We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service and location good, the rest pretty average”
Review of The Summer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Summer Hotel
Ranked #27 of 211 Hotels in Nha Trang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Good location and the staff were always friendly and helpful. However, the hotel is quite run down, rooms are ok size but dated, breakfast was ok but there were lots of fruit flies hanging about. The rooftop pool was nice. Major downside (not the hotel's fault in opinion) is the noise generated by what seemed to be Vietnamese guests slamming doors and talking in the halls loudly late at night. It was cheap but we got much better value for similar prices elsewhere in Vietnam...maybe it's just the standard in Nha Trang.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyS1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (410)
There are newer reviews for The Summer Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

203 - 209 of 410 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We arrived mega early as the bus got in at 5am. The room was obviously not ready so we hung out by the pool on the roof. The staff were cleaning the pool area and bought us out a complimentary pot of tea.
We decided to have the breakfast (which we had to pay for on this morning as we hadn't checked in yet but was free all the other mornings)
It really does have the biggest selection I have encountered throughout Asia. Eggs (any way you want) sausages bacon, potatoes, chicken vegetables, noodles, porridge, cold meat selection, fresh fruit, juices, coffees tea, cakes and more, and the selection changes daily.

The room was nice and large, although I should note, that as we read a lot of reviews of people stating that their room were tiny we emailed ahead and requested a large room which we received. It was big with big bed and lovely bathroom with bath.
And I did see into another room on our floor (same, double no window) and it was considerably smaller than ours..I was shocked)

The pool on the proof is nice, a little a small, but a nice touch and they have a nice bar with pool table.
I fully recommend this hotel to anyone who is in two minds about it.
It is a short 5 minute walk to the beach and close to so many beautiful restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank muzzyboo86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We booked a deluxe room for one night and were kindly upgraded to a suite. Seing that the weather was nice, we decided to extend our stay at the hotel; hotel manager offered us the suite room without paying any additional supplement.
Amaizing buffet breakfast with Vietnamese specialities.
Helpful staff.
Nice swimming pool at the roof floor.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartaParellada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Unfortunately this has been the worst stay so far on our trip through Vietnam. The staff was neither very helpful nor friendly. The rooms are dark and run down. The only good thing is the view from the bar at the top floor.

Room Tip: Have a good look at the room and demand to change to a better one if not satisfied.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rckhd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We changed plans and arrived in Nha Trang a day early. So we booked this budget hotel at the very last minute just for one night and paid very little for the room. However, it was absolutely fine. The staff were friendly and the hotel was very close to some nice bars and restaurants. No hesitation in recommending this hotel if you want a cheap stay near bars and restaurants. The beach is a few streets away but we didn't need that for our quick stopover as we were moving on for a 5 night stay at a beachfront hotel the next day. An excellent location for restaurants and bars. The superb Lanterns restaurant nearby is a fantastic place to eat and the Booze Cruise Sports Bar is also close (both are on the same street as the hotel).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryD4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The Summer Hotel is located three streets back from the main beach and is an easy walk away. Our room was huge and had a view of the sea, but this is being blocked by a new high rise construction in front. The staff are friendly, and the room very spacious with a spa bath in the en-suite bathroom.the air con worked very well. The roof top pool area offers stunning views over the city and ocean.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed here with our 3 children in adjacent rooms on the 8th floor. There is only 1 lift which has to cater for 12 floors including the ground floor and it often takes a long time to come. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was good but by not the best we had during our time in Vietnam. The location is fine; only a few minutes walk to the beach and lots of good restaurants close by. The children enjoyed the rooftop pool and the top floor bar has great views
We spent 3 nights here and found that it was easily long enough in Nha Trang; we much preferred the time we had on the beach at Hoi An.
We had a good day with the children at Vinpearl water park.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nha Trang hotels
0.1 mi away
Galliot Hotel
Galliot Hotel
#24 of 211 in Nha Trang
315 reviews
0.1 mi away
Asia Paradise Hotel
Asia Paradise Hotel
#49 of 211 in Nha Trang
132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Green World Hotel Nha Trang
Green World Hotel Nha Trang
#12 of 211 in Nha Trang
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
TriStar Hotel
TriStar Hotel
#31 of 211 in Nha Trang
314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Green Peace Hotel
Green Peace Hotel
#41 of 211 in Nha Trang
266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hoang Hai (Golden Sea) Hotel
Hoang Hai (Golden Sea) Hotel
#33 of 211 in Nha Trang
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Summer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summer Hotel

Address: 34 C-D Nguyen Thien Thuat Street | Tan Lap, Nha Trang, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Khanh Hoa Province > Nha Trang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 211 Hotels in Nha Trang
Price Range: $36 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Summer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Nha Trang, composed of 85 well appointed rooms, The Summer Hotel is the best 03 star hotel in Nha Trang The high speed internet access is free and available in all of our rooms and public area. The rooftop terrace and pool offers beautiful panoramic views of Nha Trang. All the rooms of The Summer Hotel have an ample living space which can be used either as a small office for business stays or as an extra bedroom for family stays. The ultra modern meeting and conference rooms of the hotel are perfect for seminars, presentations or commercial launches. Only 5 minutes walk from Nha Trang's shopping area and the beach, 40 minutes drive from Cam Ranh Airport. The Summer Hotel is the ideal place to do business and relax at the same time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Summer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing