We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic! Festive! Busy!”

Lanterns Vietnamese Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 555 Restaurants in Nha Trang
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: We have been operating since 2008 and hold half day cooking classes for visitors to Nha Trang. It is a great experience of travelling to the local market, buying food and then preparing 3 dishes as chosen by the guests. We also provide a small recipe book at the completion of the tour, as a memento and keepsake. We are also keen to differentiate ourselves from all the other dining places in Nha Trang and give the customer a unique Vietnamese experience. One area is, we are strongly supporting 12 local orphanages. I spent 2 months travelling through Nha Trang & Vietnam & spent a lot of my time with the children at orphanages. As a result, I am trying to give back to these kids, by teaching them life skills and how the real world operates, outside of the usual visits and photo opportunity.That's where the idea for Lanterns came. We invite kids and their careers to each at least one day per month, but any time they wish to come.
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

We loved eating here! The hanging lanterns and dim lighting make this a lovely relaxed and romantic setting! Food was very well presented not to mention delicious!!! A real tasty treat!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank becs_gibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soccarooby, Owner at Lanterns Vietnamese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Hello and thanks for your review. Glad all went well during your time with us and the food and setting were enjoyable. Appreciate your support and hope to see you back one day soon. From the team at Lanterns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,844)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,242 - 2,246 of 3,844 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2012

Great spot with a variety of options. The curry was great, same with the lemongrass dish. Wasn't a huge fan of the clay pot though, not because of preparation, just not my taste...

1  Thank ShawnBToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soccarooby, Owner at Lanterns Vietnamese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Hello and thanks for taking the time to write your review. Appreciate the kind words and as I have said many times before, there is no greater proof to our staff and Managers that their hard work is paying off , than when they see customers return many times. They enjoy it and quite often make new friends with our returning guests. Thanks so much for all your support whilst in Nha Trang and hope to see you again one day soon. From everyone at Lanterns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Highly recommended. This is the 2nd time we have been to this restaurant during a three day trip in Nha Trang. It is located at the busy food street area and a little difficult to spot as the sign is partly covered by the front tree. The restaurant is decorated with lanterns and having a traditional look with some Cham theme which makes it very cosy and romantic. Even though this is not really high season but the place is full of people until 22:00.  Customers queue up in the front from time to time. The staff is quick and witty. Look like they have 4 waitresses for a 60 seat restaurant but they can always serve you without delay. The menu is well organized with Lanterns dishes and other Southern traditional cuisine from beef, chicken, fish to veg.  The food is very tasty and the amount is just right not too big nor small. We enjoy every single bit. Recommend the curry (shrimp, or chicken), ginger chicken, pineapple boat, or grill fish. Drink list carries a wide range of local beer, regular cocktails or a nice glass of wine. Would definitely come back to try the beef rolled in Lalot leaf and the hot pot. 

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tuan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soccarooby, Owner at Lanterns Vietnamese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Hello and thank you very much for your kind review. It is so pleasing to hear about your wonderful experience there and thank you so much for coming back to support us a second time, despite many other good places to eat and drink in Nha Trang. I have seen it has been very hectic these past few weeks and I think the staff have worked very hard in a very stressful situation. I do know the increased customers has meant we have made a few simple mistakes with orders and table preparations, so I would like to apologise now for anyone who has been to Lanterns when we have been extremely busy and felt the staff were not doing their job right. I can assure you it was because they were extremely busy and not because they don't do their job well :) Appreciate all your comments about the food quality and so pleased you liked it. We hope to see you back again one day soon, from the Lanterns family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Specializes in Vietnamese hotspot dishes, this restaurant is popular to expats.
Beef BBQ on clay pot, cook it yourself, very good. Reasonably priced. Walk-in no problem. It also sells few fancy jewelries. Attire, casual. Credit cards accepted.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Onbarefeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soccarooby, Owner at Lanterns Vietnamese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Hi and thanks for your review. Appreciate the kind words and glad you enjoyed the hot pot and claypot. Hope to see you back one day soon, from all of us at Lanterns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We had a delicious meal here, if not a bit of a strange one... Spaghetti Carbonara and garlic bread to share as a starter, followed by the BBQ platter. What can I say, we had a carbonara craving :)

The garlic bread was average, but the carbonara was delicious. and the BBQ!! Amazing. cooked at the table, the meat was beautifully marinaded.

Highly recommend this place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TheHolidayDesigner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soccarooby, Owner at Lanterns Vietnamese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Hi and thanks for writing. Yes, an unusual order for Lanterns but I am glad the carbonara was to your taste as western food is very tricky to get right in Vietnam :) I agree the sizzling BBQ is really tender and tasty, even though somewhat smokey, but I like when I see customers order it and staff cook it as it gives them a chance to interact with customers, which I think adds to the fun for all parties involved :) Thanks so much for the support and hope to see you back in Nha Trang one day soon, from all the team at Lanterns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lanterns Vietnamese Restaurant also viewed

Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
 
Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
 

Been to Lanterns Vietnamese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing