We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top 3 vietnamese restaurant in Nha Trang”

Lanterns Vietnamese Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 487 Restaurants in Nha Trang
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: We have been operating since 2008 and hold half day cooking classes for visitors to Nha Trang at a cost of $24 USD per person. It is a great experience of travelling to the local market, buying food and then preparing 3 dishes as chosen by the guests. We also provide a small recipe book at the completion of the tour, as a memento and keepsake. We are also keen to differentiate ourselves from all the other dining places in Nha Trang and give the customer a unique Vietnamese experience. One area is, we are strongly supporting 12 local orphanages. I spent 2 months travelling through Nha Trang & Vietnam & spent a lot of my time with the children at orphanages. As a result, I am trying to give back to these kids, by teaching them life skills and how the real world operates, outside of the usual visits and photo opportunity.That's where the idea for Lanterns came. We invite kids and their careers to each at least one day per month, but any time they wish to come. We encourage the schools/orphanages to allow the older kids to gain work experience at our place and meet the people who visit Vietnam first hand, in a friendly helpful environment.One thing I am strongly committed to, is making sure the kids are not exploited in any way and nothing is ever done without discussing it & getting approval from the carers involved.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Top 3 vietnamese restaurant in Nha Trang”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Very good food but service can be improved. At nights there are so much people and you have to book in advance. The price level is very good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rmaep98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soccarooby, Owner at Lanterns Vietnamese Restaurant, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Hello thanks for writing and I am not sure if I have it read it correctly, but either you rate us in the Top 3 restaurants in Nha Trang or maybe we don't deserve to be in the Top 3? I will take it that we are in the Top 3 restaurants in Nha Trang :) We are glad the food and prices were very good and yes, we have been very busy over Christmas, New Year and all the way through the Lunar New Year. We do, of course, accept bookings but normally they are not required as we do have capacity for most guests but we do understand our service was lacking during the Lunar New Year as we faced increased capacity and 4 staff returning home to spend time with their families. I have explained more details in the review titled 'Average" from holidayholic54_12, but there is no excuse for service not being up to scratch and something we have addressed with all staff about the need to improve. Thanks again for your support from the team at Lanterns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,952
    951
    380
    106
    64
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A must !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

We ate here at Lanterns a couple of times.. The food is fantastic. We had the pineapple beef and the chilli chicken and both were awesome .. We couldn't pick our favorite out of the two.. It was very busy as we were here over CNY so best to book when here over a holiday. But it was worth the wait. Staff are lovely and very helpful when we ordered the share Pho soup ... delicious .. We were only disappointed by the cooking class not being on as it was a holiday .. so next time !! As we said a must try and Daisy's next door for massage is great too. Enjoy x

Helpful?
Thank redchubbonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soccarooby, Owner at Lanterns Vietnamese Restaurant, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Hello and thanks so much for your kind words. Firstly, as with everyone, we are so glad you came to dine with us but more importantly, we are so grateful you enjoyed it enough to return again. Something that obviously pleases all of our staff very much. The pineapple boat is a fun dish and the Lemongrass Chilli is my favourite, but I am a Tofu freak and don't really try the Chicken in that dish much :) As explained in other replies, we have been overwhelmingly busy during the holiday period and normally we do not require bookings as we have a capacity of about 90 people and yes even we were surprised we were full from 6.30pm to about 9.30pm most days, with people even agreeing to come back later if tables were unavailable. I think now TET is over, things should return back to normal (not too quiet, we hope) but the amount of support and return support we are receiving from the travelling community, locals and local expats is totally overwhelming for us and people ask us what is our secret but we are still scratching our heads as to why? Sorry about the cooking class, unfortunately, it seems the world stops over TET, so the local markets were closed and as much as we would love to continue the cooking classes, it would not be the same without a market visit, as so many customers say it was the highlight of the class. On a positive note, they will start again on Sunday and I must go try the Daisy massage next door :) Thanks for all the support and hope to see you back one day soon, from the Lanterns Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely and authentic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stumbled upon Lanterns accidently as it was close to our hotel. Went here for dinner as we saw it was really busy and always take this as a good sign! We weren't disappointed. Had the set menu 1 which i thought was good value for the quality of the food. The chicken curry was delicious! The staff were competent and kind, despite it being extremely busy and a few people being turned away as there were no tables left. Am shocked at some of the terrible reviews people have given this restaurant and after eating here a lot of their comments don't make sense. I would recommend eating here!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Australian-anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soccarooby, Owner at Lanterns Vietnamese Restaurant, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Hello and thanks for your review. We are very lucky to receive some great support from the travelling and ex-pat community in Nha Trang and being busy is a good sign for potential guests but gives us an increased responsibility as we try very hard to give everyone a special intimate meal when they join us, but this is not easy when your capacity in close to 100 and its full and sometimes people can feel like they have been lost in the crowd, for which we are very sorry. In relation to some of the reviews we receive, everyone is different and everyone expects different things from different places. I understand some people leave here disappointed and its a similar situation to your other review of Mecca. I personally feel it is a very good place to eat and enjoyed many good meals there, but you were left terribly disappointed, so we all have different experiences and they are shared here on TA. Thanks again for your kindness and hope to see you back again soon, from all of us at Lanterns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nha Trang, Vietnam
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow is this place good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

There is no doubt Lanterns is a really really good place to try in Nha Trang and they know they are good. They are constantly busy, day and night and while other places around town walk up as soon as you even look at a menu or try shove flyers down your throat, they went along happily serving their customers and I really enjoyed being able to read the outside menu in my own time and it wasnt until i stepped over the water pond that i was quickly greeted by a happy smiling face, ushering us to our table. The food was so tasty and decent serves, great value and the staff are very funny and enjoy a chat. A beautiful setting to enjoy dinner. This should be on your "must try" list in Nha Trang. Despite high expectations, they delievered.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samantha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soccarooby, Owner at Lanterns Vietnamese Restaurant, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Hello and thanks for such kind words. I am most pleased you felt satisfied after your time with us as one of our biggest issues is meeting people's expectations, who see we are busy and expect something special when they come in but as I have said many times, we are just a small restaurant, run daily by the local staff, who do nothing special, except try to serve up good food and make sure people enjoy their meals. But, we are overwhelmed by the level of support we get from the travelling community and locals and it is a lovely feeling :) I agree about the menu, it was actually one of my small contributions to Lanterns restaurant, as I hate it myself when people rush to me when im just trying to read a menu and I told staff never approach a customer at the menu board, unless you feel confident to recommend a dish or talk to them about specials, etc. Needless to say, none of the girls dare step over the bridge, so we hope people see it more as a sign of respecting space and not that we don't care if you come in or not...WE CARE :) Thanks again for all your support and we hope you will be backj to join us one days oon. from everyone at Lanterns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nha Trang, Vietnam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Yummy curry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Loved the chicken curry, definitely try this. Staff were super friendly, helped us cook our hot pot and spoke very good English. Delicious.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adam_Kate_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soccarooby, Owner at Lanterns Vietnamese Restaurant, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Hello and thanks for taking the time to write. I appreciate all your kind words and pleased the food and staff were good. Its hard to comment about food as I have said many times, where one review says the curry is great, we can be assured there is not one far away that will say it was the worst curry ever and we understand we cant cater to all tastes but what we do do is try to serve consistency and make sure every dish that comes from the kitchen is the same everytime, so at least we know what we are serving to our customers. I wish I could say we have perfected it, but it is a daily job to make sure we do the best we can every single time. Thaks so much for your support and hope you will be back to see us soon. From all the Lanterns team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lanterns Vietnamese Restaurant also viewed

Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
 
Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
 

Been to Lanterns Vietnamese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing