We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old School Elegance in Hue”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #25 of 122 Hotels in Hue
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Imperial for 2 nights in Nov. It wasn't our first choice, we struggled to get somewhere in Hue and in our late twenties definitely felt this hotel is suited to older guests. It is very nice though and was fantastic value.

It has a fantastic location, overlooking the Perfume river (we had a great view as we were pretty high up). It was 5 min walk from the start of the tourist area was great as it was a little crazy down there!

Room was very large as was the bathroom. The breakfast had all the usual Asian/Western buffet breakfast food with lots of choice.

They offer tours and we arranged a car to Hoi An through them as it was the same price as the local tour operators.

Staff were very friendly and helpful, rooms were kept spotless and cleaned twice a day.

The spa is on the ground floor (swimming pool on the third), this is not great planning but apart from that it's a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lainey86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial H, Director of Sales at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear Lainey86,

Thank you very much for the excellent review that you have posted.

It was a great pleasure having you with us during your stay in Hue city.

The entire team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Imperial Hotel Hue.

Best regards,

Hoai Nguyen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

591 - 597 of 1,150 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. Firstly the plus points. The room was large and comfortable. We were on the 11th floor and had a magnificent view along the perfumed river. It is perfectly located close to the river and several good restaurants and bars.
On the downside; we only had breakfast . the range of food was limited compared to other hotels we stayed in during our holiday and the service was not great. We were provided with coffee and then left the table to go to the self service bar. On our return our coffee had been cleared away and another couple had been shown to our table. Nobody seemed to be in charge of the restaurant staff and as result service was a little chaotic.

When we arrived the foyer had been cordoned off and set out for a function. When we went to the bar the staff were far more intent in servicing the function guests than helping the other hotel guests

Room Tip: Get a high enough room to have a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1Spicegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial H, Director of Sales at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear 1Spicegirl,

We would like to thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor.

It is our sincere intention that our guests enjoy all aspects of their visit at Imperial hotel Hue.

We were very happy when you used our service and we are so apologize for the dissatisfaction caused, we wish to anticipate your needs on your next visit with an assurance of our best services at all times.

Best regards,

Hoai Nguyen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

The hotel is landmark of Hue city, located on center of Hue city. Top of the top is the good bar,we could enoy panorama view. The room is little bite narrow,however, if you choose a room face on Huong Rever, you can see whole of this city.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Jannis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed here for just one night doing a quick visit to the Imperial City of Hue, the cultural and historical centre of Vietnam. We found the staff extremely helpful and friendly, and the room very comfortable. We would stay here again if we were to return. When we checked in we were even given a couple of coupons for free draughts at the bar, and ended up staying there with friends for the night after dinner in town. Really an enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank conifers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial H, Director of Sales at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear conifers,

Thank you for your complimentary review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at Imperial Hotel Hue.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature and it is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts.

We look forward to seeing you again soon for another enjoyable and quality stay with us.

Best regards from Imperial Hotel Hue!

Hoai Nguyen - Director of sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

When we first arrived at Imperial Hotel, Hue, I was so excited. Such a beautiful building, such a glorious city. Unfortunately, the only staff members who were nice to us were the housekeeping staff! I do understand that hours worked are long and pay probably isn't great, I just felt disappointed as throughout my time in Vietnam, I've made friends at every hotel.
We went for a drink on the rooftop bar, which had the most stunning view of the Perfume River, but the staff were too busy elsewhere to offer a drink or even clear the table of the previous occupant's glass - we were the solitary customers. We ordered our meal from room service on our first night of occupancy and that was dismal, as was breakfast, especially considering the quality we went on to find in Hue.
Nevertheless, we were very comfortable and LOVED the city. The Imperial could be a great hotel, if only the management would motivate their staff to care.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial H, Director of Sales at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear Koally1978,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your most valuable comments about your stay at Imperial Hotel Hue on Trip Advisor.


An unforeseen circumstance and internal miss communication has led to this unfortunate incident you are describing and I do sincerely apologize for it.


I have already worked with the concerned departments and I do hope that there will be an opportunity to show you the Imperial Way at a later point.


Best regards to you and your partner during your stay in beautiful Vietnam!
Director of Sales,
Hoai Nguyen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This is a massive hotel which is very clean, very ordered, and has very big rooms. Ridiculously big almost. It is quiet at night and a good place to stay overnight in transit. Part of being big though, it lacks character and soul a little. The strange thing about the decor was a mix of modern and ostentatious floral couches and curtains that didn't really go together. The other strange thing is that the shower and toilet are in cubicles behind frosted doors, but part of the lounge room. So if one is sharinga room with a friend or relative, it is hard to have a shower,step out of the shower and get dried in modesty! The buffet breakfast was plentiful and fresh. Good gym/fitness facilities.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank intrepid_pixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial H, Director of Sales at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear intrepid_pixie,

Thank you very much for having taken a moment of your valuable time to write a review regarding your experience at Imperial Hotel Hue.

We are grateful to receive such remarkable comments on the services provided to you during your stay and also apologize for the inconvenience that you met in the bathroom. Rest assured that your feedback will inspire us to continue to give the better experience to all our guests.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Best regards,

Hoai Nguyen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

The Imperial was Hue's first Five Star hotel and still feels very much like a high class hotel even if it has been around a while. The quality of the finish, substantial doors and furniture, all reflect the class of the hotel. At the time we visited, in January, the hotel seemed a little empty especially at breakfast time when we sometimes felt we were the only people around in the cavernous restaurant. But this was fine because we were probably given more attention than might have been the case otherwise. We had some noise issues with renovations taking place above us but we were very quickly moved and upgraded to a splendid junior suite with all round views and that made a big difference. The location is good, the staff were very professional and understanding, and altogether this was a hotel I would certainly recommend, especially at the price. Very good views from the bar at the top of the hotel too.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RhysapIslwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial H, Director of Sales at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear RhysapIslwyn,

Thank you very much for having taken a moment of your valuable time to write a review regarding your excellent experience at Imperial Hotel Hue.

On behalf of the entire staff I would like to thank you very much for providing your wonderful comments. Our biggest reward and motivation is, that we have made your stay a pleasant one to remember.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Best regards,
Hoai Nguyen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hue hotels
0.5 mi away
Indochine Palace
Indochine Palace
#9 of 122 in Hue
1,340 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Saigon Morin
Hotel Saigon Morin
#23 of 122 in Hue
1,539 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Midtown Hotel Hue
Midtown Hotel Hue
#26 of 122 in Hue
377 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eldora Hotel
Eldora Hotel
#13 of 122 in Hue
957 reviews
0.3 mi away
Moonlight Hotel Hue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Address: 08 Hung Vuong Boulevard, Hue 530000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hue
#7 Family Hotel in Hue
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hue
#12 Spa Hotel in Hue
#15 Romantic Hotel in Hue
Price Range: $87 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Imperial Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hue, the ancient capital of the Nguyen Dynasty, is the junction where northern and southern ecosystems meet. Hue boasts charming rivers, verdant hills, ancient pagodas and churches, and a rich history. Hue remains a must-see destination when visiting Vietnam, not only because of its cultural values and history, but also for its beautiful landscape and people. The majestic 16-floor Imperial Hotel Hue is nestled along the famous Perfume River, conveniently close to all the historical sites that this UNESCO World Cultural Heritage city has to offer. Imperial Hotel’s well-appointed rooms and suites come beautifully furnished with classic wooden floors and panoramic river and city views. The extensive hotel facilities comprise of the Hub Beer lounge and Restaurant, the OV Club Casino, Royal Spa, Yoshihara Restaurant, Imperial Restaurant, King's Panorama Rooftop Lounge at 16th Floor, Starlight Lounge - Highest Restaurant in town, four state-of-the-art meeting rooms, and much more. Come and explore the best of Hue has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Hue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing