We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ngoc Huong Hotel Hue”
Review of Ngoc Huong Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ngoc Huong Hotel
Ranked #92 of 125 Hotels in Hue
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed February 6, 2009

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 47 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2009

Although it looks alright from the outside, the bed was damp, the bath/shower was crap, the breakfast room was horrible and it was very noisy. Not even that cheap.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willowdcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2009

Cannot recommend this hotel, too pricey (~40USD for a double room), smelly room, ugly old carpet, cold water at times

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DesaparecidoAqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2008

Similar to the later review in March 2008 posted on tripadvisor the hotel is undergoing a major refurbishment which does not get mentioned when you book.

We stayed for 3 nights during febraury 2008 and found the rooms dirty, cold (yes cold!) and they appear to have a problem with penetrating damp on the exterior walls. We asked to change rooms and to be fair they promptly offered 5 others and offered a heater for any of the rooms i.e. we were obviously not the first or the only people that were unhappy.

The other 5 rooms were all the same with clear evidence of water ingress, cold and uncleanliness.

In addition to this the hotel front is missing so a noise issue early (6am) in the morning does exist and will continue to do so until the work ends (concrete reinforcements were only just going in so I estimate at least 4 months).

We have been travelling Vietnam intensively for weeks and this was by far the worst hotel for the money. In addition the internet services offered were two very poor pc's in the lobby that we were told were not working and yet the staff were clearly using them internet work.

A final point was the unfriendliness of the staff particularly when we asked to check out 1 hour late. We were told that this was not possible and we had to leave as the hotel was booked (and yet we were offered 5 other rooms the previous night and the hotel was like a ghost town).

We complained to the manager who failed to even acknowledge our issues.

Considering the extensive number of hotels this is not one to dwell on until they improve.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank nuchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2008

The only redeeming feature of this hotel was the breakfast which was suprisingly good.
Half way down a really seedy alley way,the hotel is undergoing a major re-furbishment so that on each landing the only thing between you and the elements is some hardboard &/or rolled up carpet.
Everything in the bedroom looked old and slightly grubby including sheets,pillow cases,towels etc.Stained old carpet.
One of our group said they saw a rat in the foyer-and I don't think they were joking.
Not one I would recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brownbear250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2006

I had a terrible experience at this hotel. The photos on the internet were misleading. I thought it would be a fairly nice hotel - the photos looked nice and they charged $40 per night (this usually gets you a good hotel in Vietnam). My wife and I checked in, went to the room, and found it so dirty that we couldn't stay there. In all fairness, they offered to upgrade us, but my wife was so grossed out by the dirty bathroom, bed sheets, and fridge that we decided to go to the Saigon Morin instead. That was a good choice - a very nice hotel. Asia rooms.com never did refund our money or offer any compensation, but we don't regret switching hotels.

If you don't want a dirty towel for a bath mat, stained carpet, dirty sheets complete with hairs, and a fridge with hairs in it DON'T STAY AT THIS HOTEL.

  • Stayed: August 2004, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
29  Thank ericandnoriko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2015, traveled with friends
2  Thank Hai Diep D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hue hotels
3.3 mi away
Pilgrimage Village
Pilgrimage Village
#13 of 125 in Hue
2,142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hue Serene Palace Hotel
0.7 mi away
Indochine Palace
Indochine Palace
#10 of 125 in Hue
1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Jade Hotel
Jade Hotel
#11 of 125 in Hue
2,306 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hue Serene Shining Hotel
1.2 mi away
La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngoc Huong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngoc Huong Hotel

Address: 8-10 Chu Van An, Phu Hoi, Hue City, Hue, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 125 Hotels in Hue
Price Range: $26 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ngoc Huong Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Hue city, Ngoc Huong Hotel has 71 airy rooms that are well equipped with every facility you will need, and free Wi-Fi access. Most of the rooms have balconies or windows from which you can enjoy great views of the mysterious Perfume (Huong) River and the poetic city. A most interesting experience in Ngoc Huong can be enjoyed during a tranquil morning in the 7th-floor restaurant. From this floor, you can breathe in fresh air while admiring the splendid panorama of the Perfume River, Con Hen and Ngu Binh Mountain. You can chat over a cup of coffee with friends or taste the various kinds of Hue and Vietnamese food, tropical fruits, and some European dishes as well. Ngoc Huong is also a wonderful place to discover the attractions of the Huong River at night when the colorful lights of Trang Tien Bridge can be appreciated. You can also bathe in the outdoor swimming pool on the 8th floor and you may also like to sunbathe. From here you can, as well, take great photos of the beautiful, harmonious surroundings of the river and the mountains. Stay with us to feel you are no longer alone in an exotic and remote country because we are always by your side, at any time, on demand. We will do our best to do everything for you: no matter who you are, where you are from, we, the Ngoc Huong Hotel staff, become your friends. With our help and hospitality you will love this beautiful city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Ngoc Huong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing