We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa
Ranked #12 of 125 Hotels in Hue
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Impressive building and manicured grounds. We stayed here for 2 nights in a Deluxe River View room. It had a balcony overlooking the Perfume River but not that private. The room was large with a lounge area and TV but the TV could not be viewed from the bed. The lounge needs to be replaced as it was quite uncomfortable. The restaurant and drinks were very expensive compared to restaurants outside so we didn't make use of them. The location is quite away from the main town. The pool area looked lovely but the weather was inclement. The breakfast was excellent and the staff there very attentive. Cannot say the same about reception. They grow their own vegetables and herbs. Overall very good but not value for money.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Debba123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceManager, Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Dear Debba123,

I would like to thank you for posting your constructive comments on trip advisor. We value this means of honest feedback so as we can be kept informed of our guests feelings regarding their experiences while staying with us. We can then do our best to try to improve our services for our current and future guests.
The style of room that you were in has a TV on a cupboard that can be swung in either the direction to the bed or the lounge. Not all rooms have a lounge area so the TV’s there are fixed to the wall. With regards to the pricing structure for our F&B, this is calculated to a fine balance with trying to keep affordable to our guests but concurrently keeping to the highest standards of hygiene, importing the finest ingredients around the world and following fair employment practices. We cannot guarantee the hygiene of any establishment outside our walls. However, I was happy to hear you enjoyed our large Breakfast selection.
It was a pity the weather was not more pleasant during your stay and we hope that if you find yourself in Hue in the near future we will have a chance to welcome you back.
Kind regards,
Phan Trong Minh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,009 - 1,015 of 2,327 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2014

The hotel and spa is set on the banks of the Perfume river. We had a great view of the river from our rooms very large balcony. The hotel has good amenities. The staff are friendly and efficient. The guest service manager, Ian Obroin was especially helpful during our stay.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceManager, Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Dear Alan H,

The whole team here would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit and for posting your kind comments on Trip Advisor.
We are indeed very lucky to have our property sitting on the banks of the fabled Perfume River. It was rewarding to hear you enjoyed your room so much. Rest assured that your feedback will be shared with one and all as it provides great motivation and a great sense of hard work paying off. The friendly and efficient staff will be delighted to hear your compliments and also our Guest Relations Manager, Ian O Broin.
We hope to see you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Phan Trong Minh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

The main reception rooms are open with high ceilings that sits on the river front surrounded by flower and vegetable gardens. A very large pool in the garden area - unfortunately for us it rained. Bedrooms were quite spacious with a seating area with sofa and good sized bathroom. The breakfast was extensive. However this hotel takes large tour groups which makes breakfast very chaotic making it hard to place special egg orders.

Room Tip: Ask about rooms facing the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceManager, Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Dear Deborah W,

Thank you for deciding to stay with us here at La Residence hotel and Spa during your most recent visit to the ancient city of Hue and for posting your favorable comments on Trip Advisor.
I was happy to hear that you found our property to be beautiful both inside and outside. When we have groups staying with us, they tend to always come together at the same time in order to leave at a certain time for their day trips but I’m glad you enjoyed our extensive breakfast buffet.
We hope that we will have a chance to welcome you back to our historic address in the near future.
Kind regards,
Phan Trong Minh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Staying at La Residence Hue was delightful. Upon arrival, there's a sense of stepping back in time. We arrived by dragon boat on the beautiful Perfume River. It was very romantic. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful. Everything is well manicured and the Perfume River can be seen from the back. There's a big pool but the weather wasn't conducive for swimming. Our suite had a sweeping deck that was magnificent. We looked out at the river and the pool. The spa was great. Both my husband and I had awesome massages. As far as the brunch goes, it was one of the best. Also, the restaurant for dinner was excellent.

Room Tip: If you want a suite with a large panoramic deck, ask for suite 301!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amazinghorizons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceManager, Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Dear Amazinghorizons,

Let me start by thanking you for choosing to stay with us while travelling though Vietnam and also for taking the time to post your wonderful comments on Trip Advisor.
We love to hear our guests talk so fondly of their experiences while relaxing in our hotel. I was happy to read you found solace sitting on your large sweeping balcony looking out over the “beautiful hotel grounds” and the beautiful Perfume River” while the pool was a little too cold to swim in. I am happy to report that the pool is at a perfect temperature now and will continue until November when the Rainy season is in full swing again. The whole team was delighted to hear you had an “awesome” time especially the Spa and the food & beverage teams.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our historical address.
Kind regards,
Phan Trong Minh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We flew from Ho Chi Minh City to Hue on Vietnam Airlines. The service was great for the 45 minutes fly. We could have also taken a bus or train and had seen much of the country side. I believe it is about a 6 hour ride from down town Ho Chi Minh City.

The taxi ride from Hue Airport was only about 15 minutes and the hotel' welcome was perfect. We had a delicious drink and sat at the bar while completing our check in. The service was spotless from the start. We made our reservations directly from the hotel site. We found that their package being offered included a cooking class and it was the same rate as other sites were offering without the cooking class and rickshaw trip to the market.

The room was fabulous, the spa was great and the food was superb. The grounds where spotless and located just across the river from the Imperial city. One can walk a few blocks to the bridge and walk to the Imperial City. The walk was worthwhile and the Imperial City was beautiful or at least what is left of it was just beautiful. The breakfast bar at this hotel is amazing and delicious. The chef that dictated the cooking class was very fun and kind. Someone will accompany you to the market and you will ride on a rickshaw which is driven by someone else.
Bottom line this place is worth it. A two day stay is enough to see the surroundings a three day is enough to relax in the hotel one extra day.
We loved this hotel it is absolutely quiet and safe. Security boxes are available. This is a top quality hotel. The décor is tasteful and the decorations are just beautiful. There is a painting and photography saloon that is small but just beautiful. The pool was wonderful and they have a garden that you must take the time to tour.

Room Tip: I do not think this place has a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldhopper123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceManager, Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Dear Worldhopper123,
I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Hue and for taking the time to post you positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We really value all the honest feedback we receive from our guests.
Evidently, you thoroughly enjoyed your experience with us and we are very happy to read about it. Rest assured that we will share this with each and every team member in our hotel. It is very motivating to hear that we surpassed your expectation from the moment you arrived at our bespoke property to the moment you moved to your next destination hotel. We eagerly await your next visit so as we can provide you with the means to have another wonderful, exciting but relaxing holiday. I hope your friends and family will enjoy your Vietnamese cooking that you’ve picked up during this visit.
Again, the whole team here would like to thank you for your positive and motivating comments.
Kind regards,
Phan Trong Minh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Had 2 nights here, and it delivers what you would expect which is lovely surroundings, very good choice for breakfast etc. However, it falls into the trap of many 4/5 star hotels, in that food and drink within it are ridiculously expensive compared to the local offerings, thereby meaning you don't consider enjoying the hotel more. I don't understand why quality hotels price themselves out like this. It is a 20 min walk to the centre of Hue, but a nice one along the river. Good but not great.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank AndyandHeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceManager, Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Dear AndyandHeather
I would like to start by thanking you for choosing La Residence during your recent visit to Hue and for posting your comments on Trip Advisor; we are closely checking all the comments on Trip Advisor as it provides us with direct feedback on which we can improve our product and service.

It is great to read that you have placed specific positive feedback upon the lovely surroundings of our property and the very good choice for breakfast.
On the other hand, we also noted that the food & beverage prices offered did not meet your expectation. As the only fine dining restaurant in Hue and in a five star hotel, we try to cater to everybody taste in the best possible way we can. The quality of food & beverage is our first priority by using the very best Vietnamese and imported products, prepared in the highest possible standards of food hygiene and safety, this can elevate the price. We do sometimes understand that even trying our best, we are still not able to please everybody. Kindly accept our gratitude for being understanding.

Finally, we hope the experience will not alter your confidence in La Residence Hotel and that you will give us the opportunity of welcoming you again
Warmest Regards,
Phan Trong Minh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

From arrival to check out, we have never had better service. Nguyet at the front desk was outstanding. She delivered on everything we asked and more. Even calling our next hotel to inform them of our personal needs. While the hotel was really good and all the staff were really excellent - she stood out above all. A great place to stay and a wonderful city to explore.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceManager, Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Dear Steven S,
The entire team here at La Residence Hotel & Spa is very delighted to receive the “Best service ever!” comment that you have posted recently on Trip Advisor.
It is so great to see that you were satisfied with the hotel & the service experiences. Your kind compliments to our excellent staff will really motivate the team, especially, Ms. Nguyet, our Front Office supervisor will be very pleased to see that her great effort & hard work were recognized.
All your comments go a long way to providing honest insight into our hotel experience for all our future guests when they are researching places to stay in Hue.
Once again, thank you for staying with us and the whole team at La Residence are always ready to serve you at any time in the future. Please let us know whenever you have a plan to visit Hue again.
Warmest Regards,
Phan Trong Minh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hue hotels
1.2 mi away
Indochine Palace
Indochine Palace
#10 of 125 in Hue
1,449 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Saigon Morin
Hotel Saigon Morin
#22 of 125 in Hue
1,588 reviews
0.9 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#24 of 125 in Hue
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hue Serene Palace Hotel
1 mi away
Eldora Hotel
Eldora Hotel
#14 of 125 in Hue
1,035 reviews
1.2 mi away
Moonlight Hotel Hue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa

Address: 5 Le Loi Street, Vinh Ninh Ward, Hue, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hue
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hue
#2 Family Hotel in Hue
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hue
#5 Spa Hotel in Hue
Price Range: $170 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time to Art Deco's golden age with a stay at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa. Nestled along the fabled Perfume River and overlooking the imposing Imperial Citadel - once home to Emperors and now preserved as a UNESCO World Heritage Site - La Residence is a one-of-a-kind masterpiece. Endowed with opulence and warmth, this former residence of the French "Resident Superieur" has been painstakingly restored and refashioned into an enchanting luxury boutique hotel with 122 guestrooms and suites, which offer visitors the chance to relive the pleasures of a bygone era. Food is a passion at Le Parfum Restaurant. Visitors will delight in a fusion menu of Vietnam and Europe's very best culinary traditions. Allow yourself to be swept away with the signature cocktails "La Residence Monsieur and La Residence Madame" in the cozy ambiance of Le Gouverneur Bar. Indulge yourself in our award-winning Spa and relax by the large saltwater swimming pool overlooking the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence Hue Hotel Hue
La Residence Hue Hotel And Spa
La Residence Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing