We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Art Deco hotel in good location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #8 of 123 Hotels in Hue
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Art Deco hotel in good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

We stayed 2 nights in this lovely hotel, ex French Governors residence. Staff were very helpful, beds very comfortable, nice clean room and nice outdoor pool area. Restaurant was excellent, pricey for Vietnam but highly recommended, you would pay at least 80% more for food of this quality in UK if you are lucky to find it! Breakfast offered a good choice including freshly cooked eggs, overall a really enjoyable place to stay that I highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1957kiddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceManager, Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear 1957kiddo,
Thank you very much for choosing La Residence Hotel & Spa as your accommodation whilst visiting the Ancient City of Hue, and also for posting your comments on Trip Advisor.
It was a great satisfaction for our team to see that we are “very helpful” and we have “nice clean room”. I also noticed you have enjoyed your experience at our restaurant.
Thanks once again for recommending our hotel, and we do hope to have a chance to welcome you back one day.
Kind regards,
Sergio Arias
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,073 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,559
    416
    72
    22
    4
See reviews for
315
1,223
93
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

I found this hotel to have bottled the WOW factor for me and that does not come easy. From the moment we arrived to being farewelled by there Guest Relations Manager, who by the way doubles as a swimming instructor for the staff in the eary hours of the morning, memories of our stay will linger for some time to come. Yes eating there appears a little expensive but I think this is only being compared to eating at side walk cafe's in the surrounding side streets which are cheaper but am sure they would not match the hygeine standards at La Residence. I would feel comfortable having a steak there knowing I'm not eating the family pet.

Great place, love it, will be back sooner than later.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be great. We had a pool view room which was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Weewock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceManager, Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Weewock,
Thank you very much staying at La Residence Hotel & Spa during your recent trip to Central Vietnam.
We know how hard it is to impress the experienced travellers, and it was a great honour for us to receive such a great “WOW” compliments. The whole team, especially Mr Ian Ó Broin, our Guest Relations Manager, is thrilled to learn about the great “memories” of your trip.
Many thanks for taking the time to write this post, and we do hope to have a chance to welcome you back to our historical address.
Kind regards,
Sergio Arias
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at la residence as it was recommended. Fabulous building and well maintained. The rooms are very nice and breakfast is ok, not the best in Vietnam. The room service and restaurant prices are outrageous for Vietnam which is a shame because we ate elsewhere. It is well located and a short taxi ride to the main bar and restaurant area.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceManager, Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Lisa J,
Many thanks for staying with us during your recent trip to Central Vietnam and also for sharing your experience with us.
It is great to see we have a “fabulous and well maintained building” with “very nice rooms”. It also came to my attention your comments about our prices. Rest assured our team takes every guest’s comments seriously. However, as we only use the very best international and local products, from reliable suppliers, our prices are in line with other international 5 star hotels that also follow strict quality control practices and local labour legislation.
Thanks once again, and we do hope to have a chance to serve you again in a near future.
Kind regards,
Sergio Arias
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
202 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

The service provided here was excellent! The young man who greeted us on arrival went out of his way while we were there to assist with taxis, purchases, restaurants, contacting friends...most impressed..wish I remembered his name! Our room was beautiful, a view to the river & beyond & breakfast was the best we had in Vietnam!! The gardens & the pool area are all beautiful! Definitely return to Hue & La Residence!

Room Tip: A view to the river on the 3rd floor above the restaurant with a lovely large balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lollygobbleblissbom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Part of the French Accor Group like the Sofitel Metropole in Hanoi, the centre of this hotel is a lovely art deco building that was originally the French Governor’s residence. We had a deluxe river view room (number 315?) with a large balcony overlooking the Perfume River (which is surprisingly wide given it is quite short).
The room was lovely, with some nice deco touches, a comfortable sitting area and decent bathroom.
The dining room was a spacious deco room and the breakfast buffet extensive – one could sit inside or out. Service was as usual excellent and very friendly.
We ate out for dinner on both nights so cannot comment on the food in the evening although there is only one restaurant – the bar does snacks as well. The bar is in the lobby, part of the original art deco building. There is a very large outdoor pool with many loungers – it is very attractive although it is popular so finding one free is not necessarily easy.

Room Tip: River view is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nka5355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceManager, Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Nka5355,
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at La Residence Hotel & Spa whilst visiting the Ancient City of Hue.
We are very proud of our historic property and elated to see that you’ve enjoyed your stay with us. Although most of us work and live here for a number of years, the majestic Perfume River continues to captivate all of us with its calmness and natural splendour. Many thanks also for pointing out our “excellent and very friendly” service.
If you ever find yourself around Central Vietnam again, we would be delighted to welcome you back to our historic address.
Kind regards,
Sergio Arias
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

What a memorable experience. Regrettably we had organised one night stay only during our two weeks in Vietnam. This hotel was by far the best. The hotel is beautifully decorated to maintain the original deco character. Our room was superb.

AND the highlight of our two week trip to Vietnam was dinner in the hotels restaurant - Le Parfum. This was one of the highest quality meals we have experienced in many, many years - the food was outstanding in quality, flavour, use of culinary techniques and presentation - outstanding and a definite for any foodies who would like to indulge. Just imagine:

Starter:
Green Mango Salad with Lemon & Soya Dressing

Entree:
Banana Blossom Salad, Smoked Duck Breast & Soya with Yogurt & Foie Gras Ice Cream
&
Soft Asian Seafood Raviolis with Mushrooms, Gratinated Poached Quail Eggs with Truffle
Sabayon, with a Pesto and Parmesan Sauce

Main:
Pan Fried Basil Crusted Sea Scallop, Grilled King Oyster Mushrooms, Mashed Pumpkin,
Sautéed Asparagus, Sautéed Peach, Miniatures Brassica Salad, Crustacean Foam & Sour
Brown Juice
&
Pan Fried Tarragon Marinated Tiger Prawns, Magenta Plant & Artichoke Risotto, Poached
Pear in White Wine, Sautéed Snow Pea, Red Shiso & Olive Oil Béarnaise

Dessert:
Chocolate Surprise Stuffed with Truffle Ice Cream & Gold Leaf, Sautéed Fruits & Mascarpone Cream, Hot ognac Sauce
or
The Sweet Eggnest of Le Parfum
Under the Bamboo Cage, Duo Of Chocolate & Caramel Egg, Mousse Stuffed Lychee, Raspberry
Heart, Passion Sphere, Crispy Apple Nest

Would love to return and stay more days

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank docfeedback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceManager, Guest Relations Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Docfeedback,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent, albeit short trip to our beautiful city of Hue. Unfortunately one day is never enough to fully experience all that Hue has to offer but with any luck we will have the chance to welcome you back for a longer vacation in the near future to enjoy the original Art Deco style in our bespoke property.
Secondly, as you may know, we monitor Trip Advisor in order to better our services to our current and future guests and it is always a great pleasure to read most positive feedback from our guests such as yourself. Rest assured, we have shared your kind and encouraging words with the whole team especially the F&B team. Our Internationally recognized Chef An, who is both Vietnamese and French, was thrilled by your synopsis of your experience.
Finally, the whole team here has been very motivated by your comments and we look forward to hopefully seeing you back in our historical city.
Kind regards,
Ian O'broin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

As part of our Vietnam holiday we stayed at this lovely hotel. Classic French Style. The staff and the food were excellent both for breakfast and dinner.

We stayed I the low season so lots of attention by the staff. Really enjoyed it.

The location of the hotel seems to be fairly central and very close to the Perfume River. We did our exploring of the area with a driver and guide so don't know what the surrounding area is really like.

Room Tip: Try and get one of the rooms in the rotunda - very spacious - only criticism I would have is the bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PLP49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceManager, General Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear PLP49,
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for deciding on La Residence Hotel & Spa as the perfect location to enjoy your holiday during your recent trip to Hue and also for sharing your relaxing experiences on Trip Advisor.
I was delighted to read how you thought of our “lovely classic French hotel”. It was regretful that our bathrooms weren’t to your liking but I would like to inform you that our bathrooms are designed in line with our Art Deco style.
The whole team was thrilled to receive your kind compliments with regards to their very attentive nature. If you ever find yourself in this part of the world again we would love to welcome you back to our historic address.
Kind regards,
Phan Trong Minh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hue hotels
1.2 mi away
Indochine Palace
Indochine Palace
#11 of 123 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
21.8 mi away
Vedana Lagoon Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Hue Serene Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Saigon Morin
Hotel Saigon Morin
#23 of 123 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
1.0 mi away
Eldora Hotel
Eldora Hotel
#13 of 123 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
0.9 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#24 of 123 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: 5 Le Loi Street. Vinh Ninh Ward, Hue, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hue
#2 Family Hotel in Hue
#2 Business Hotel in Hue
#3 Spa Hotel in Hue
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time to Art Deco's golden age with a stay at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa, MGallery by Sofitel. Nestled along the fabled Perfume River and overlooking the imposing Imperial Citadel - once home to Emperors and now preserved as a UNESCO World Heritage Site - La Residence is a one-of-a-kind masterpiece. Endowed with opulence and warmth, this former residence of the French "Resident Superieur" has been painstakingly restored and refashioned into an enchanting luxury boutique hotel with 122 guestrooms and suites, which offer visitors the chance to relive the pleasures of a bygone era. Food is a passion at Le Parfum Restaurant. Visitors will delight in a fusion menu of Vietnam and Europe's very best culinary traditions. Allow yourself to be swept away with the signature cocktails "La Residence Monsieur and La Residence Madame" in the cozy ambiance of Le Gouverneur Bar. Indulge yourself in our award-winning Spa and relax by the large saltwater swimming pool overlooking the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, ACCOR, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence Hue Hotel Hue
La Residence Hue Hotel And Spa
La Residence Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing