We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shrunk our clothes and overpriced”

Backpackers House Nha Trang
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Backpackers House Nha Trang
Ranked #86 of 181 Specialty Lodging in Nha Trang
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Shrunk our clothes and overpriced”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We had the best room available and it was terrible. The shower didn't have any power. The air-con leaked. The beds were hard and when it was time to pay they tried charging us more than what was quoted.

The staff were friendly though, which is why I gave them one star. Despite the girls shrinking all of my clothes... Guess I better start losing more weight.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ke1ly89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    26
    31
    20
    35
See reviews for
Families
0
17
31
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

The free breakfast was nice every morning. Coffee, toast, omelette, and a baguette. Close to the beach, food, ATMs, etc.

Dorms are pretty big, lots of beds. However there are other smaller rooms with 4 beds. lockers on the beds are the good big ones under the bed. Can get loud at night as most people are there to party.

Must go to the beach early in the morning during sunrise. Thats when the locals hit the beach. Really a must see. A lot different once the sun comes up.

Room Tip: Ask for a bed in the smaller room with 4 beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewLegere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The dorm was very reasonably priced and a good deal including breakfast too. Just 1 small bathroom for a dorm with 10 beds wasn't quite enough though - would be better with a separate toilet/shower room. A very social place - loud music from the onsite bar, so don't stay here if you want an early night! A good place for meeting other backpackers. Really good food at the Green Apple. Unfortnately I did hear that some people had bed bugs and the lady on reception was ruse and moody.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuuk, Greenland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Worst place on our trip through Vietnam so far! Even taking our camp nights in hammocs in consideration.

This place have the worst unfriendly, degrading staff! And they have bed bugs in their rooms!
When confronted with the bed bug problem they wouldnt even talk to us. The staff switched to vietnamese and wouldnt acknowledge us at all, they wouldnt even refer us to the manager. Just kept laughing at us, talking in vietnamese. Good thing we know who it was already. Be the manager was also a rude d..., no help at all. Ended up with us checking out.

Dont stay here. Unless you dont care about bed bugs and being treated poorly!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DigerTheTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nha Trang hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I was there with my friends, they have dorm room and private room as well. I booked private rooms, It worths for that price. Breakfast was also good which was include in the room rent. They also have a club jsut next and they provide a complimentry free drink. It's good to sit and enjoy drink. They also provide daily tour and othe bus booking services.If you want to look for a cheap and good place.it worths ..:)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank himanshu_rajput
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Ended up staying here as a last resort as we were traveling during the holiday period and had been let down by 2 guest houses that we'd already booked. The room itself was pretty clean and the bed was actually comfortable but I can't find anything else positive to say! The windows didn't close properly and our room overlooked the courtyard of the hostel where the music blared til the early hours. This wasn't too much of a problem as we were out partying ourselves but on the first night we were woken by people arriving back at 5am to play the guitar and sing songs right outside our room. The private room was decidedly unprivate with a frosted glass door and a communal balcony right outside the windows. Same for the shared bathroom - frosted glass door again and when we first arrived there was no door handle so it didn't even close never mind lock! We had to hold the door closed for each other. We complained and they said they would replace the handle, which to their credit was done the following morning. However, I can't say many good things about the staff - pretty rude in general and unhelpful. I showed them my bus ticket and asked where we should go to get the bus - he just showed the address and when I asked where it was he seemed very put out, pulling a map and drawing a line from the hostel to the road where the bus went from. We'd rented scooters from our friends guest house across the road (True Friends Guest House) and when I happened to show her the ticket she called the company, confirmed our booking and gave us directions - what a difference!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margarita81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mui Ne, Vietnam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Arrived at the room at about 8 pm after a long bus journey, the place seemed lively and the staff were friendly enough and helped us up stairs with our bags which was nice. We were put into a double room which amounted to about $25 a night and wasn't very good for what we got. The shower was a joke, only a trickle came out and we couldn't wash properly, the bed was rock hard and that combined with the ridiculously loud music coming from downstairs meant we hardly slept. Wi fi never worked and nobody came to empty our bins, this would have been acceptable for a room at half the price but for $25 a night you expect better.

Wouldn't recommend this hotel unless you're just wanting a dive to crash in for the night, plenty nicer rooms out there for same price!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 448Calum86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nha Trang hotels
0.1 mi away
Son and Daughter Guesthouse
Son and Daughter Guesthouse
#97 of 295 in Nha Trang
55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Backpack Abode
Backpack Abode
#21 of 295 in Nha Trang
20 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sen Vang Guest House
Sen Vang Guest House
#72 of 295 in Nha Trang
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Duy Phuoc Hotel Nha Trang
Duy Phuoc Hotel Nha Trang
#86 of 295 in Nha Trang
24 reviews
0.1 mi away
Reunion Hostel
Reunion Hostel
#12 of 181 in Nha Trang
168 reviews
0.2 mi away
Backpack Hostel
Backpack Hostel
#5 of 181 in Nha Trang
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers House Nha Trang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers House Nha Trang

Property: Backpackers House Nha Trang
Address: 54G Nguyen Thien Thuat Str | Tan Lap Ward, Nha Trang, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Khanh Hoa Province > Nha Trang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 181 Specialty Lodging in Nha Trang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backpacker's Nha Trang is located 400 metres from Nha Trang Beach and is in the heart local nightlife. Bicycle rentals, Motor bikes and all your tour needs are offered along with WIFI throughout. We have a bar and a BBQ going seven days a week so its a great place to start your night! Fitted with bunk beds, each dormitory room offers air conditioning and private bathroom! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Backpackers House Nha Trang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpackers House Hotel Nha Trang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing