We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thanh Lich Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Thanh Lich Hotel
Ranked #32 of 123 Hotels in Hue
London
Level Contributor
106 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Much beloved of tour groups there must be better hotels in which to stay in Hue. The hotel itself is fine, clean rooms, good value and free wi-fi but the location is poor. It is not particularly near any of the sites or the bar and restaurant area so it seems more sensible to stay in one of the many hotels in Hue which have a better location.

Room Tip: The shop next to the hotel is amazing! It will provide anything you need, even if they don't sto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AnonLondon23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khanh N, Director of Sales at Thanh Lich Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2015
Dear AnonLondon23,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us at Thanh Lich hotel and for having taken some of your valuable time to compose a review on TRIPADVISOR.COM. We always appreciate information from our guests since it is indeed through such comments help us to properly improve our products and services and be able to meet the expectation of our guests.

On the other hands, we sincerely apologize for all the inconvenience may have caused you and your family. Your kind constructive comment are well received and are being giving due attention on how we can serve you and the rest of our guests better. I would like to re-assure you that this was not the typical standard of service that we usually known for.

It was indeed a great pleasure having you as our guest and we hope you will be giving us the other opportunity to serve you again at which time we will put our extra effort to delight you and show you the best of our hospitality.

Best wishes,
Nhat Khanh (Mr.)
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    88
    36
    3
    2
See reviews for
41
88
16
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Our family of four stayed here for 2 nights as part of an Intrepid Tour. We had 2 rooms that were adjoining. Only one of the rooms had a window. Room size was good, so having no window hasn't a problem, but it hard to get the body clock to know if it is night or day.

Breakfast was included and there was a good selection for a continental breakfast. There were a few selections of local and western hot selections.

Staff were friendly and helpful. We hadn't have any dramas during our stay.

There didn't seem to be a lot a choice of restaurants around the hotel, but nothing seemed to be more than a 15-20 minute walk away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Colin2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le K, Manager at Thanh Lich Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2015
Dear Colin2109,

Thank you very much for sharing your Thanh Lich hotel experience. We are pleased to learn that you had a great time while staying with us.
We hope to welcome you back for more memorable experiences.

Kind regards,
Le Truong Nhat Khanh (Mr.)
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

We very much enjoyed staying at the Thanh Lich. The staff are very helpful, the rooms are lovely (notwithstanding hard beds and pillows), the breakfast is tasty and varied, and there is free internet access in the lobby (though you have to stand up to use it). There's even a tiny swimming pool and a few pieces of gym equipment on the top floor! It's not the absolute best location in Hue for sights, restaurants, bars, etc, but it's not too bad - the centre of town is just not that big, so you can walk to the main concentration of eating and shopping places in about 15 minutes.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jopycroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khanh N, Manager at Thanh Lich Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2015
Dear Our loved Guest,

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback and sharing your experience with us at THANH LICH HOTEL.

Your kind words will be passed on to our entire team, this will certainly motivate them and other colleagues to keep up their good work.

We are happy that our hotel and staff met all your needs during your stay. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for every day.

We hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you back THANH LICH HOTEL in the nearest of future.

Kind regards,
Nhat Khanh (Mr.)
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kokshetau, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2010

After an overnight train from Hanoi sharing a 4 bed compartment (First class!) with two families and a monk with a sore throat it was great to arrive at the hotel to be welcomed with a drink and a cold flannel.
The room was massive (you could play badminton in it!), a huge bed and a nice bathroom. The only downside was a very small window that overlooked air conditioners outside so the light had to be on all the time.
There was a very good selection for breakfast and the staff were very attentive. We did not try the swimming pool on the top floor as the water did not look very inviting.
As other posts say it is quite a walk to the main part of town and the river but we got a taxi to restaurants and bars which was quite cheap.
There are several good restaurants near to the hotel too so there is no need to travel too far. Next door to the hotel is a shop/cafe/tour centre which is excellent. They provide lunches and snacks and even packed /breakfasts if you have an early start. The tour they arranged to the ruins at My Son was very good, we would recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank richev7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2010

We arrived early in the morning after the night train trip from Hanoi and were blown away by the great choice for breakfast and the lovely garden terrace. The hotel is a couple of blocks away from the main town, but has plenty of shops nearby. There is a small, but adequate, pool (though watch the slippery steps getting in). Staff were very friendly. I left postcards for mailing and they arrived in Australia with different stamps to the ones I had put on. The staff must have realised they were wrong and changed them!

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank martinb8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le K, Manager at Thanh Lich Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2015
Dear Martinb8,

Thank you very much for sharing your Thanh Lich hotel experience. We are pleased to learn that you had a great time while staying with us.
We hope to welcome you back for more memorable experiences.

Kind regards,
Le Truong Nhat Khanh (Mr.)
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2010

We traveled throughout Vietnam for 3 weeks. We stayed mostly in budget / moderate hotels paying between $25 - $35 a night.

We had just come from a 2 star hotel in Hanoi and a really crappy 1 star hotel in Hoi An. We were bracing ourselves for another just okay hotel in Hue. When we arrived, we were pleasantly surprised. The host greeted us right away with towels and welcomes drinks. We really needed this welcome after an awful local bus ride for 5 1/2 hours from Hoi An to Hue.

We received a room with a king size bed, tv, and modern bathroom. This is the first hotel that had its own western style bathroom. A real bathroom with tub and shower and sink with counter. The hotel has recently been remodeled and it really is 3 stars...based on Vietnam standards this could actually be 4 stars. Everything looked NEW.

Definitely not budget hotel in terms of amenities. The price is in the budget / moderate range...totally worth it for $35 a night. I think the actual rate for this room is only $30 since we overpaid $5...the tour company took a piece of it.

Breakfast - The best food we had in our trip was in Hue. The food is wonderful and flavorful in this region. Thanh Lich puts out an amazing breakfast spread. Bun Bo Hue soup, Baguette, Pastries, Coffe, Juice, Fruit, Cheese, Ham, and many many other little Vietnamese dishes. Hue is known for having mini finger foods. Thanh Lich showcased this in their breakfast. In addition, the breakfast eating area has outside seating on top. Just beautiful garden setting....very peaceful....perfect place to start the day and relax with coffee.

I HIGHLY RECOMMEND. See my pictures. In the budget/moderate category, this is the nicest hotel we stayed and best breakfast in our 3 weeks. We wish all in this categor were as nice as Thanh Lich Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Easwud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khanh N, Manager at Thanh Lich Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2015
Dear Our valued Guest,

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback and sharing your experience with us at THANH LICH HOTEL.

Your kind words will be passed on to our entire team, this will certainly motivate them and other colleagues to keep up their good work.

We are happy that our hotel and staff met all your needs during your stay. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for every day.

We hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you back THANH LICH HOTEL in the nearest of future.

Kind regards,
Nhat Khanh (Mr.)
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2009

Good value, nice buffet breakfast and clean rooms, with a nice little rooftop bar. My group of 35 stayed here for four days. The whole hotel is very clean, and the staff have a friendly attitude. Our room at the top of the stairs was a bit noisy,but nothing to lose sleep over.
The guy who runs the little shop/restaurant outside the hotel is very nice, and will organise bikes, do laundry, and make tasty food for you. Several people in the group went on a motorbike tour he organised, and said it was the greatest.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank PinkyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hue hotels
0.9 mi away
Thanh Lich 2 Hotel
Thanh Lich 2 Hotel
#29 of 123 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alba Spa Hotel
Alba Spa Hotel
#20 of 123 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.7 mi away
Moonlight Hotel Hue
Moonlight Hotel Hue
#21 of 123 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Saigon Morin
Hotel Saigon Morin
#23 of 123 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alba Hotel
Alba Hotel
#44 of 123 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hong Thien Hotel 1
Hong Thien Hotel 1
#25 of 123 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thanh Lich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thanh Lich Hotel

Property: Thanh Lich Hotel
Address: 33 Hai Ba Trung, Vinh Ninh Ward, Hue 530000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 123 Hotels in Hue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thanh Lich Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Thanh Lich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing