We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap and easy”
Review of The River Hotel

The River Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The River Hotel
Ranked #174 of 291 Nha Trang B&B and Inns
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cheap and easy”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights on our way north. We found it on booking.com and we booked it because it was cheap enough, even for a balcony room. Finding it off the main road wasn't so easy as it's hidden at the far end of a square off the main road, with no signs.

The room was clean, had AC, with a shower room and toilet. The balcony wasn't very big, could almost touchboth sides when my arms were out, and we had a cockroach staying there during our stay so we didn't use it that much. I would recommend booking a balcony room otherwise your window looks out onto the corridor.

We rented scooters from them cheap, and its round the corner from the beach and the main bar area. The staff were friendly, letting us use the shower just before our overnight train journey onwards. and understanding when I decided to climb over the security wall one morning and woke the street up.

I'd definitely recommend this place as a base to stay and explore, or just spend your time at the beach.

PS Don't drink the vodka in the Why not? bar around the corner, it's made with ethanol, and you'll be rough as toast the next morning.

Room Tip: If you can afford the extra few dollars get a room with a balcony so you at least have a view of out...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Eduardo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    21
    5
    3
    6
See reviews for
3
17
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kings lynn
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

We booked through booking.com as it was a good price. We were able to leave our bags there as we arrived early and were leaving late.

We returned at 2pm and we handed a key and pointed to the stairs. We'd booked a room with a balcony yet we'd been given a box room on the corridor with no curtains and no external windows. We're plenty used to no windows in SE Asia, but usually turn up knowingly. When questioned they blamed booking.com for having an error and when we said it should be fixed asap to avoid issues they went blank as though knowing it was an error.

Not having curtains meant we felt very 'exposed' as we were next to the stairs and corridor with the lights being turned on and off.
The facilities provided (air-con/bathroom etc) were fine.

Location is good near the beach and busy bar area and a short walk to the cathedral etc.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DWDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeuwarden
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

First of all it's a really cheap hotel. We booked secret deal from booking.com so we had even more disccount. It was good value for the money. It was an average hotel. We had an upgrade because we booked a little room, but got a room with more m2. It's hard to find because it's hidden in a alley. In the alley are a lot of locals and that's fun. Opposite the golden sand hotel, nearby, there is a grear restaurant. Very cheap and owner is so friendly. He cooks really nice and everything was so clean!

Room Tip: I think the rooms with balcony are the best and safest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reizendehorizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Very accommodating staff, like you're at home. It's near the beach a walking distance beach. The room was good because we have terrace.
We slept very well because it was a quiet place. It's near the center of the town. We loved staying here. It was also near our tourist agency.
We recommend this for their good service..

Room Tip: Choose the room with terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mahal Kita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel through booking.com
It sais that it is room with private balconi when we came we got a tiny room with no windows and ofcourse no balconi. No on was.talking english and when i came to talk with them about the room they just did get out as a hand gesture.... after 15 minuets an english speaking guy came and said that booking.com had problem probably.
We left after one night and the room was dirty like hell.. toilet paper on the floor, sand in the shower...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gitmul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nha Trang hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is situated on a quiet back street just 5 minutes walk from the beach and bars and resturaunts! It is good value for money but I would recommend getting room with a balcony if there is 2 people sharing the room as standard double is very small! The only complaint we had was our air con did not work properly and was not very cold! Overall would recommend to budget travellers!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIriamIRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival we had problems checking in as only one guy in this hotel speaks English and he was not there. But when we met him he offered us a free upgrade as the double rooms are extremely small. The family room we got was bigger and the price was very cheap. It is a bit off the main area of nha trang , but everything is easily walkable.

The place is nowadays called dung trinh and overall is good if you are looking for a cheap place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManonChiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nha Trang hotels
0.3 mi away
Apus Hotel
Apus Hotel
#80 of 198 in Nha Trang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Suisse Hotel
La Suisse Hotel
#52 of 198 in Nha Trang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dendro Gold Hotel
Dendro Gold Hotel
#23 of 198 in Nha Trang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
White Lion 2 Hotel
White Lion 2 Hotel
#94 of 198 in Nha Trang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tuyet Mai Hotel
Tuyet Mai Hotel
#91 of 291 in Nha Trang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.1 mi away
ABC Hotel
ABC Hotel
#129 of 291 in Nha Trang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Hotel

Property: The River Hotel
Address: 5R Quan Tran, Hung Vuong, Nha Trang 058, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Khanh Hoa Province > Nha Trang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 291 B&Bs / Inns in Nha Trang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — The River Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The River Hotel is an upscale one-star hotel located in the beautiful city of Nha Trang. The River Hotel is new hotel - opened in May, 2010. The River Hotel offers professional service and the warm hospitality. Our professional staff are well trained and are knowledgeable in all areas of tourism. We hold back no effort in providing our guest with the most up to date modern rooms and hotel facilities. At The River Hotel, we guarantee our guest will experience the best a hotel can provide. The River Hotel has 12 modern rooms equipped with modern facilities to international standard. All rooms are decorated with modern style, graphics created more different feeling relaxed, comfortable when you stay here. Walk from the hotel to the beach about five minutes. Near the hotel are a lot of restaurants and shopping. Welcome to The River Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your The River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing