 214 in Nha Trang
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Nha Trang Hotel and Spa
1.0 mi away
Nha Trang Inn
Nha Trang Inn
#6 of 311 in Nha Trang
147 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ngoc Hong Hotel
Ngoc Hong Hotel
#52 of 211 in Nha Trang
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to lan Phuong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about lan Phuong

Address: 64B/17 Tran Phu, Nha Trang, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Khanh Hoa Province > Nha Trang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #214 of 311 B&Bs / Inns in Nha Trang
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing