We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for singles and under 30's”

Backpackers House Nha Trang
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Backpackers House Nha Trang
Ranked #100 of 215 Specialty Lodging in Nha Trang
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Pillow slips were mouldy but were changed upon request. Breakfast was included in the price and more than adequate. Bottled water was included in the breakfast but unless you requested it they didnt give it to you. Location was excellent, close to the beach, close to the bars and restaurants. Noisy venue as it is aimed at the under 30 international party crowd. No lift, so lugging the bags up four flights of stairs was difficult in the narrow stairwell. Fridge and TV/DVD powerpoint were suspect, so we had a warm fridge for a couple of days until it was fixed.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TopLeaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 127 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2011

Booked and confirmed a double room over the phone 2 days before arriving - they said they would hold the room until 10am. When we arrived (6:30am) we were told they had given away the booking! The reason; they called us to 'reconfirm' the booking - again! Of course we were in the air by then so no phones. The guy behind the counter dealt with us with a sort of 'why are you bothering me' attitude. A lady did offer us a room at another hotel, obviously at a much higher rate, oh, or 1 bed in a female only form - perfect for couples!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank peteacrosschina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Stayed here after reading great reviews about the hostel, however was the worst place we stayed in for the entire trip in Vietnam. We booked into a dorm room and came back the first night to find our beds had been taken by people who were booked in even thought there was no space for them and we had to sleep on the floor and payed 7$ for the pleasure. This turned out to be the better option as the next night when we actually had a bed we were eaten alive by bed bugs! Also has the rudest staff i have ever encountered in all my travels.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kitravel70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

The reviews made my expectations far too high. Our room was a tiny dark shoebox, and the 'free wifi' didn't work at all. My travel buddy happened to be Vietnamese, and all the staff got a huge kick out of it, but the owner and most of the male staff made her feel very uncomfortable by constantly flirting with her. The breakfast is half decent, which was the only thing that made the price worth it.. Otherwise, you can do so much better at that price - there's plenty of cheap guesthouses nearby!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

The hostel is located near the beach, and pretty walkable to most of the main attractions or main recommended restaurants in TA. Some of the staffs can be quite rude and lacking in EQ. The receptionist in the evening is far more friendlier than the one in the morning. During our stay, there were people singing karaoke in the next building late at night. That was really disturbing and we didn't manage to sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Airveee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Arrived late due to the fact that all the proper hotels where booked full.

A bunch of drunk english people woke the whole building up. The receptionist and 24/7 security didn't do a damn about it. My complaints weren't heared the next morning. Instead I was showed the breakfast table. The breakfast fast undernourishing, bad coffee and as cheap as possible. This joint is all about making money. Walk across the street you pay 30% of the price for a proper beer. Vietnamese staff do their best, it's the company's policy that needs some revision.

SERIOUSLY consider staying in another hotel. I payed 8 USD for a proper clean and silent room earlier. IF you split it with a travel buddy it's 4 usd each.

Room Tip: Stay in another hotel and consider sharing a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AleksBnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

I don't take negative reviews lightly, but in the case of Backpacker's House in Nha Trang a terrible rating is deserved. Not a hostel, more like a run down hotel. Very rude staff. Unfortunately, the rudest people we've met in two months of traveling through Asia. Rats rummaging through the trash outside. Next to a loud bar that pumps the base until about 1AM. Hard, springy mattress with stained sheets. They will not return your passports until checkout, which would be fine if the staff inspired even a modicum of confidence.

Room Tip: Stay at the Son & Daughter next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nosearg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nha Trang hotels
0.1 mi away
LeSimoLe Boutique Apartments
LeSimoLe Boutique Apartments
#5 of 215 in Nha Trang
189 reviews
7.1 mi away
Mia Resort Nha Trang
Mia Resort Nha Trang
#1 of 215 in Nha Trang
1,373 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ngoc Hong Hotel
Ngoc Hong Hotel
#59 of 215 in Nha Trang
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Green World Hotel Nha Trang
Green World Hotel Nha Trang
#13 of 215 in Nha Trang
743 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pavillon Garden Hotel & Spa
Pavillon Garden Hotel & Spa
#192 of 315 in Nha Trang
74 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hoang Hai (Golden Sea) Hotel
Hoang Hai (Golden Sea) Hotel
#37 of 215 in Nha Trang
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers House Nha Trang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers House Nha Trang

Address: 54G Nguyen Thien Thuat Str | Tan Lap Ward, Nha Trang, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Khanh Hoa Province > Nha Trang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 215 Specialty Lodging in Nha Trang
Price Range: $4 - $6 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Backpackers House Nha Trang 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backpacker's Nha Trang is located 400 metres from Nha Trang Beach and is in the heart local nightlife. Bicycle rentals, Motor bikes and all your tour needs are offered along with WIFI throughout. We have a bar and a BBQ going seven days a week so its a great place to start your night! Fitted with bunk beds, each dormitory room offers air conditioning and private bathroom! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Backpackers House Nha Trang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpackers House Hotel Nha Trang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing