We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Grand and Elegent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #9 of 121 Hotels in Hue
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Grand and Elegent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

La Residence is a stunning hotel and we found it a real treat to stay there.  From the moment we arrived we were made to feel more than welcome.  The reception staff were exceptionally good at orientating us to the bounty that this hotel has to offer. We stayed in the original building which exudes a sense of history and elegance.  Our room was beautifully furnished and very comfortable. The entire hotel is beautifully decorated with exquisite black and white photographs and beautiful paintings of scenes and exhibits of the Nguyen Dynasty from the 19th and 20th centuries.  We were fortunate enought to partake in La Residence's 2014 New Years celebration which included a traditional dragon and lion dance spectacle, a fashion show, a magician followed by a great countdown to the New Year. The buffet dinner was out of this world not only in the extent of what what was on offer but also it's presentation. It was one of the bst we have ever experienced and the various ice sculptors took this showpiece to another level.  Their restaurant 'La Parfum' is also an excellent choice for any meal. I highly recommend staying at La Residence when visiting Huy.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceManager, Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Gareth N,
It was very nice to have you here with us and we appreciate the time you taken to write this comment.
To be named a “stunning” and “a real treat” for starters, give us a great deal of pride. I will make sure the reception team hear that they are “exceptionally good”, thanks for the nice words. As you have mentioned, we have a permanent art exhibition, which matches very well our colonial art deco style. Our “beautifully furnished” and “comfortable” rooms are the product of the hard work of designers and operations teams.
The NYE party held at La Residence has already become a famous event around here, not only because of “the out of this world” buffet, but also because of the team’s excitement and dedication.
Thanks for recommending our hotel, and we hope to welcome you back here in the near future.
Kind regards,
Sergio Arias
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,595
    429
    72
    22
    5
See reviews for
322
1,262
93
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in art deco style and all the furniture inside is in perfect harmony with that style. The hotel gives a very relaxed feeling, as time has stood still.
Nicely located at the river, very friendly staff and very nice food. A real gem in Hue !

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kkleyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceManager, Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Kkleyn
Many thanks for the “Excellent hotel - superb architecture” review that has been posted on Trip Advisor regarding your stay at La Residence Hotel & Spa.
We strive to make every moment of your time here with our team a most “memorable” one and we are very happy to see that you could find the truly “relaxed feeling” during the time at our “art deco hotel”. Furthermore, the compliments that you have written about our “friendly staff, nice food” work as a great motivator to the team; well appreciated.
Finally, we hope to have you/your family again in the near future.
Warmest Regards,
Sergio Arias
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

The building and interior is beautiful. The service was very helpful and friendly. Very nice breakfast buffet.The bedroom was very clean and comfortable. Our room looked over the river. The only negative is the beds are extremely firm. A bit too firm for me.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ccit33_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceManager, Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear ccit33_12,
Thank you very much for choosing La Residence Hotel & Spa as your accommodation whilst visiting Hue City and also for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.
Our 1930’s art deco property is full of charm and fascination. When you mentioned that the “building and interior are beautiful” and the “service very helpful and friendly” it reassures that we are on the right track. The large buffet and live cooking stations that we have at breakfast are a delight for our guests from all over the world, thanks for pointing that out.
I am sure that you really enjoyed the view of the magnificent Perfume River from your “clean and comfortable” room. My only regret is that I did not hear about the beds being “too firm” for you earlier, as I would have placed our mattress topper to improve your experience.
Thanks once again, and we hope to welcome you back here in the near future.
Kind regards,
Sergio Arias
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
151 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed here with the family in December 2013.

I was in awe of the building as we pulled up after a long drive from Hoi An. Everything is absolutely perfect. The lobby with the bar, the check-in desk, the little boutique on the ground floor, the elevators, the cool windows, the banisters for the stairs, and even the font of the hotel's logo. This was truly a photographer's paradise.

The room was a little bit of a tight fit, but again the Art Deco theme carried on inside...with a great looking mirror and a wooden closet. A bit of the clutter could be eliminated including the bowls and plates with fruit. I did like the lovely balcony, which afforded a view of the front of the hotel...I am sure the other side facing the river is even more pleasant.

The restaurant was used on a few occasions given that it was extremely rainy and a touch cold as well. The food at Le Parfum was up to the mark, both for the Vietnamese and Western. The kiddie menu is absolutely fantastic...a sorta mix n match game of wooden blocks that can be slotted in place on a large wooden board.

We had a really great interactive cooking session with the chef at the restaurant...I highly recommend this session...it was included as part of our booking package, which was even better.

The staff is strangely enough, not very fluent in English (the chef was great at English though)...and this was a bit of a problem, but not more so than any European or South American city where English isn't the primary knowledge...at least they're re trying hard to figure it out.

The concierge helped us set up tours of the neighboring areas...but again the rain played a bit of a spoilsport. The guide could have been better...but again a little more of an English issue vs a knowledge issue. Recommendations for dinner were hard to get out, until we spoke with the Irish Manager (?).

I really liked the hotel despite the language issues and I think our whole group would have been happier if it wasn't so rainy. I would stay here again, in a second.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TooshMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceManager, Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear TooshMan,

The whole team at La Residence Hotel & Spa would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay with us at our “Photographers Paradise” and to thank you for taking the time to post your valuable synopsis of your time spent here.

It is evident from your writing that you thoroughly enjoyed the Art Deco style in our hotel. The fruit platter is only set up for VIP's staying in the hotel so we hope you enjoyed this. Rest assured all of your comments will be shared with each and every department especially the F&B team. It was unfortunate that it rained a little when you were here. October through December is the rainy season and these past few days and been very sunny if a little cool.

We are very much looking forward to receiving you back at our historical address in the near future.

Kind regards,
Sergio Arias
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed at this lovely art-deco hotel for New Years. The weather in Hue was not that great (pretty chilly and cloudy) so when we arrived from Hoi An we were glad to have at least a cosy hotel. The hotel is well located, around 5 min walk from train station. The taxi driver at the station actually laughed to us when we gave him our destination!

We were welcomed with a welcome drink, and a helpful explanation of the services and facilities. We also had a NYE dinner included to our stay (which we were not originally aware of as we booked the room via a travel agent). The room was comfortable, size was good and bathroom amenities were good. Perhaps the bed was harder than in most other hotels during our trip (which I actually liked). We also had a small balcony overlooking the garden.

The NYE dinner was a buffet but had tons of different foods to try and we actually enjoyed it, the band was playing a bit loud at times but it didn't bother too much. They had also organised other sorts of programme for the evening and a countdown at the garden where they had organised a fire show.

We also tried the spa and while it was a tad more expensive than in a few other hotels we stayed in Vietnam, it was still cheap. As for the Pool, it was lovely, but water was a bit too cold for a proper swim though.

However, perhaps the best thing about this establishment was the overall level of service and attitude of going the extra mile for you. I had the feeling that whenever I went to and asked someone for something they tended to remember my room number! Also, one of us fell ill during the night and we had a tour booked for the following morning - they were willing to extend our checkout time for no fee, and also we could have canceled the tour for no charge (usually 24h notice required and then you get 50pct back).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emjay111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceManager, Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Emjay111,
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and also for this very nice comment on Trip Advisor.
As you have already mentioned, we are conveniently located close to the train station, and actually many of our guests do take a 5 minutes walk, as long the bags are not too heavy. We were honoured by your presence during our NYE party and glad to see that you have enjoyed.
I will make sure the team will read the “attitude of going the extra mile” remark. This is what we always try to do here, we try to deliver to our guests an experience that will make then feel “special” and those “memorable moments” will last for a long time.
Thanks once again, and hopefully we will have a chance to meet again.
Kind regards,
Sergio Arias
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Excellent beautiful hotel with helpful staff. Tremendous location. Only improvement necessary would be the breakfast buffet and general quality of the food which is only fair. But it is probably best hotel in Hue and a wonderful hotel with great charm and very good service.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELKTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceManager, Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear ELKTravel
It was a great pleasure to have you at La Residence Hotel & Spa. Furthermore, it is great to receive your positive review that you have shared on Trip Advisor regarding the “pleasure to stay here”.
We appreciate very much for your kind compliments pertaining to the “wonderful hotel”, “helpful staff”, good location, “good service” and thank for rating La Residence Hotel & Spa as “probably the best hotel in Hue”.
We also kindly acknowledged your feedback on the breakfast buffet as a reflection for improving. We hope that our service will match your expectation from returning to our hotel again in the future.
All the team would like to welcome you soon.
Warmest Regards,
Sergio Arias
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Driving into the hotel driveway is very impressive, especially with all of the Christmas lights on. The hotel lobby is large with a bar/lounge area immediately in front of the lobby. Upon arrival you are given a nice cup of (something sweet!!) tea, which was warming on a dull and grey day in Hue.
Our room was reasonably compact with a shared bathroom and toilet area, we had a small balcony which looked out onto the central driveway (and the Christmas lights).
We had the hardest bed that I have ever had to sleep in, in a hotel. After our first night we mentioned it to the staff and they put a duvet underneath our sheet to make the bed softer, this did help but unfortunately for us it didn't make enough difference that we would go back to the hotel.
The restaurant was very good, with options of snacks or buffet. Breakfast buffet was good with lots of options, Asian, French, Western.
Staff were friendly and polite and were happy to go that extra mile when you asked them for assistance in any area. It was a pity that the weather was so dull in Hue because I think this could be a good destination but based on the weather I wouldn't come back to Hue (after the 3.5hour journey from Danang by car)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fieldadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceManager, Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Fieldadvisor,

The whole team here at La Residence Hotel and SPA would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent trip to Hue and for taking the time to post your valuable feedback on Trip Advisor. We prize the information gathered through this medium as it helps us to improve on our services for the better experiences of our present and future guests.

The main entrance of the hotel is something we are very proud of and our guests often comment how they step back in time to a bygone era which continues when they enter into our lobby bar. The signature welcome drink you enjoyed is comprised of local honey, ginger and lemongrass and is a favourite of our returning guests.

I can understand how you feel about the mattresses in our hotel. Vietnam is notorious for its style of harder rather than softer bedding but after hearing more of this in recent months on trip advisor we have taken action and ordered new mattress toppers which will dramatically increase the comfort for our guests.

Rest assured that all your comments will be shared with the whole team at the hotel and I'm confident that they will be most appreciative of your kind words pertaining to their “friendly, polite and willingness to go the extra mile” in terms of service for our guests.

Lastly, I would like to clarify the weather for you in the region of Hue throughout the year. October through December is the raining season and many days can be overcast. January and February is usually cold (for Vietnam) but tends to be clear and sunny. March through September are the summer months and are warm to hot with hardly any rain. I hope that one day in the near future we will have the chance to welcome you back under clear blue sunny skies where you can really experience the beauty of our historic city of Hue.

Kind regards,
Sergio Arias
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hue hotels
21.8 mi away
Vedana Lagoon Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Indochine Palace
Indochine Palace
#11 of 121 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Saigon Morin
Hotel Saigon Morin
#23 of 121 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hue Serene Palace Hotel
1.0 mi away
Eldora Hotel
Eldora Hotel
#15 of 121 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel la Perle - Hue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: 5 Le Loi Street. Vinh Ninh Ward, Hue, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hue
#2 Family Hotel in Hue
#2 Business Hotel in Hue
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hue
#4 Spa Hotel in Hue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time to Art Deco's golden age with a stay at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa, MGallery by Sofitel. Nestled along the fabled Perfume River and overlooking the imposing Imperial Citadel - once home to Emperors and now preserved as a UNESCO World Heritage Site - La Residence is a one-of-a-kind masterpiece. Endowed with opulence and warmth, this former residence of the French "Resident Superieur" has been painstakingly restored and refashioned into an enchanting luxury boutique hotel with 122 guestrooms and suites, which offer visitors the chance to relive the pleasures of a bygone era. Food is a passion at Le Parfum Restaurant. Visitors will delight in a fusion menu of Vietnam and Europe's very best culinary traditions. Allow yourself to be swept away with the signature cocktails "La Residence Monsieur and La Residence Madame" in the cozy ambiance of Le Gouverneur Bar. Indulge yourself in our award-winning Spa and relax by the large saltwater swimming pool overlooking the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, ACCOR, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence Hue Hotel Hue
La Residence Hue Hotel And Spa
La Residence Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing