We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa
Ranked #10 of 122 Hotels in Hue
Certificate of Excellence
Uk
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic”
Reviewed May 27, 2007

We had 2 wonderful nights at La Residence. The hotel was beautiful, the staff excellent and breakfasts fantastic. We booked a boat tour , bikes and a train journey through the hotels tour desk; the guy there was really helpful. The pool was fabulous,and overlooked the perfume river. We would definitely recommend it to anybody looking for a bit of luxury and relaxation

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank bruisyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,648
    439
    74
    22
    6
See reviews for
331
1,302
99
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2007

After a noisy Hanoi and very bad experience with Sofitel Metropole hotel we arrived to "Residence and Spa".
This was a very nice surprise: lovely and colonial style decoration, very good bed and pillows! Just perfect for a good rest!
Even if it was raining outside we decided to stay 2 more nights in this very comfortable hotel.
Food is delicious and the "chef" from "Sofitel Metropole" could follow some classes from "The chef" of "Residence"!
Reception was very helpful, Internet club fully equipied and fast.
Spa was not very much of Spa as they don't really know what they are doing.
However just on bad point: the service in restaurant, they are just all the time around you and expecting the money. Doesn't give you a chance to eat delicious romantique dinner in peace.

Helpful?
1 Thank Tyrell66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2007

La Residence is amazing!!
We stayed in the suite at the top in the main building and it is the nicest set of rooms I have ever stayed in! The balconies alone were bigger than the ground floor of our house!
Beautifully decorated, every convenience thought of, supremely comfortable bed!
Incredible gourmet breakfasts and very reasonably priced evening meals served by the river.
And what a setting! Right by the Perfume river. A lovely and huge pool with a peaceful sunning area around it right next to this romantically named river.
A beautiful, luxurious haven. The only problem is that you end up not wanting to sight-see because you just want to stay by the pool or in the hotel!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank AsiaLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, UK
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2007

Situated on the river and a short walk from town, this hotel was a former French Governor’s residence in the 1930’s. It is now a stylish hotel, sympathetically restored and extended in Art Deco style and piped music to match. The whole place is immaculately clean, and the staff are friendly but inobtrusive. There is a large swimming pool in beautifully maintained gardens overlooking the Perfume River, opposite the Citadel. The breakfasts and dinners were excellent, however a traditional Vietnamese drip coffee was lacking. There are computers available to guests any time. You must book ahead and it is usually full of tour groups.
I would definitely recommend this hotel for its location and ambience – one of the best in Vietnam.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank 2Turners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2007

Beautiful hotel. Full of character as used to be French Governers residence. The room was lovely and had really good quality toiletries. We only stayed here 1 night but wished it had been longer. The tour manager told us that if we only ate in one hotel restaurant during our tour to make it this one as it was so good. He was completely right. The service was impeccable and the meal was absolutely fantastic. The chef who was German even came out later on to speak to guests to ask what they thought of the food. We couldn't fault it or the service. The restaurant is called Hemisphere. the pool area was also very good even though we just had one afternoon to enjoy it and some of the tour had spa treatments which they were full of praise for. All in all we had a brilliant stay.

  • Liked — Restaurant and free internet access
  • Disliked — Nothing i disliked
  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2007

Just returned from Vietnam...stayed in this beautiful hotel for 2 nights...wish it had been longer. We had a room on top floor (only 3 floors) overlooking the pool and river. Large balcony to sit on and watch the daily activities on the river. The room was excellent , bed extremely comfortable. Dining in the restaurant was one of the best dining experiences I have had in a long time. The staff at this hotel were the nicest we came across in Vietnam very helpful . The manager was present at breakfast and dinner always checking that guest were happy. Lovely pool, snack bar . The hotel travel desk organised a tour for us on perfume river by boat - 2-3hrs and the private car back with more sightseeing. All for US$60 for 3 of us...excellent value. Would only stay at this hotel if in Hue again.

  • Liked — Excellent dining, staff. room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ausloz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2007

Simply a beautiful hotel. We booked a riverside room which I would reccomend as the views are amazing. The main building is the old governors house and very art deco. There are 2 new wings that contain the majority of the bedrooms and these have been done in a similar fashion.
The pool area is beautiful - right on the banks of the Perfume River and overlooking the Citadel. Staff are attentive and delightful.
Not in the main drag of Hue but just a short cyclo ride which is a lovely way to end an evening eating in the local restaurants.
I first went to Hue 15 years ago and this hotel just makes the place extra special.
We got a fantastic rate through a Hanoi travel agent ($110 all in) which is great compared to the rack rate of $250!

  • Liked — the views
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hue
1.2 mi away
Indochine Palace
Indochine Palace
#9 of 122 in Hue
1,291 reviews
21.8 mi away
Vedana Lagoon Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Saigon Morin
Hotel Saigon Morin
#23 of 122 in Hue
1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#25 of 122 in Hue
1,121 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hue Serene Palace Hotel
1.4 mi away
Hotel la Perle - Hue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa

Property: La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa
Address: 5 Le Loi Street, Vinh Ninh Ward, Hue, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hue
#2 Family Hotel in Hue
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hue
#4 Spa Hotel in Hue
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time to Art Deco's golden age with a stay at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa. Nestled along the fabled Perfume River and overlooking the imposing Imperial Citadel - once home to Emperors and now preserved as a UNESCO World Heritage Site - La Residence is a one-of-a-kind masterpiece. Endowed with opulence and warmth, this former residence of the French "Resident Superieur" has been painstakingly restored and refashioned into an enchanting luxury boutique hotel with 122 guestrooms and suites, which offer visitors the chance to relive the pleasures of a bygone era. Food is a passion at Le Parfum Restaurant. Visitors will delight in a fusion menu of Vietnam and Europe's very best culinary traditions. Allow yourself to be swept away with the signature cocktails "La Residence Monsieur and La Residence Madame" in the cozy ambiance of Le Gouverneur Bar. Indulge yourself in our award-winning Spa and relax by the large saltwater swimming pool overlooking the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence Hue Hotel Hue
La Residence Hue Hotel And Spa
La Residence Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing