We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's the fuzz about?”

Lanterns Vietnamese Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 527 Restaurants in Nha Trang
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: We have been operating since 2008 and hold half day cooking classes for visitors to Nha Trang at a cost of $24 USD per person. It is a great experience of travelling to the local market, buying food and then preparing 3 dishes as chosen by the guests. We also provide a small recipe book at the completion of the tour, as a memento and keepsake. We are also keen to differentiate ourselves from all the other dining places in Nha Trang and give the customer a unique Vietnamese experience. One area is, we are strongly supporting 12 local orphanages. I spent 2 months travelling through Nha Trang & Vietnam & spent a lot of my time with the children at orphanages. As a result, I am trying to give back to these kids, by teaching them life skills and how the real world operates, outside of the usual visits and photo opportunity.That's where the idea for Lanterns came. We invite kids and their careers to each at least one day per month, but any time they wish to come. We encourage the schools/orphanages to allow the older kids to gain work experience at our place and meet the people who visit Vietnam first hand, in a friendly helpful environment.One thing I am strongly committed to, is making sure the kids are not exploited in any way and nothing is ever done without discussing it & getting approval from the carers involved.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What's the fuzz about?”
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We had a late lunch in this place. As it was high rated on TA and in LP we had high expectations. We had the red snapper BBQ for 2 people. The portion was extremely small and the fish was cut in such a way we spend ages getting bones out. The service was ok but d tired after the lunch session and wasn't very friendly / helpful. Concluded, average food, poor service but expensive for Vietnamese standards, but maybe it's ok for NT standards, i don't know. next time I'll be in town I'll skip this place, that's for sure. Ps be aware, location of the restaeant changed to no.34/6.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zwollenaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soccarooby, Owner at Lanterns Vietnamese Restaurant, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Hello and thanks very much for your comments. Firstly, sorry you didn't enjoy your experience at Lanterns and sorry the BBQ Snapper was not to your liking. It seems the most common criticism we get is what is all the "Hype and Fuss about". Well, I could not agree with you and other reviewers more. We don't understand why we have been so very lucky to receive the level of support we do from the travelling community, local expats and many locals alike. Many people think just because we are in the LP book or highly rated by online reviewers that we must be some 5 star or celebrity restaurant or maybe we go around Nha Trang creating this hype about ourselves....we are none of that. Many people fail to realise the restaurant is run, staffed and organised by the same sort of people you find in other restaurants or other places in Nha Trang (or Vietnam). The staff have all been responsible for creating the Lanterns you see today. They set the menu, prepare the food, do the hiring and firing and whilst many people congratulate me, I am quick to let them know any accolades belong to the girls not me. Our prices are not any higher than most other places in Nha Trang (in fact cheaper in some instances), we don't go around saying we are the "greatest" place to eat, if anything we all talk down the level of success we have be blessed with. Sadly, where a customer may be more forgiving of a restaurant experience in other places throughout South East Asia or Nha Trang, they don't seem to offer that same tolerance to our staff or restaurant. We fully understand the extra pressure that comes with being a busy successful business and we are so very fortunate people visit for numerous reasons (good food, good setting, good prices, community work, word of mouth, etc etc) but that is, as another reviewer recently stated, a double edged sword, which I think is our biggest challenge going forward, but something we are working hard to meet. I would love to receive nothing but positive reviews but its unrealistic to satisfy 100% of our guests, but if we can keep improving all that we do, then I feel we will keep moving in the right direction. Thanks again from all of us at Lanterns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,675 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,061
    1,020
    405
    117
    72
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Romantic! Festive! Busy!”
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

We loved eating here! The hanging lanterns and dim lighting make this a lovely relaxed and romantic setting! Food was very well presented not to mention delicious!!! A real tasty treat!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank becs_gibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soccarooby, Owner at Lanterns Vietnamese Restaurant, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Hello and thanks for your review. Glad all went well during your time with us and the food and setting were enjoyable. Appreciate your support and hope to see you back one day soon. From the team at Lanterns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“We ate here multiple times”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Great spot with a variety of options. The curry was great, same with the lemongrass dish. Wasn't a huge fan of the clay pot though, not because of preparation, just not my taste...

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ShawnBToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soccarooby, Owner at Lanterns Vietnamese Restaurant, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Hello and thanks for taking the time to write your review. Appreciate the kind words and as I have said many times before, there is no greater proof to our staff and Managers that their hard work is paying off , than when they see customers return many times. They enjoy it and quite often make new friends with our returning guests. Thanks so much for all your support whilst in Nha Trang and hope to see you again one day soon. From everyone at Lanterns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious and excellent service”
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Highly recommended. This is the 2nd time we have been to this restaurant during a three day trip in Nha Trang. It is located at the busy food street area and a little difficult to spot as the sign is partly covered by the front tree. The restaurant is decorated with lanterns and having a traditional look with some Cham theme which makes it very cosy and romantic. Even though this is not really high season but the place is full of people until 22:00.  Customers queue up in the front from time to time. The staff is quick and witty. Look like they have 4 waitresses for a 60 seat restaurant but they can always serve you without delay. The menu is well organized with Lanterns dishes and other Southern traditional cuisine from beef, chicken, fish to veg.  The food is very tasty and the amount is just right not too big nor small. We enjoy every single bit. Recommend the curry (shrimp, or chicken), ginger chicken, pineapple boat, or grill fish. Drink list carries a wide range of local beer, regular cocktails or a nice glass of wine. Would definitely come back to try the beef rolled in Lalot leaf and the hot pot. 

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tuan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soccarooby, Owner at Lanterns Vietnamese Restaurant, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Hello and thank you very much for your kind review. It is so pleasing to hear about your wonderful experience there and thank you so much for coming back to support us a second time, despite many other good places to eat and drink in Nha Trang. I have seen it has been very hectic these past few weeks and I think the staff have worked very hard in a very stressful situation. I do know the increased customers has meant we have made a few simple mistakes with orders and table preparations, so I would like to apologise now for anyone who has been to Lanterns when we have been extremely busy and felt the staff were not doing their job right. I can assure you it was because they were extremely busy and not because they don't do their job well :) Appreciate all your comments about the food quality and so pleased you liked it. We hope to see you back again one day soon, from the Lanterns family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Must try Vietnamese hotpot dishes”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Specializes in Vietnamese hotspot dishes, this restaurant is popular to expats.
Beef BBQ on clay pot, cook it yourself, very good. Reasonably priced. Walk-in no problem. It also sells few fancy jewelries. Attire, casual. Credit cards accepted.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Onbarefeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soccarooby, Owner at Lanterns Vietnamese Restaurant, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Hi and thanks for your review. Appreciate the kind words and glad you enjoyed the hot pot and claypot. Hope to see you back one day soon, from all of us at Lanterns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lanterns Vietnamese Restaurant also viewed

Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
 
Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
 
Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
 

Been to Lanterns Vietnamese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing