We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sophisticated hotel with great service and facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa
Ranked #10 of 122 Hotels in Hue
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sophisticated hotel with great service and facilities”
Reviewed August 12, 2010

La Residence is a first class hotel. The hotel has been restored and expanded in a wonderful art deco style - the attention to detail is very impressive. The garden is lovely, the pool area is very relaxing and even though there was some maintenance work going on whilst we were there, they were very careful to be discreet and not impact on the residents. The breakfasts are fantastic with a great variety of high quality food on offer. We also ate in the restaurant on two occasions choosing the vietnamese menu and we all enjoyed our food very much. As a treat we had the chocolate souffle for dessert which I highly recommend. Staff were friendly, warm and highly accommodating. As an added bonus there was free WiFi in the rooms which we find very helpful whilst travelling.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillspill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,654
    439
    74
    22
    6
See reviews for
333
1,303
100
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2010

This hotel is absolutely the best place to stay in Hue. After a day of touring the sights it offers a respite from the heat and humidity of the city. It is an oasis of cool and calm. The rooms are lovely, bathrooms spacious and the breakfast is spectacular.
Our guide in Hue was a lovely woman named Le Thi Minh Tam from Indochina Services. She and her company did everything possible to make our stay pleasurable, informative and fun. I highly recommend this hotel and this tour company for your next trip.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellerQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2010

I'm finding it difficult to judge this place. I was only there for one night and the place was not busy. It was about 40 degrees celsius (somewhere around 100 degrees F) and there was almost no air conditioning in the corridors or places like to foyer (rooms were fine). Electricity issues due to the heat? Saving money because they weren't busy? I'll never know. The place is, however, beautiful. Art deco - including the furniture and fittings. Someone with great taste has styled the interior. Huge pool with very attentive staff. Free internet and use of computers. Nice view of the river and the huge flag on the other side. Bar - drinks and snacks were good. Gym - SO hot!!! At least they had one - the equipment was OK and it has a view of all of the town. We ate in the hotel restaurant for dinner and were amazed at how wonderful the food was. Divine little bread wafers, lovely risotto and fab desserts. French wine was so cheap in Vietnam, so we had a great night. The light fittings, furniture and tiled floor all in keeping with the art deco theme - really pretty. Breakfast was a really good buffet in the same restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kriselda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2010

Had a view over the river with a great size balcony. Out of all the places we went to Vietnam we probably enjoyed Hue the most. The hotel helped, it has the biggest swimming pool I have seen in a hotel which is right next to the river. Staff were great and assisted in everything we needed. Room was a great size and had everything you would expect. There was a nice bar to relax in and had free internet access. Breakfast had a great variety and would certainly cater for everyone. Only had 2 nights and wish we had longer.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhooseboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiburon, CA
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 533 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2010

La Residence is a beautifully restored and expanded 1930 French deco mansion turned first rate hotel on the south bank (new town) of the Perfume River.

Our large river view room enjoyed a sitting area and a semi-private outside terrace. Less modern notes were an old style tv and hard to adjust hot and cold taps in the otherwise lovely stall shower. The bathroom could use more lighting by the mirror, and a latch on the fussy deco doors. The much-appreciated free internet access is wireless in rooms and there are lots of terminals in the library.

The breakfast provides ample variety and consistently delicious selections in a compact space, and features fresh-made crepes.

The main drawback is the location, at the opposite end of town from most restaurants and Hue's limited tourist shopping. It's a half hour walk, or a dollar fifty cab ride. If that's no obstacle then La Residence is a good choice.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toolworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2010

I recently had a short stay at this hotel with some colleagues. We did not get to fully enjoy all of the facitlities as we were out all day however it provided a wonderful respite at the end of the day. We all loved the art deco style - really quite unique for the area.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spideyHoChiMinh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2010

We stayed at La Residence because we were able to get a great deal on our rooms during an Accor sale. We paid US$55 for our rooms including breakfast for 2. When you get a bargain room rate like that you get the rooms at the back with a view of the parking lot! They were still very nice with comfortable beds, beautiful bathrooms and great air conditioning!
Breakfast was excellent and we were up early enough most mornings to be able to enjoy an outdoor table looking towards the river before it got too hot. I found the selection of fruit to be good, the Hue specialities wonderful and the egg station made some great omelettes! Some of the ready made hot dishes were a bit unusual for breakfast but there were so many choices there was always something nice to eat.
The pool was fabulous. Although it was quite hot in Hue while we were there (38 to 40 C) the pool was still cool and refreshing.
The hotel is a beautiful Art Deco building. The staff are all well trained, speak excellent English and are eager to help.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarleyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hue
1.2 mi away
Indochine Palace
Indochine Palace
#9 of 122 in Hue
1,297 reviews
21.8 mi away
Vedana Lagoon Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Saigon Morin
Hotel Saigon Morin
#24 of 122 in Hue
1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#25 of 122 in Hue
1,124 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hue Serene Palace Hotel
1.4 mi away
Hotel la Perle - Hue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa

Property: La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa
Address: 5 Le Loi Street, Vinh Ninh Ward, Hue, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hue
#2 Business Hotel in Hue
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hue
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hue
#4 Spa Hotel in Hue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time to Art Deco's golden age with a stay at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa. Nestled along the fabled Perfume River and overlooking the imposing Imperial Citadel - once home to Emperors and now preserved as a UNESCO World Heritage Site - La Residence is a one-of-a-kind masterpiece. Endowed with opulence and warmth, this former residence of the French "Resident Superieur" has been painstakingly restored and refashioned into an enchanting luxury boutique hotel with 122 guestrooms and suites, which offer visitors the chance to relive the pleasures of a bygone era. Food is a passion at Le Parfum Restaurant. Visitors will delight in a fusion menu of Vietnam and Europe's very best culinary traditions. Allow yourself to be swept away with the signature cocktails "La Residence Monsieur and La Residence Madame" in the cozy ambiance of Le Gouverneur Bar. Indulge yourself in our award-winning Spa and relax by the large saltwater swimming pool overlooking the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence Hue Hotel Hue
La Residence Hue Hotel And Spa
La Residence Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing