We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Hotel OK, but did not deliver 5-star. Spa was a deadful experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #19 of 113 Hotels in Hue
Certificate of Excellence
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hotel OK, but did not deliver 5-star. Spa was a deadful experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We spent three nights here.

They boast of being the first 5-star hotel in Hue. That may be true but what we experienced is not quite on that par. We had booked (and pre-paid) a river view room. We were given a city-view room looking over unfinished construction. Just after check-in we went up to the roof for a drink and to take in the views. When my husband saw the spectacular view of the river from the rooftop he said, "I can't believe we paid for this type of view and were given a city view". He used the bar's phone to have a talk with the hotel about our room. They agreed to move us and did give us a riverview room. The rooms are OK, amenities OK, but it just felt aesthetic somehow. There was no clock in the room, which we found odd. Pillows were hard as rocks adn so thick we just slept without them.

After a long and very hot day we were craving a dip in the pool. It was closed during our stay, for cleaning. It must have been really dirty to take that many days to clean. We chose this hotel because we wanted a pool, and for the location in the city. We did get 50% of that.

We had lunch at Moc restaurant. It was really pricey for what we could have gotten elsewhere but we were hot and weary, so we took the easy route. The food was mediocre at best. We have had excellent street food in Vietnam that puts this to shame.

The spa...Our second day there we each booked a full body massage. they put a hard sell on us to have the VIP "first class" treatment over the "economy", handing us a brochure that indicated we would get a steam and private pool in the room, a much larger room. The economy was just a room. We took the bait. I was taken into a double room with a jacuzzi that had been drained and and shower and steam room that I was not given access to. I only received a massage; no steam or pool. Afterward the girl stood and watched me dress(!!), before handing me a bottle of water and escorting me out. My husband was very happy with his massage although he did not get the VIP part either. He said he wanted to book the same again for the next day. I was not going to do another, but decided I would book the head massage that had looked wonderful in the advertisement. We tried to talk to them about the "first class" part but they didn't respond, just gathered around giggling and acting like they did not understand us. We did get charged for the more expensive treatment. My husband is such a nice guy he said we would let it ride because it was too hard to be understood. Red flag - that I did not heed.
We returned the next day for our second treatment, mine to be a 40-minute head and scalp massage. We stressed we did not want "VIP/First Class" - just the regular treatment. The receptionist nodded and then stuck us both into the same room I had been in the previous day. My husband did get the same girl and happily settled in for his full body massage. I had someone else, not the gal I had requested. Why didn't I listen to my instincts and just cancel???
What I got was a back massage for about 30 minutes - literally, the girl massaged my back, kidneys and buttocks round and round until I thought my skin would come off. And to add insult to injury, she had something really sharp and scratchy on the palm of her hand that felt like a hangnail that scratched the heck out of my skin. I couldn't enjoy it for wondering when she would get to my head and stop tearing up my back. When I tried to communicate this to her she ignored me as though she didn't understand anything I was saying. She finally asked me to turn over. She then proceeded to smash her thumbs into my eyes. I moaned and jerked because I could literally feel and hear something crunching under the skin around the bones of my lower eyes. I flailed my hands and she giggled! I was nearly in tears when she finally addressed my head. She parted my hair, then started yanking it from the roots near my part. She did this about three times and then announced, "OK, finished!" I said, "That's it?" she stood aside, grabbed my robe, draped it around me and swept her hand aside as though indicating me to get up and get dressed. This girl also watched me dress, set a bottle of water on the table and walked out. I was so dumbfounded that I walked out toward the reception desk which was surrounded by giggling attendants. When I approached, one of the girls said, your husband can sign when he finishes". I started to say something but was literally on the verge of tears. I was furious more with myself mostly because I do not cry easily but my lip was trembling so that I decided there was nothing I could really do or say. They would just act as though they didn't understand me. When I told my husband about it later we decided it would do no good to say anything to teh hotel, because the spa is apparently provided by some Swiss company. I am writing it here though so that someone else does not have to go through this if this gets read. The next morning (today actually) we hasd to get up very early for our ride to the train station. I awoke with an excruciating headache and back ache. I have been taking ibuprofen all day for the pain. I hope this is temporary.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barbjgladney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial H, Director of Sales at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Barbjgladney,

Completely agree with you that we are the first 5 star hotel in Hue city and we cannot deny that our price is much better than others, so when you booked a city view room, you did get the best price! We was very happy when we had one river view room which we offered you as a solution in your case with free of charge.

About swimming pool, monthly we take just a day to clean and re-open at 8p.m to bring the best quality for our guest, we are so sorry if you feel bothersome about that!

With reference to your feedback that you were experiencing a problem from our hotel staff service and the the pillows, we sincerely apologize and please rest assured that remedial action has already been taken to ensure that there wouldn’t be a recurrence of this nature.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Imperial Hue and look forward eagerly to welcoming you The Imperial Hue on your next visit.

Best regards from Imperial Hotel Hue,

Hoai Nguyen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    318
    79
    29
    8
See reviews for
161
489
73
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Level Contributor
71 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night as part of a tour of Vietnam. It was a great hotel with excellent service.
Our large room had a double aspect and whilst it was classed as a city view you could also see the perfume river. It was our wedding anniversary and when we returned to the hotel later that night they had left a personalised cake .

We had dinner at a near by local restaurant but did have breakfast in the hotel, where there was a great selection of continental, western and Vietnamese food. All areas of the hotel are well decorated and maintained. We did have drinks in the roof top terrace, and whilst they weren’t cheap they were worth it for the view across the perfume river & the service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mm29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial H, Director of Sales at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear mm29,

Thank you most kindly for your review of our property and your stay with us.

We are extremely pleased that we were able to make your special stay one to remember and that your expectations about our service and amenities were met.

Trusting that you will be able to return in the future and experience more of our Vietnamese hospitality, we remain with

And once again, happy your wedding anniversary!!!

Best regards,

Hoai Nguyen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southport
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in early March and only have great things to say about the hotel.

We arrived late in the evening to friendly staff and a drink of tea and were swiftly taken up to our lovely corner room on the 14th floor (1418). The room was very clean and the largest we had our whole trip to Vietnam. The decorations were dark wood, the huge bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was lovely with good toiletries. The view from our two massive windows was great, overlooking the river and the city/citadel.

The service at breakfast was good and the choice of food was excellent. We also really enjoyed spending time in the Panoramic Bar and found Binh Thind & San to be a credit to the hotel, so genuine and friendly.

We would 100% recommend this hotel and should we come back to Hue we would stay here again.

Room Tip: room 1418 had great views over the river city and citadel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juzzap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial H, Director of Sales at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear juzzap,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.

It is our aim to always exceed our guest's expectations and we are very delighted to know that San, Binh, Thinh and other staff have made your stay a very pleasant one to remember.

The comments have been shared with all of them and that you have been satisfied is our reward!

We hope to be able to welcoming you in the near future and remain,

with best regards from Imperial Hotel Hue,

Hoai Nguyen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
539 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The lobby is spectacular -- employees attired in traditional dress. The service is impeccable. The rooms are dark wood with lots of carvings--lovely. The roof-top bar is a nice place for a late night drink. Really not much to walk to as a tourist, but there's a beautiful pool.

Room Tip: overlooking the pool rather than the street is probably a good idea
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suburban-countess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial H, Director of Sales at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you very much for your very complimentary feedback posted on trip advisor.

We are indeed, very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and trust that you will continue to come back again to the Imperial Hotel Hue.

Your comments have been shared with all our associates and they were very pleased to know that their efforts have been duly appreciated and recognized.

Best regards,

Hoai Nguyen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

we arrived here on our honeymoon as part of an organised tour and our tour manager mentioned we were just married and the hotel had fresh flowers, fruit and a cake decorated with happy honeymoon piped onit delivered to our room. the hotel is very much a five star and so for the best hotel we have stayed in in Vietnam

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mazzy20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial H, Director of Sales at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear mazzy20,

Thank you very much for posting your most positive response about our services, facilities and staff on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to read that your stay with us was memorable and enjoyable, so that you keep excellent memories from Imperial Hotel Hue.

We hope to welcome you in the near future to show you even more of our Vietnamese hospitality.

Happy honneymoon Once again!

Best regards,

Hoai Nguyen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

The staff, room and rooftop restaurant were all fabulous. Would stay again!
The only thing missing was the "swim up bar."
The staff was very helpful with transportation and private tours. Reasonably priced and very professional staff

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lnsfavorite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial H, Director of Sales at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear lnsfavorite,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor.

We are grateful to receive such remarkable comments on the services provided to you during your stay, wonderful and positive remarks about the staff, facilities and services.

Rest assured that your feedback will inspire us to continue to give the best experience to all our guests.

We look forward to the opportunity of serving you again in the near future.

Best regards from Imperial Hotel Hue!

Hoai Nguyen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

after a couple of tiresome day we arrived at The Imperial and got the Royal welcome. The location is perfect, one block off the main drag but tall enough that the view was spectacular. The Logbby is majestic, to say the least. As we were checking in we were served tea and before we even were checked in our bags were whisked away to our rooms. The room was on th 12th floor on the corner, giving us a wide panoramic view of the River, The Citadel and the city below. The bathrooms are very modern and well appointed with all the necessities, and then some. the room is showing a tiny bit of wear but the bed was wonderful in crisp white linens. The room is the first we have had that is bright enough with all the natural light from the huge windows on two sides. The a/c was more than enough. We went to the rooftop bar and really enjoyed our drinks and food and especially the service. San was our server and kept us entertained as we asked question after question and he tried his best to answer us in English. Many laughs and drinks later we went to our room and slept well.
Breakfast buffet was included and incredible! the fruit was so fresh and abundant. The eggs were cooked to order and delicious. the breakfast entrees changed every day and we were never dissappointed.
The service at this hotel was better than some 5 star we have stayed at. The conceirge Kim (I think) was so delightful. She arranged a wonderful trip for the men and the ladies slept in, relaxed and went to the lovely pool. The next day she arranged for us to have a driver to take us to each of the sights and wait for us. It was $20.00 for 4.
As were drove away the concierge and the bellmen and some other staff waved goodbye and they all looked so sad.

So, for our $100 US per night we were well fed, well cared for and treated like royalty. I have stayed at other places in Hue and this is the best value for your money.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank travelswithmimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial H, Director of Sales at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear travelswithmimi,

Thank you most kindly for your review of our property and your stay with us.

We are extremely pleased that we were able to make your special stay one to remember and that your expectations about our service and amenities were met.

Trusting that you will be able to return in the future and experience more of our Vietnamese hospitality, we remain with

best regards from Imperial Hotel Hue!

Hoai Nguyen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hue hotels
0.9 mi away
La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 mi away
Eldora Hotel
Eldora Hotel
#11 of 113 in Hue
4.5 of 5 stars 686 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Saigon Morin
Hotel Saigon Morin
#20 of 113 in Hue
4.5 of 5 stars 1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Indochine Palace
Indochine Palace
#10 of 113 in Hue
4.5 of 5 stars 1,043 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hue Serene Shining Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hue Serene Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: 8 Hung Vuong Boulevard, Hue, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hue
#8 Family Hotel in Hue
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hue
#10 Spa Hotel in Hue
#16 Romantic Hotel in Hue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Imperial Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hue, the ancient capital of the Nguyen Dynasty, is the junction where northern and southern ecosystems meet. Hue boasts charming rivers, verdant hills, ancient pagodas and churches, and a rich history. Hue remains a must-see destination when visiting Vietnam, not only because of its cultural values and history, but also for its beautiful landscape and people. The majestic 16-floor Imperial Hotel Hue is nestled along the famous Perfume River, conveniently close to all the historical sites this UNESCO World Cultural Heritage city has to offer. Imperial Hotel’s well-appointed rooms and suites come beautifully furnished with classic wooden floors and panoramic river and city views. The extensive hotel facilities comprise of the Prince Club Casino, Royal Spa, Yoshihara Restaurant, Imperial Restaurant, Piano Bar and Cafe, Panorama Bar, four state-of-the-art meeting rooms, and much more. Come and explore the best Hue has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Hue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing