We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good homely food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Refuge

Refuge
Ranked #21 of 477 Restaurants in Nha Trang
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $12
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: An establishment convivial and welcoming. A decor atypical in wood, a chalet in Vietnam. A change of scene in Vietnam, where you will find great french meal, delicious and generous. For sure a place you should test !
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good homely food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

Unpretentious home cooked food. Good value for money with large portions (maybe too large) and a friendly, welcoming, but not overwhelming host. Cordon Bleu, which the owner does push hard, was just alright, nothing special and far too big. Fantastic chocolate mousse.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank S_A_Wills09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    83
    26
    16
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hoi An, Vietnam
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“owner way too commercial and obstructive - Food ok...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

As you step into the door, you are quickly sat and told what you should order. The owner is way too pushy and really tries to get all the dongs out of your pocket. Nothing wrong with suggesting meals but there it was too much for my liking. My wife also made the same comment when we were back at the hotel. He raves about his cordon bleu which honestly is just a big portion but nothing memorable and of course the blue cheese sauce that he of course forgets to tell you he will charge you for it (2usd).Which was good to recommend in some way as the cordon bleu would have been extremely dry and boring to eat.

My wife has beef steak, OK - pepper sauce was simply the cheapest compromise of a pepper sauce. We make it better at home maybe less tight on the important ingredients.
We eat all the food so I wouldn't say it was bad but really when we left at 30usd for 2; I felt like I got robbed for what I got. And that's just for 2 main course and two glasses of budget wine ( he sure does pull 6 glasses per bottle in servings)

If you dont mind being told what to eat and hear how amazing the owner is about all he does and you are ok to spend quite a lot for very average food give this place a try otherwise go somewhere else.

Advise to the owner as I see I am not the only to comment on the same negatives greet the customer but let them breath a little if they want to talk to you they will themselves.

Much more impressed with le bouchon restaurant. food, value and service

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasse, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“almost sympatic, some very good dishes, some "standard"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

The dishes are very good and "really french".
Cordon bleu and tartiflette were terrific.
I don't agree with the "ungood" notes:
yes, boss was really present at the beginning, but let us eat and discuss afterward.
the dishes are very good, and very french (I'm french)
Only issue we had, was a group of 5 men coming at the end of our diner, which were very drunk and speaking very loud.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pierre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“totally fantastic experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We were greeted by the owner when we arrived for lunch and he recommended some excellent dishes. The meals are filling and big; definitely good value for money. The atmosphere was very relaxed and the owner so friendly that we returned that evening to have dinner. My favourites were the crepes, I had the mushroom one, the Nutella and the apple and cinnamon, all amazing! We felt very relaxed, welcomed and at home in this restaurant. I fully recommend it to anybody who needs a break from the bustle of Vietnam. The grolle cocktail was fantastic, you must try it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alix B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A fantastic French dining experience in Vietnam.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

I just relocated to Nga Trang, Vietnam, and stumbled upon this restaurant. It doesn't look grand from the outside, but thats because they have the door closed because its one of the only places in town with air conditioning! The proprietor/owner greeted me in French and English and from there collaborated on a fantastic dining experience, giving his recommendations from the menu, helping me with pairing wine, and letting me sample items. He even encouraged me to try the chocolate mousse, which I am eternally grateful because it was the best I'd ever had. There was a fun mix of French nationals, travelers, and vacationers in there, all interacting and laughing in the intimate environment. I really recommend this place for those people in Nga Trang who want to get away from the touristy restaurants and instead have some great local French-Viet fusion cuisine.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NormSchriever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Refuge also viewed

Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
 
Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
 

Been to Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing