We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings on this resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Diamond Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #26 of 204 Hotels in Nha Trang
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings on this resort!”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Although this resort is beautiful and very relaxing, there are a lot of negatives that we (a group of 13 people (staying in 5 separate rooms)) experienced during our stay.

1. The resort focuses very heavily on their Russian vacationers. We got the feeling that unless we were Russian, we were not looked after as well as they were. All the signs are Russian, the hotel staff speak Russian (barely any english) and at one stage, there was a Russian staff member taking breakfast tickets off us and speaking to us in Russian. It was very frustrating as the hotel should be catering for ALL people visiting.
2. Hot water lasts for approx 2 minutes so make sure you take a QUICK shower and forget using the massive bath as you're going to freeze. One of our groups used the kettle to continuously boil enough water to fill their tub. Pretty ridiculous for a resort like this.
3. Make sure you're not starving when ordering any type of food from the resort. A bottle of water takes about 15 minutes to come to you if your order it. Forget the food, you'll be a heap of bones by the time the waiter comes back with your order. Also, ordering is a nightmare, I waited over 20 minutes to be attended to after pressing the waiter button while sitting by the pool.
4. If you forget your breakfast voucher, hopefully your room is not too far away. 2 of the people in our group had the wrong dates on their tickets and had to walk to the other end of the resort to get their ticket as the woman at the breakfast desk refused to check on the system or call her supervisor when asked by our group. Pretty funny how they were so particular about the ticket system when on one morning there was no one collecting the tickets anyway...
The next morning, the resort manager was standing near the breakfast front desk and the woman was very helpful and ushered us to our table (we never got this service any other day).
5. Rooms are very bare and bathroom smells like mold.
6. There is an old redundant section of the resort. We noticed it while on the shuttle to the beach. It looks scary as the grass is over grown, there is no one around and generally the whole area is untidy and an eye-sore. Either rip this stuff down or put up screens. No body wants to see this.
7. There are only 2 people at the egg station cooking and the line every morning was approx 10 people......and that's not including the people pushing in.
8. The resort is about a 25 minute drive to Nha Trang center but it passes by the 100 Egg Mud Path so it takes longer and no body gets off the bus on most occasions so the trip to the mud baths is a waste of time.They should probably have a separate bus for those wanting to go to the mud baths instead of wasting everyone elses time.
9. Don't waste your time with the dinner buffet or any other of the resort restaurants....they're expensive and the food isn't anything special....forget the waiting time...that's another issue...see point 3.
...I think that pretty much covers it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lovesensation24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    184
    76
    45
    36
See reviews for
187
254
18
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

my family - group of 12 stayed there recently for 7 night. We found that the resort was mostly occupied by rude pushy russians and serviced by russian speaking slow unwelcoming staff. being an international resort we thought that at least someone will speak english,but most did not understand world of english but spoke fluent russian. all menus, activities etc were in russian. very annoying.....
The shower would run out of hot water, there coffee/tea making facilities were poor, buffet dinner had very poor variety of food.
arriving at the resort no one informed us about the facilities or the resort beach (that we had to take shuttle to). if wasnt for few other guests that spoke english we would not know about it.
Breakfast time was an experience too. appart from constantly asking for new cutlery or the table to ne cleared, we had to bring a breakfast voucher with a specific date. once 3 out of 5 rooms that we occupied brought voucher with wrong dates on them. the staff refused to contact the reception to confirm our breakfast allowance and made us go back to our rooms, which was good 800 metres for the correct voucher. after complaining to the manager, nothing been done, no appologies or even a complementary fruit basket.
I have travelled around the world and stayed in many 4 or 5 star resorts with different nationality as guests but never in my travels have experienced so many rude "dont care" staff as at that resort who cant speak world of english.
To collect the complementary pool towel a whole line of questions we had to fill, then upon return we had to find our name in the book ( could be a lot of pages) and sighn out.
forget about pool service. waiting for a food or just a can of drink - 45 min. I have complainded once that my chips were stone cold, i was told that is a long way from the kitchen....really?
As I said previously...beautuful resort but Aussies - find another place to go unless u want to be stuck with damn rude people @$340 per night per room.

Room Tip: We had beach front villa, ask for villas near the spa or closer to pool. Not near reception as u wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Marta D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
1 review
Reviewed December 13, 2013

we stay there for 2 nights, the resort very beautiful, staff very friendly, but one thing need to be fix soon,when it rains the water will be come inside the bathtub looked very unfavorable,in the resort have a private pool but can not swimming because many coral and mud,the Anger beach very comfortable but when we want there for sunbathes we have too way for the tuck tuck

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ngo a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

This is a relatively new golf course,i think 18 holes have only been open about a year! But it has enormous potential. Played here a few times in Sept ...The course was in good condition,greens,tee beds, and fairways were great considering how old the course is! Caddies were a little shy but I'm sure with the Caddy Training Manager Sal's expert Tuition they will only get better! The club manager had a drink with us after each days play which was a nice touch . Only negative I can find is some of the bunkers are poorly designed,being Very steep and unplayable when up against the bunker walls ! Apart from this I can recommend a visit for a very enjoyable game.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Wodney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

we stayed there for 3 nights and it's definitively a great hotel to escape from the bustling city.
in fact there is a large majority of Russians. however we experienced them as friendly people. shuttle buses to the city take 15-20 min. drinks and food at the hotel are decent.
great hotel in total which we warmly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank phantom880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
126 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We do not understand some of the other negative reviews here. We are a group of 8 kiwis who stayed at Hanoi, Hoi An, Ho Chi Minh, and here at Nha Trang, and we all agree that Diamond Bay was the best hotel we stayed at. We were welcomed at the beautiful hotel lobby with cold drinks, and within 10 minutes he had room keys, breakfast vouchers etc, and golf buggys to take us and our bags to our rooms. We stayed in Superior Garden View Rooms, and these were great. Not much of a view ( only tree -tops ), but they were a good size, with balcony, good comfortable beds, good shower, safe, mini bar with surprisingly cheap drinks and snacks, free bottled water. Room service was good, everytime we returned from the pool or beach the rooms were spotless. Yes there are a lot of Russians at this resort, but they were all friendly, courteous and most had a good sense of humour. We didn't bother with the free shuttles to town, since taxis were cheap and plentiful right at the lobby. So we could get to town for less than NZ$5.00 each at times that suited us.The pool was great, heaps of loungers / umbrellas and plenty of room, my only complaint was that it had a bit too much chlorine, which stung our eyes. To avoid this, we spent most days at the great beach right alongside the pool and restaurants. The beach setting is beautiful, in a gorgeous tree-lined bay with heaps of loungers and umbrellas under the trees. Free kayaks are provided, and the water was warm - no waves. It is only in the late afternoons when the tide is out that the water gets too shallow for swimming, but then you can always return to the pool, of catch a ride to the next resort along the beach. The breakfast buffet was very good, huge selection of fruit, cereals, toast breads, spreads, fruit juices, eggs any style, pancakes, yoghurts, noodle dishes, bacon etc etc. The evening meals at the restaurants were a little expensive. We stayed for "Hawaian Night" one evening, but this was a little disappointing, since only approx 20 - 30 guests stayed for this. The Fire Dancers were brilliant, but it seems that most guests have figured out that meals are cheaper in Nha Trang Central. Sure prices are cheaper in town, but prices at Diamond bay are still reasonable eg Cocktails VND81,000, San Miguel Beer VND36,000, Pork Ribs Meal VND250,000, Oven Roasted Chicken VND150,000, Beef Burger with Fries VND240,000. We found the service good, and the staff all helpful and friendly. But the best thing about this resort is the pool and beach - so peaceful and quiet, it is great to get away from the crazy traffic, the thousands of scooters all tooting frantically - i would rather stay at the beautiful peaceful Diamond Bay anytime - it feels like you are staying on your own little island miles away from anywhere. And all of the crazy traffic, shops, cafes etc are only a 5 minute taxi ride away - best of both worlds ! Highly recommended and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. We arrived at 12.30pm and were told we had to wait till 2pm for our room as they had let the previous guests stay longer. The pool is great, it is large and plenty of sun loungers. The man made beach is pleasant and there are kayaks for free use. As others have said the restaurants and bars when open are very expensive. We used the free shuttle a couple of times but it was like a scrum trying to get on it as all the Russian guests barged they way on, shoving past you without a thought. Breakfast was a buffet with plenty of variety. The signs around the hotel were in Vietnamese and Russian and the tour desk had tours in Russian. All that is fine if you only want Russians but the hotel is marketed at any one. The room was a good size, clean with a balcony. The free fruit was a bowl of limes which we never ate! The worst thing that happened was the hotel forgot to give us our early morning wake up call and we nearly missed our flight. This was also hindered by a slow check out and having to wait for our passports to be given back. The resort is about 15mins from the centre and we used taxi s to avoid the scrum on our last day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank No1in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nha Trang hotels
5.1 mi away
Diamond Bay Hotel
Diamond Bay Hotel
#70 of 204 in Nha Trang
55 reviews
3.2 mi away
MerPerle Hon Tam Resort
MerPerle Hon Tam Resort
#30 of 204 in Nha Trang
363 reviews
5.3 mi away
Sunrise Nha Trang Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Sheraton Nha Trang Hotel and Spa
4.9 mi away
InterContinental Nha Trang
InterContinental Nha Trang
#2 of 204 in Nha Trang
921 reviews
4.4 mi away
Novotel Nha Trang
Novotel Nha Trang
#10 of 204 in Nha Trang
1,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Bay Resort & Spa

Property: Diamond Bay Resort & Spa
Address: Nguyen Tat Thanh Blvd, Phuoc Ha | Phuoc Dong, Nha Trang 1000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Khanh Hoa Province > Nha Trang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Nha Trang
#8 Business Hotel in Nha Trang
#14 Family Hotel in Nha Trang
#14 Romantic Hotel in Nha Trang
#22 Spa Hotel in Nha Trang
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Nha Trang
#23 Luxury Hotel in Nha Trang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Diamond Bay Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gorgeous oceanfront property with two private beaches, located in the heart of South Central Vietnam, Diamond Bay Resort & Golf is merging world-class Resort and Spa facilities with warm Vietnamese hospitality. An astonishing, airy, tranquil and tropical vacation destination with 342 beautifully appointed hotel rooms, suites and bungalows equipped with modern facilities located only 15 minutes drive from city center, makes Diamond Bay Resort & Golf a wonderful choice for the selective traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Diamond Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Bay Resort & Golf Hotel Nha Trang
Diamond Bay Resort And Golf
Diamond Bay Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing