We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for a visit to Hue”
Review of ORCHID HOTEL

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ORCHID HOTEL
Ranked #7 of 125 Hotels in Hue
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We visited Hue in November 2013 and made a last minute booking at the Orchid, not really knowing much about it. It turned out to be a very good choice. The touristic area of Hue isn't very big, so just about any hotel on the south side of the Perfume River will do, but the Orchid was in the dead center of the action. There were plenty of restaurant choices within a few blocks, ranging from pricey ones targeting well-off tourists to backpacker haunts to simple but always delicious locals' favorites (in our experience, the Vietnamese local joints are always the best choices). To the extent that Hue has a nightlife, the most popular bars are on the street paralleling Orchid's location. The Citadel is within extended walking distance, but given the low cost of local taxis you might as well ride over there in style. In short, the hotel's location is spot on.

What really pleased us was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. Anyone visiting Vietnam quickly realizes that the level of service at hotels throughout the country is superb, far superior to the disinterested and borderline hostile behavior of many hotel staff in North America or Europe. You get spoiled quickly in Vietnam, so it takes some especially good service to make a special impression. We had that at the Orchid. One area that really stood out was the included breakfast service. The staff made sure our meals were delightful, and their sunny disposition made the small dining room a joy to visit each morning. We especially enjoyed the charming company of Thuy, a young woman who ran the breakfast service. Thuy made the absolute best Bun Bo Hue we tried anywhere in the country, and I couldn't wait to go downstairs and order another bowl, I'd probably book this hotel again specifically for the chance to have some more of Thuy's Bun Bo Hue.

This was a birthday trip for my wife so I splurged and got the "Honeymoon Suite", which was a measly US$ 15 more a night than a regular room. The staff was a little perplexed when we arrived since we don't look like young kids who have just eloped (we're around 60 years old) but it was fun for us. The large room is really Austin Powers shagadelic, with purple paint, a giant circular bed (no, it doesn't rotate, unfortunately), and a Jacuzzi bath that was one of the few I've ever seen that's really large enough for two people. You can tell that the room was built back in the 1980s or 1990s and could use with a touch up, but it slowly grew on us. The mini-bar fridge, in-room computer and good wi-fi, and the in-room safe were nice touches. Hints: (1) make sure you know where the switch for the hot water heater is and (2) run the spa jets with water once and then drain and refill the tub for the cleanest water.

We'll be back the next time we're in Hue.

Nick in Palm Springs

Room Tip: The Honeymoon Suite is worth the extra bucks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hategoingtowork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,475)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

670 - 676 of 2,475 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2013

I booked this hotel based on tripadvisor reviews and did not get disapointed! Hotel itself is ok, nice bed, nice bathroom, okayesh WiFi. But the staff is what makes this hotel amazing. Guys working there are so kind and polite. They took me as a guest and made this place a home for me after a long train ride. Book this, you will not be dissapointed

Room Tip: Uo,up, up. So you wil not hear sounds coming from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobalTraveller81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

This is small middle class hotel at a quiet location at the south side of town, where most tourist hotels can be found. The distance to the Citadel and the Purple City is about half an hour by foot but most tourists join a group and get collected from their hotels. The staff was friendly and very helpful. We were received with a welcome drink, while later they brought us a small basket with fresh fruit to our room. We were given the "romantic room" on the top floor (7th) which, we believe, distinguished itself from the other rooms by having a jacuzzi. Breakfast was simple but offered sufficient choice.
---

Room Tip: The romantic room with the jacuzzi in the bathroom may be attractive of some but its odd shape restr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GerardPost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We got upgraded to a family room, no extra charged, and that room was emazing, the absolut best room we had!
The breakfast is ok.
The staff is very nice and helpfull.
We rent a scooter of the hotell and went to the tombs, the trafic there are not so crowded.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

On arriving at the hotel, the lovely young porter 'Nam', rushed to help us with our bags. We were then immediately invited to sit down and enjoy a drink. The lovely receptionist then took us through everything necessary and we were then shown our room, where Nam had taken our bags. All really impressive.

The room was pretty tight in terms of having anywhere to have your suitcase out but it was well appointed, with a nice large window, and a good bathroom & shower. Being high up and towards the back, it was also quiet.

Our air conditioning was leaking considerably but as soon as we advised them, someone was up to fix it. No complaints whatsoever.

The hotel has a nice system whereby you choose DVDs from reception to watch in the room.

It's a nice fairly quiet but busy part of Hue with easy access to restaurants and shops. We particularly enjoyed the food at Hot Tuna.

Breakfast was included with a choice of local or Western food.

Large umbrellas were provided for guest use.

Would recommend it. Thank you to Nam and the reception staff who are a real credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SalsaChickNik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

The Orchid is conveniently located on a quiet street within a short walk of some nice restaurants. Our room and the hotel's public spaces were comfortable, clean and well designed. The decor's a bit dated but it's hard to imagine better value. The staff helped us customize a tour of the 3 principle tombs in the countryside as well as find taxis to drive us to less frequented locations and wait while we toured them. Since most of Hue's most important historic sites are not within easy walking distance, I can't overstate the importance of having a staff that can deliver such personal assistance.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendell D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed at the Orchid Hotel after checking reviews in Lonely Planet and Trip Advisor and I am very happy to say that the hotel lived up to our expectations and more. The staff were amazing and made our stay so much more enjoyable. We were upgraded upon arrival as we'd sent our request through too late for the king size bed we wanted in the deluxe room. We were given a family room for the same price with a balcony & view. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Hue. The breakfast was plentiful and fresh. We were even given a bottle of water for our departing bus trip. We just couldn't get over how friendly the staff were.

Room Tip: We had the family room which had a king size bed and a single bed, a balcony, TV with cable, and com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hue hotels
0.1 mi away
Hue Serene Palace Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel la Perle - Hue
0.6 mi away
Indochine Palace
Indochine Palace
#10 of 125 in Hue
1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Moonlight Hotel Hue
0.4 mi away
Jade Hotel
Jade Hotel
#11 of 125 in Hue
2,306 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hue Serene Shining Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ORCHID HOTEL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ORCHID HOTEL

Address: 30A Chu Van An, Hue 47000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hue
#3 Family Hotel in Hue
Price Range: $27 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ORCHID HOTEL 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orchid Hotel Hue is a popular choice amongst travelers in Hue, whether exploring or just passing through. Each guestroom is elegantly furnished and equipped with handy amenities. The hotel offers various recreational opportunities. Orchid Hotel Hue combines warm hospitality with a lovely ambiance to make your stay in Hue unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your ORCHID HOTEL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Hotel Hotel Hue
Orchid Hotel Hue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing