We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, staff, setting... accept visa”

Lanterns Vietnamese Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 587 Restaurants in Nha Trang
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: We have been operating since 2008 and hold half day cooking classes for visitors to Nha Trang. It is a great experience of travelling to the local market, buying food and then preparing 3 dishes as chosen by the guests. We also provide a small recipe book at the completion of the tour, as a memento and keepsake. We are also keen to differentiate ourselves from all the other dining places in Nha Trang and give the customer a unique Vietnamese experience. One area is, we are strongly supporting 12 local orphanages. I spent 2 months travelling through Nha Trang & Vietnam & spent a lot of my time with the children at orphanages. As a result, I am trying to give back to these kids, by teaching them life skills and how the real world operates, outside of the usual visits and photo opportunity.That's where the idea for Lanterns came. We invite kids and their careers to each at least one day per month, but any time they wish to come.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Great food, ordered the hot pot and some other stuff. 3 Australians all very happy, standard prices, above standard food, setting is very nice in a good location. Highly recommend. Accept visa. Staff speak enough English, one of the best. Open roof, no Mosquitos

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stockyhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soccarooby, Owner at Lanterns Vietnamese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Hello and always lovely to hear from fellow Aussies travelling here in Nha Trang. It is nice to hear about the staff and their English as most of them do work very hard at improving their English and enjoy practising it, when they get over their initial shyness. We appreciate that you felt the food was above standard but prices standard, as we strive very hard to give good quality and a reasonable price and hope we are getting better, as we are learning every day. I must apologise about the visa, yes we accept it but hate that we have to charge a 3% fee, but this is a bank fee charged by the local VN banks and no something we can absorb as part of our business costs, but understand it is not really understood by many travellers as we do not pay service charges back home. Thanks again for the support and hope you will be back to visit one day soon. From everyone at Lanterns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,054)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,301 - 2,305 of 4,054 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

The food was brilliant, value for money was great, and you are sure to meet great company. For a real experience suggest you try their cooking experience. It is not to be missed

Thank Wellagedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soccarooby, Owner at Lanterns Vietnamese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Hello and thanks for the great words in your review. It's a good ad for Lanterns :) Yes we are lucky to receive many travellers from around the world and appreciate all the support we receive from all guests. As I have said before our cooking classes are more about fun and interaction for a beginner cook and not fro the serious chef, but I do see many people enjoying themselves. Thanks for the support and hope to see you back from the team at Lanterns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Verry good restaurant they also are involved in wellfare projects . I liked the atmospehere and the Vietnamese dishes.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michielstroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soccarooby, Owner at Lanterns Vietnamese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Hello thanks for the kind review. Glad you enjoyed the ClayPot and enjoyed your night. Hope you will be back to see us soon. From all of us at Lanterns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

First be aware this resturant has moved 200 yards & one junction down from lonely planet guide.

The restaurant is made less ordinary by the dozen if lanterns and people crammed into a real overly small space.

The menu is fairly extensive with a mixture of Vietnamese and European food.

Paper rice tools were fresh and light with tofu and crunchy raw veg.

Clay pots contain a variety of different slow cooked dishes - we had pork which was delicious and beef which was tender & tasty.

Table top bbq's are fun as are the boiling pots that you cook yourself - although waitresses keep a constant eye out in case help is needed.

The potions aren't massive so ordering a main pot as a starter to share wouldn't be excessive.

It's a fun place with a crowd as theres a lot of table top cooking involved if that's your thing.

Good variety of sea food including whole fish.

All food was well spiced, meat well cooked and good quality, service good.

Deserts aren't great but you probably won't need one.

Really good value and no nasty after effects.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank iloveglamping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soccarooby, Owner at Lanterns Vietnamese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Hello and thanks for kind words. Yes unfortunately we moved after the Lonely Planet listing went in and there is an error in our address and also the cost of the cooking class, but these are minor issues we can overcome. Glad you enjoyed the food and you noticed the freshness of the ingredients, because I understand food taste can be subjective and different people have different likes and dislikes but one standard we have never comprised on is the freshness of our ingredients and something we easily maintain because of the sheer volume of dishes that are served daily. So glad all went well and all the food was a bit of fun, yes I agree the desserts are very simple and we just try to serve up a few simple favourites, as more complex cakes and sweets may be a little difficult to get right. Glad no nasty effects also :) Thanks for the support from every at Lanterns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Went here as a group and it did not dissapoint, meals all came out around same time, and mixups were fixed promptly.
Staff spoke very good English, easy to understand
Food was amazing, coconut chicken was absolutely mind blowing flavor. No complaints if we had more time I would go again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lance A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soccarooby, Owner at Lanterns Vietnamese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Hi and thanks for writing. It is always difficult when there is a group or even larger tour group to get all meals served at the same time and whilst our kitchen knows meals should be ready all at the same time, sometimes when there is too many people all at once, it just doesn't happen. I am glad that all went well for your group and sorry for any mix ups that occurred. Glad you enjoyed the food. Thanks for the support and maybe we will see you back one day. All the best from everyone at Lanterns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lanterns Vietnamese Restaurant also viewed

Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
 
Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
 
Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
 

Been to Lanterns Vietnamese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing