We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Rooms, Lots of Space, Great Location, but not "Homey"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
HQ Apartments and Cafe
Ranked #33 of 314 Nha Trang B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 9, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at HQ in August 2011 for three nights. I went with HQ after reading the trip advisor reviews. It was a great place to stay; no hassles at all. The rooms were super clean and large. We had no sewage smells like other reviewers had. The bathroom was super clean and nice to shower in. I loved having the in-room fridge to stock up on snacks to take to the beach. The in-room computer was pretty sweet too. We could watch stuff online at night when we crashed after sunning ourselves all day. The room wasn't exactly "homey," either; I agree with one reviewer calling it "sterile." But, not necessarily a criticism, if, especially, all you want is some place that IS actually sterile, as in clean!

We had a room facing the street, which was *slightly* noisy in the night. And while we did see the owner here and there, and could ask him questions, it was unlike other of our stays where, in small B&Bs, the hosts just are so warm and friendly and will spend hours chatting with you if you want. Depends on what you want, of course.

We were super comfortable at HQ; I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marthy421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 95 of 163 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2012

We found this place spotless, and spacious. Six people aged from 6 to 80; including a couple of teenage boys. We had 2 x 2 bedroom apartments, each with 2 bathrooms. 2 computers, and free wi-fi for all our tablets & laptops. Although David & Hahn were away, there was always warm and friendly help from their extended family. Nothing at all was a trouble to them. Hard to leave and we would go back in a flash. Although there was little English, we had no trouble communicating. They made us feel 'special'. All good fun - just can't help loving the people.

Fay & Morrie Robinson & family. Bondi Australia.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Spent another night here on a brief business trip to Nha Trang. Sadly my previous review had not made it onto Trip Advisor for some reason. Suffice to say for any other travellers looking for a friendly, down to earth, great value place to stay look no further. You will not beat the the charming hospitality of David and his wife Hahn, who welcomed me back like an old friend, look no further than other reviews on this site for confirmation from other travellers. On this occasion I had less time to take up some of David's excellent recommendations for places to eat and visit in the area but the rooms were spotless and comfortable, the staff courteous and welcoming and of course its central location made getting around the ever expanding city of Nha Trang very easy.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DickieBurman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

I have stayed here a number of times when visiting Nha Trang on holiday and business; a great destination after the frenetic pace of Saigon. David, who is Australian is a wealth of knowledge, charm and Aussie wit and his delightful Vietnamese wife, Hahn, makes them a formidable and practical team - helpful, tirelessly happy to answer any questions and point you in the direction of the cities best places to go and importantly the ones to avoid. There is no element of rip off here - they seem to generally want you to enjoy your experience. The rooms are comfortable, spacious, spotlessly clean and also good for families. The location makes everything you could need within walking distance. I have referred many fellow travellers over to HQ and always had the same report back. Nha Trang is awash with generic hotels and guest houses that offer none of the charm or personal touch of this beguiling one off. Highly recommended from a seasoned traveller!

Room Tip: I'm a regular visitor to Vietnam so noise is not much of an issue - in fact you never really esc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We stayed here in December 2011 - David (or his wife) were nowhere to be seen for 3 days and although we asked a lovely Vietnamese lady who had been left in charge she had no english and was unable to help us with any idea of when he may arrive. The family room was very average and we decided to move on after only 2 nights (even though I had booked via wotif for 4 nights) I have sent 2 emails since arriving home and have waited 2 weeks for a reply but to date I have not heard from HQ apartments. There were no movies, no playstation and no recommendations from anyone about what to do or where to go when the Nha Trang weather was not so great. Funky smell in the bathroom was a real turn off and once again there was no one to talk to about this.
This was by far the worst accommodation we had in Vietnam and i would not recommend it

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chook23801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

Well located and clean, these apartments are spacious, although very simply decorated and a little sterile but really good value for money and in room computer is a real bonus. Good if you are travelling with the family.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nhatrangjonesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Found this place on trip advisor and it sure does live up to the reviews. we stayed in a one bedroom apartment which had its own private entry which is great if you plan on getting home late. clean, well presented, cool air con, TV, Internet, what more could you ask for. Close to everything and our hosts, aussie and vietnamese were great. Though i had been to nha Trang several times before they helpep me to find new experiences and even provided a further discount on our room when we checked out - didn't expect that. Well done HQ.

Room Tip: If you plan to get home late ask for the outside one bedroom apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nha Trang hotels
7.3 mi away
Mia Resort Nha Trang
Mia Resort Nha Trang
#2 of 215 in Nha Trang
1,360 reviews
0.3 mi away
LeSimoLe Boutique Apartments
LeSimoLe Boutique Apartments
#5 of 213 in Nha Trang
189 reviews
0.0 mi away
Green World Hotel Nha Trang
Green World Hotel Nha Trang
#13 of 215 in Nha Trang
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Nha Trang Inn
Nha Trang Inn
#6 of 314 in Nha Trang
148 reviews
3.8 mi away
Vinpearl Nha Trang Resort
Vinpearl Nha Trang Resort
#21 of 215 in Nha Trang
991 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Nha Trang Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HQ Apartments and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HQ Apartments and Cafe

Address: 55/8 Nguyen Thien Thuat St, Nha Trang, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Khanh Hoa Province > Nha Trang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 314 B&Bs / Inns in Nha Trang
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HQ apartments is located 2 streets from the beach in the center of the nightlife and restaurant area. All apartments have ensuites and an in room computer with internet. The 2 bedroom apartments have a lounge room with LCD TV. There is a small cafe in the foyer that serves coffee and drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your HQ Apartments and Cafe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hq Apartments And Cafe Hotel Nha Trang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing