We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place. Good for kids.”

Lanterns Vietnamese Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 487 Restaurants in Nha Trang
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: We have been operating since 2008 and hold half day cooking classes for visitors to Nha Trang at a cost of $24 USD per person. It is a great experience of travelling to the local market, buying food and then preparing 3 dishes as chosen by the guests. We also provide a small recipe book at the completion of the tour, as a memento and keepsake. We are also keen to differentiate ourselves from all the other dining places in Nha Trang and give the customer a unique Vietnamese experience. One area is, we are strongly supporting 12 local orphanages. I spent 2 months travelling through Nha Trang & Vietnam & spent a lot of my time with the children at orphanages. As a result, I am trying to give back to these kids, by teaching them life skills and how the real world operates, outside of the usual visits and photo opportunity.That's where the idea for Lanterns came. We invite kids and their careers to each at least one day per month, but any time they wish to come. We encourage the schools/orphanages to allow the older kids to gain work experience at our place and meet the people who visit Vietnam first hand, in a friendly helpful environment.One thing I am strongly committed to, is making sure the kids are not exploited in any way and nothing is ever done without discussing it & getting approval from the carers involved.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good place. Good for kids.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Went with another family and the staff did a great job of deal with the ten of us. Four adults and six kids aren't the easiest. Great menu for kids that are picky eaters as they have some western items that kids love. My kids ate the pesto pasta and loved it!

They have great local food as well as my wife and I loved the bbq seafood. I would definitely go back there.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank joshj739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soccarooby, Owner at Lanterns Vietnamese Restaurant, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Hello and thanks for the kind words. Good to hear the staff looked after your group and especially the children. The staff would have loved intercating with your children as I know they always enjoy seeing kids dining at Lanterns, no matter what ages they are. Appreciate the support and so glad the food was good. Thanks from everyone at Lanterns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,952
    951
    380
    106
    64
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
283 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Good choise, but far not the best one”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Non-smoking restaurant with not as big choise of vietnamese dishes (if you analyze the menu, there are only few dishes, actually, further diversity is achieved by replacing beef with pork, then pork with chicken, chicken with fish etc.)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Borys B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soccarooby, Owner at Lanterns Vietnamese Restaurant, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Hi and thanks for writing. We make no apologies for trying to simplify our menu as providing pages and pages of different dishes can be very confusing and difficult for our guests to choose and we would rather try to do less dishes well, than many many offerings and not do any of them well. We have tried to provide a range of Vietnamese and Western dishes to cater for all visitors. Our no smoking policy is also for the health of our staff who do not smoke themsleves and I dont think it is fair they or our guests should inhale other people's smoke whilst trying to eat. Thanks from all of us at Lanterns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“fabulous food and good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Followed the trail set by other reviews and was not disappointed. Starters were good but for main we chose the hotpot cooked at table. Absolutely outstanding. Choice was seafood or beef. Went for the beef and it was super thin and soooo tender. The waitress cooks it, judges timing of everything. All you have to do is eat it. We were going to order some rice with it. Waitress said we wouldn't need it as plenty of noodles in the dish, she was right. Excellent meal and great value at around £10 for two people, including beers. Only restaurant in nha trang that I would definitely go back to if we visit again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnmwhyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soccarooby, Owner at Lanterns Vietnamese Restaurant, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Hello and thanks for taking the time to write. I am pleased that you were not disappointed with your visit and it met expectations as often things do not live up to what we hoped, but it is so pleasing to hear that the staff took great care of you on the night. We are very lucky to have some amazing people working with us. Appreciate the support from everyone at Lanterns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shafer, Minnesota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Food, elegant atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is one of the most elegant dining choices in the backpacker area. The lanterns provide a great ambience and the elevated nature of the dining area removes it from the street a bit. By all means chose a dish that is prepared at your table, the presentation is fabulous!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Groucho2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soccarooby, Owner at Lanterns Vietnamese Restaurant, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Hi and appreciate your kind words. We have tried to make the ambiance of Lanterns a nice place to sit and enjoy a meal and I agree the Sizzling BBQ and Hot Pots allow a bit of staff interaction when they are preparing the meals at your table. Thanks for the support form all of us at Lanterns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lanterns visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

We went with friends and 4 children, the food was amazing and came out very fast, I had snapper cooked at the table which although made me a messy eater was beautiful.

Helpful?
Thank Brent98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soccarooby, Owner at Lanterns Vietnamese Restaurant, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Hello and thank you very much. We are always happy to see families enjoying a lunch or dinner with us and it is good to hear the food came together, something we work very hard to make sure happens each and every time (but not always the case sadly). Dont worry about the messy eating, I think I am the messiest eater at Lanterns and I am constantly being yelled at for making a mess when i eat, that is part of the fun of being on holidays :) Thanks for the support from all of us at Lanterns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lanterns Vietnamese Restaurant also viewed

Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
 
Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
 
Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
 

Been to Lanterns Vietnamese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing