We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good position”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 123 Hotels in Hue
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2010

My wife and I stayed at La Residence whilst we were on a ‘Cox & Kings’ tailor made tour of Vietnam and Cambodia, we booked the tour through ‘The Cruise Line’. The local ground agents were ‘Trails of Indochina’. Apart from the long haul Thai Airways flights being forty minutes late on the outbound and one hour late on the return everything ran like clockwork and was very well organized.
We stayed 2 nights in a Deluxe Riverview Room and had a very good view of the Citadel which is just across the river from the hotel. We thought the design of the balcony of our room was rather strange as you could walk from one balcony to the next as it was a sort of open plan arrangement.
The food in the restaurant at dinner was good but the breakfast let the hotel down badly, the so called hot food was more or less at room temperature.
We did not find the chairs in the lounge area very comfortable and the temperature in the business centre could be described as rather hot. The staff were welcoming and cheerful, but might have benefited by a little more training. Checkout took twenty minutes.
If we were in Hue again we would probably stay here again because overall the hotel was of a reasonable standard and could just be described as a 4 star.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The-Typical-Tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,642 - 1,648 of 2,268 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2010

This was meant to be the highlight of our Vietnam trip, instead it was the biggest disappointment. We found one helpful staff member during our three day stay. The others, particularly the European staff were extremely arrogant. The prices of the services were more than I would pay in my own city, which is one of the most expensive in the world. The food was average, and it wasn't within working distance of the main centre, this meant dealing with the very persistent cyclo drivers outside the door.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank viewfromsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2010

This is an extraordinarily beautiful hotel. If you have any interest in architecture or interior design, you will love staying here. The service is friendly, and our room has glorious views of the Perfume River.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldtravels2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2010

Situated on the iver, across the citadel, this hotel was a great place to stay. The rooms are spacious, very clean and modern. The grounds are beautiful. Our room overlooked the grounds and the river. The breakfast buffet was elaborate and served on the terrace which overlooked the river. Dinner buffet offered a lot of different dishes. The town offers amazing sights into old Vietnam.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RuthyNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2010

This hotel is definately one of the best hotels in Hue, situated three minutes from teh train station was a pleasant surprise for us as we had decided to take the train to Da Nang (ask for the left side of the train if you do this)

from the hotel you can see the citadel on the otherside of the perfume river, if returning i would definatley pay a little more to get a river view as the room that we had overlooked some adjoining houses.

Staff were friendly and efficient and would stay here again if returning to Hue

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2010

La Redience is an immaculately refurbished hotel. It is beautifully decorated with art deco furniture and lightings. The floor tiles are superbly laid out. The hotel is grand with good amenities. The grounds are not very large but it was very pleasant to walk in the garden.
Staff are well mannered and efficient, but perhaps lacked warmth. Breakfast spread is very good and the food generally good quality.
The rooms are good sized, here again with connecting doors. We paid a little more for the the river views and it is well worth it beause we could stand out in the large balcony to see the sun set.
It was a pity we could stay one night which didnt give us enough time to try the spa and fitness centre.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aromas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2010

We only stayed 1 night. The room was nice, but the bed was lumpy and uncomfortable. The breakfast was the usual mixture of vietnamese, chinese and western. They did let some fruit plates go completely empty for awhile before they refilled them.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ylc25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hue hotels
1.2 mi away
Indochine Palace
Indochine Palace
#9 of 123 in Hue
1,374 reviews
0.9 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#24 of 123 in Hue
1,167 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Saigon Morin
Hotel Saigon Morin
#22 of 123 in Hue
1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hue Serene Palace Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel la Perle - Hue
1.2 mi away
Moonlight Hotel Hue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa

Address: 5 Le Loi Street, Vinh Ninh Ward, Hue, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hue
#2 Business Hotel in Hue
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hue
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hue
#5 Spa Hotel in Hue
Price Range: $172 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time to Art Deco's golden age with a stay at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa. Nestled along the fabled Perfume River and overlooking the imposing Imperial Citadel - once home to Emperors and now preserved as a UNESCO World Heritage Site - La Residence is a one-of-a-kind masterpiece. Endowed with opulence and warmth, this former residence of the French "Resident Superieur" has been painstakingly restored and refashioned into an enchanting luxury boutique hotel with 122 guestrooms and suites, which offer visitors the chance to relive the pleasures of a bygone era. Food is a passion at Le Parfum Restaurant. Visitors will delight in a fusion menu of Vietnam and Europe's very best culinary traditions. Allow yourself to be swept away with the signature cocktails "La Residence Monsieur and La Residence Madame" in the cozy ambiance of Le Gouverneur Bar. Indulge yourself in our award-winning Spa and relax by the large saltwater swimming pool overlooking the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence Hue Hotel Hue
La Residence Hue Hotel And Spa
La Residence Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing