We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of An Hoa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
An Hoa Hotel
Ranked #4 of 314 Nha Trang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2010

Our stay was perfect from the day we arrived to the day we left. Great location and a large, clean room. serviced daily.

Doran is probably the cheeriest receptionist you'll ever meet - she went out of her way to help us with anything we wanted (even gave me a ride on the back of her motobike to pick up my husbands perscription!).

Would definately recommend this place.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelHappy_01_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

232 - 238 of 321 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2010

The city of Nha Trang is very pleasant but our stay was even more enjoyable thanks to the very friendly receptionist, Doan. She is very helpful to recommand some restaurants or tours, but she is never pushy, which we really appreciated. The talks with her were always funny and interesting.
The hotel is superclean and the rooms have everything you need and are really good value.
It's close to the backpacker center and just 30 sec walking from the beach.
Overall it's a really nice surprise !

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manue_and_Adrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2010

We moved to An Hoa guest house after staying a few nights at a more expensive nearby hotel (Ha Van). We were glad we did. Ha Van was great but An Hoa is great value money.
The good points:
* approx 3 mins walk to the beach (depending on how quickly you can brave the crazy traffic on the main beachfront road!)
* clean, secure rooms, functioning air con and fan, cable TV, wifi in the room.
* Doan the receptionist. Yes, she's a little eccentric and can talk the arm off a chair, but she's efficient, organised, hard-working, and very helpful. I liked her a lot. When our motorbike (hired from Ha Van hotel) ran out of petrol, she asked a friend to siphon off some of their supply for us to use to get us to the nearest petrol station. She also gave us fresh clean towels to take to the beach, and let us swap them during the day for clean ones to use in the shower.

The not-so-great points:
* at the moment there is a lot of construction work going on directly opposite An Hoa. Doan was completely transparent and honest to us about this, making a point of telling us about it BEFORE we booked and paid, and offering us a discount on the room because of the noise. She volunteered this information - and the discount - unprompted. The construction workers start at about 7am and finish sometime in the evening. As far as we were concerned, this wasn't a problem at all (who wants to stay in a hotel room when Nha Trang beach is just 3 mins walk away?!) and we were very pleased that Doan alerted us to this situation before we booked and paid. But if you need a quiet place to stay then, at the moment, this might not be your best choice.

Overall, loved it.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littleamyjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2010

We booked a double beds room a month ago before going Nha Trang for TET holiday, with the price of $20/night. The reception desk speaks pretty good English and sounds super friendly in the phone. However, when we were confirming again a week before heading off, the same woman in the phone changed the price to $25/night because of the busy holiday. She said the reason she could not tell us earlier was she "lost our cellphone number". We said OK (because at that time, only a week before TET, there is no place we can book with a good price).

One day before we arriving, we called again, seeking for their help to buy the bus tickets for getting back to HCM city. The reception desk said "No Problem. Just come tomorrow". But at that moment, they knew that it would be more possible that we only stay there for 1 night, but not 2. (We booked for 1 OR 2 night!) So they increased the price again to $30! The reason is "every guest room cost more than $40 during the TET. You already got the cheapest price just because you booked long time ago."

So the next day, we arrived to Nha Trang bus station from BMT and called them for asking the tickets situation. The woman picked the phone told us "All the tickets are sold out! You can not go back to HCM city until 2 days later".

But we have to get back! We were so disappointed and helpless at that moment (as we depended on them for getting the tickets) and decided to take taxi back to HCM. Surprisingly, the woman said "if you only stay in our hotel for 1 night, you have to pay $35!"

We finally understood that this hotel is a liar, the only thing they care about is money, but not guests' difficulties. Luckily, we got the but tickets of the day we want from the bus station normal window in 10min!!

This was not the first liar we met in Nha Trang, but when we found they have so high rate in this webpage, we are totally shocked!

Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
2  Thank coconuteapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2010

Will recommend to all my friends, good value, good rooms, good service. It's a budget hotel that really really tries! They helped us with many many things! Most importaint is Mrs. Doan at the front desk! She can help you will anything you want, from help placing a call to help with where to eat! Just ask and she is willing to try! Very good value and excellent staff!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeggaryP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2010

We stayed at An Hoa hotel during Tet, and payed at an average 26$ for our room. The rooms were nice and spacious, and we got a room with a big balcony and very nice view (would be nice with some furniture though, but we did enjoy our breakfasts at an improvised picnic carpet).

What makes ut rate this hotel as terrible is not the location and the rooms in itself, neither that we payed more than normal (we understood that this is normal during Tet). BUT that we received wrong information from the receptionist Doan, and when we confronted with telling us a lie instead of admit that she was wrong, put on another lie and, we felt, treated us a bit patronising.

Story is: We wanted to take the sleeper night bus, whereas she said there was only one company she would recommend, since this was the only one with toilet... After reading the great reviews here, we trusted her. So we booked tickets with the hotels company, even after we were told that there were no more seats on the night bus - only on day bus. The next day we passed Sinh Cafe, as the buses were leaving, and noted that they had toilets, and actually asked if they worked. Yes they did, and they had available seats for us on the night sleeper. Hurray we thought! booked tickets and went to An Hoa, to inform and ask for possible refund. Doan got hysterical and dissolved in tears, stamped her foot and told us we should 'have told her first' before we booked... We don't know why, but maybe so she could convince us to go with her company? For us the important point was not getting the money back, we were just glad to have one more day in Nha Trang.
The most frustrating point for us, was the lie. When we asked about why she said only 'their' bus company had toilets, she first responded by saying "Oh, they don't work, and you can't use them. The driver has to stop at a restaurant if you want to go to the toilet", and when we told her we knew they worked she told us "oh, but they smell and are bad". Followed by a "have you ever taken the night bus before", and without given us time to answer "no... you haven't....".

Point is (despite long story....) - we felt we were treated as girlfriends, and not as hotel customers. It was extremely awkward, and instead of Doan acting as a manager, we felt we had to deal with a two year old having a tantrum.
We never got any refunds, and never saw the tickets we booked and payed.

And btw - the Sinh Cafe bus was really ok. It even arrived before time.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hannelujah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2010

We visitied Nha Trang during TET festival which, if you ask other backpackers, will change your perspective of a hotel. First, all the hotels double and sometimes triple their prices. An Hoa was no different. Instead of the usual price of $12/$15, we paid $22 1st night and then 2 nights @ $27 (and this was cheap). After we left the room rate was going to $35. That said, the room was ok, very clean and had cable TV, hot water and was serviced daily. Breakfast was not included so consider adding another $3-$5 each for the local restaurant down the road.

The girl on the desk is more than helpful. She works long hours and is always happy to see her guests enjoying Nha Trang. As with any hotel though they are on commission for tours. Dont jump ahead booking anything as the company is probably just around the corner.

I probably wouldnt stay here again as for $20 outside the TET season you could probably get a 3* hotel. The rooms are definately worth $15 but no more than this...

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawsonio1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nha Trang hotels
0.1 mi away
Hoang Hai (Golden Sea) Hotel
Hoang Hai (Golden Sea) Hotel
#34 of 215 in Nha Trang
501 reviews
0.2 mi away
Truong Giang hotel
Truong Giang hotel
#2 of 314 in Nha Trang
547 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carpe DM Hotel
Carpe DM Hotel
#1 of 314 in Nha Trang
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
iHome Nha Trang
iHome Nha Trang
#3 of 314 in Nha Trang
341 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nha Trang Inn
Nha Trang Inn
#6 of 314 in Nha Trang
148 reviews
0.2 mi away
LeSimoLe Boutique Apartments
LeSimoLe Boutique Apartments
#5 of 213 in Nha Trang
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to An Hoa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An Hoa Hotel

Address: 64B / 6 Tran Phu, Nha Trang 650000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Khanh Hoa Province > Nha Trang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 314 B&Bs / Inns in Nha Trang
Price Range: $14 - $19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — An Hoa Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good quality mini hotel located in mini hotel alley close to beach and city center. Very friendly and helpful staff, all rooms with en-suite, air-con, cable TV, telephone, fridge and free wifi. 24 hour access. Some rooms with balcony and sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HostelWorld and Cheap Tickets so you can book your An Hoa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing