We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with small service issues”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa
Ranked #10 of 121 Hotels in Hue
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with small service issues”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

La Residence is an Art Deco building that has been beautifully restored. We loved the building and the inviting swimming pool. The pool was great for a few hours of relaxation after a hot day sightseeing. It is worth it!

Our Deluxe room was spacious, but the bathroom tiny. It was decorated in beautiful Art Deco, but felt that it had not been updated for a while. Especially the bathrooms.

Our major complaint was around the service. People were eager to please, but their welcome was less than perfect. Initially, we were told that breakfast was not included in our rate, until we showed them our confirmation which confirmed that it was. We had the same struggle again at check-out. We had also requested a quiet room, but were shown a room that had loud music from a wedding reception playing opposite. This went on through the night. Luckily they changed our room, but not before telling us that this was an upgrade with river view. The room was the same category and their official rates don't distinguish by view and hence this was again annoying and unnecessary.

The rest of the stay went without hitch, and we had a great time, and slept beautifully in our quiet room.

The restaurant was also nice, and we had fabulous starters. On the main courses, one of our fish dishes was so overcooked that we had to return it. The other fish dish and the new one was also way overcook, but just eatable. Avoid fish, otherwise the restaurant is very nice.

Whilst we liked the hotel, we didn't like the mangers walking and standing around with staff rather than managing the place. Accor could do a much better job by having more hands on managers that provide staff with good training. This hotel could easily excel rather than just please.

Room Tip: Beware of the loud music for weddings! Change your room immediately.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarinGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceManager, Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear “KarinGlobal”,
We, the management and entire staff at La Residence Hotel & Spa, wish to extend our sincerest gratitude for taking your time to give us your valuable feedback on Trip Advisor. We are happy to see that in general you have enjoyed your stay with us, you like the art deco of the building and enjoyed the swimming pool. At the same time, we are regretful that there were some factors that happen and made your stay not with 100% of satisfaction. These will be examined and thoroughly discussed amongst our entire team so that we can maintain consistently our high level standards and services.
As for the “updating” and “tiny” bathrooms, please understand that La Residence Hotel & Spa was once the residence of the French Governors during the past. Therefore, the art deco styling and design of this resort has been updated and re-figured with maintaining the original essence of that period in mind. Specifically, the interior design of the bathroom and tiles are intentionally design with old- fashion style and purposely made not that shiny to give our guests a feeling of “warmth and coziness” during their time away from home. Addressing your comment about the breakfast, we do apologize for the confusion and the inconvenience, and we take necessary actions to ensure the confirmation sent out to our guests, match 100% with the hotel internal communication.
Regarding to the loud music during your stay; here again, we understand your feeling and are fully aware that this should not have existed and we tried to do our best in correcting the circumstances by moving your room to a different area. For your information, the event took place outside of hotel premises which originated from the fact that the Provincial Youth Union was celebrating the Liberation Day and these activities were totally out of our hands, and we were not able to foresee it.
Our Executive Chef and Food & Beverage Manager at Le Parfum Restaurant have reviewed your comment with regards to the fish being “overcooked”. We acknowledge the fact that the preparation of the fish has not matched your liking and appreciate that you have identified this issue in order to help our culinary division to be more aware and compassionate to our guests’ needs and desires.
Our managers on the floor, which at the same time manage the operations and help our staff in learning foreign languages, spend many hours with our entire staff from the Front Desk to the Housekeeping Department and to F&B team. We feel that the result will be a better guest interaction and ultimately establishing a solid foundation in personal care and service.
Once again, thank you very much for staying with us and we appreciate your valuable feedback. We look forward to welcome you and your family again at La Residence Hotel & Spa in the near future.
Warmest Regards,
Phan Trong Minh
Acting General Manager
gmo@la-residence-hue.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,635
    436
    74
    22
    6
See reviews for
326
1,296
97
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Woodside, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

A truly beautiful place to stay, the gardens, people and room just perfect, the whole experience was spoilt on check out when a staff member in their shop could not be bothered finding the price of some expensive jewellery so said just pick something else, a big loss of profit for them that day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ncorn27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceManager, Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear “Ncorn27”,
Needless to say that our entire management team along with all of our service professionals at La Residence Hotel & Spa are truly grateful to you for taking the time from your personal time and schedule to let us know how we are doing. We sincerely appreciate the beautiful comments on our “art deco” style resort nestled in the lavish gardens beside the Perfume River. Our entire staff assumes our responsibilities of caring for you and your family very seriously and with the utmost respect. With that in mind, we regret to hear that we neglected to take the “extra step” in not being able to satisfy your request in purchasing the jewelery at our boutique. We have reviewed this unacceptable incident and have made the necessary corrections to prevent this from happening again. We are truly sorry.
La Residence Hotel & Spa stands ready to provide the ultimate in personal care and accommodations and continue to be a true leader in the hospitality sector.
Warmest Regards,
Phan Trong Minh
Acting General Manager
gmo@la-residence-hue.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed here 21/23 March 2013, arriving well after midnight following a very long drive from Ha Long Bay, late flight to Da Nang and then another 3 hour drive from Da Nang to Hue (Hue airport is closed till November undergoing building work). Thankfully some staff were up to check us in and lead us (literally we were asleep on our feet) to a cool quiet oasis of a room. The bed and linen were like sleeping on clouds and then next 2 mornings the breakfast buffets were extensive and delicious. The staff were really helpful, especially when it came to renting a motorbike for the day. We ate there our last night and this was delicious food, elegantly presented and expertly served. Everybody was so helpful and pleasant, it was a real highlight - thank you!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Perfume River
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ratbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceManager, Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear “Ratbag,”
Firstly, we appreciate for spending your time to comment on your stay with us here at La Residence Hotel & Spa. This helps us immensely in improving and moving forward in offering the best in hospitality accommodations. Despite the realistic challenges we face due to the airport closure, we face and resolve these opportunities to show everyone how committed we are in taking care of each and every person that we welcome to our resort. From the “extensive and delicious” dining at Le Parfum to that extra bit of care in accommodating you with your every wish, we are so happy that our service professionals are there to be of assistance. And, yes, please do ask for that opportunity to view the Perfume River and the Imperial Palace which is the heart and soul of Hue, Vietnam. Thank you again and hope to have you and your family with us in the near future.
Warmest Regards,
Phan Trong Minh
Acting General Manager
gmo@la-residence-hue.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

We booked out tour through a tour company and they completed all our bookings. We were very surprised by this five star hotel. It has everything that you need at your finger tips. I had to do some work sending emails, printing, scanning documents, etc. they were very helpful in assisting me in the process. The coffee for breakfast is good, the food is good, the pool is beautiful at night and the overall ambience in the hotel is great. I would highly recommend staying at the La Residence Hue Hotel.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LeylandBrothers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceManager, Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear “LeylandBrothers”,
The entire team of La Residence Hotel & Spa wish to extend our sincere appreciation for your comments pertaining to your recent visit to Hue. It is a real privilege to be able to attend all of you not only in providing a “great overall ambiance” but at the same time to be to help you in your hour of need organizing and processing your work throughout the day. We welcome the task and feel fortunate that you had the confidence in our team to accomplish whatever that was required of us. That is part of our responsibility and mission as a five star hospitality organization. Please keep us close when you and your family come in the future to this special and historical land of Hue, “the ancient capital of Vietnam.”
Warmest Regards,
Phan Trong Minh
Acting General Manager
gmo@la-residence-hue.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Sensitively updated art deco colonial building with a great restaurant and views of the Perfume river. An oasis father the heat of Hue.

Staff were super-friendly and the cooking class was a highlight of my 2 weeks in Vietnam.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Frequenttrave1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceManager, Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear “Frequenttrave 1”
Please be assured that your comments and opinions of your time spent here with us at La Residence Hotel & Spa are more than welcomed with a wholehearted “thank you”. We are so happy that you have thoroughly enjoyed your cooking class here at Le Parfum Restaurant. Yes, Hue is famed by its culinary art and gastronomy, it is quite a unique and varied cuisine that one finds here in Hue City and we are all privileged to participate and join with you in being able to prepare and enjoy such delightful foods.
Please keep us in mind the next time you or any one of your family members or friends decide to visit us along the banks of the Perfume River. We will be waiting.
Warmest Regards,
Phan Trong Minh
Acting General Manager
gmo@la-residence-hue.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We couldn't have asked for a more wonderful hotel .
The manager was such a lovely and helpful young man which I'm sure that his staff would agree because they in turn seemed to really enjoy working there.
The dining experience was second to none, the food and presentation outstanding.
The rooms and grounds including the pool were of a very high standard.
For us it's been the best experience in our accommodation so far.
Upon our return to Australia we will certainly be recommending this establishment .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceManager, Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear “Cheryl G”,
There is no better “music to our ears” than to hear that you have enjoyed your visit with us and have an experienced a most memorable moment during your time away from home. It is truly a pleasure to be at your disposal in not only providing you with the utmost in luxurious accommodations and outstanding personal service but to be a sincere part of your vacation. Yes, the dining experience at Le Parfum, the “art deco” fashioned rooms, along with the exquisite landscaping alongside our salt water swimming pool does make it a “wonderful hotel” as you have graciously stated. Again, we are truly fortunate to be part of your precious time here in Vietnam and hope to be able to be of service in the future. Thank you from all the team here at La Residence Hotel & Spa.
Warmest Regards,
Phan Trong Minh
Acting General Manager
gmo@la-residence-hue.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in March which was probably a day too long. The hotel was fine but Hue itself, once you've done the Citadel and other historical sites did not have has much romance and attraction for us as Hoi An. Nevertheless the hotel itself was an interesting place architecturally as other reviewers have said. The hotel is towards the edge of town and unless you like walking in the heat will need to get taxis. We had a river view room with a large terrace which was great and I have to say the laundry service was excellent and reasonably priced for a hotel like this. The room was spacious and clean although there was some noise during the day - drilling and banging which we hadn't been warned about. Service was efficient and the breakfast had a reasonable choice. A tip would be don't book a river trip through the hotel as the price is way over the top. Go down to the river and haggle with the boatmen - you'll pay a fraction of the price.

Room Tip: Book a river view if you can - it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carol h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceManager, Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear “Carol h”,
We are very pleased that you have taken the opportunity to comment on your stay here at La Residence Hotel & Spa. We are very happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us, you enjoy the spacious of the room and its cleanliness, the efficient service and breakfast.
We would like to share our regret that you feel your 4 night stay was a bit too long; we know that your tour and activities were organized by your travel agent, but if our Concierge team have done better, you would totally enjoyed your entire stay, as Hue have much more to offer. At the same time we apologize for the “noise during the day” and we appreciate for your understanding as it occurred due to unforeseen repairs and maintenance that needed to be addressed as quickly as possible. Also, we understand that it is possible to obtain a much better price for the boat trip in any circumstance, but we feel that our relationship and contract with companies that handle the river boat trips provide the most in safety and comfort for all of our valued guests.
Thank you for complimenting on our facilities and service personal and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and your family back to La Residence Hotel & Spa in the near future.
Warmest Regards,
Phan Trong Minh
Acting General Manager
gmo@la-residence-hue.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hue
21.8 mi away
Vedana Lagoon Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Indochine Palace
Indochine Palace
#9 of 121 in Hue
1,279 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Saigon Morin
Hotel Saigon Morin
#24 of 121 in Hue
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hue Serene Palace Hotel
0.9 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#25 of 121 in Hue
1,106 reviews
1.0 mi away
Eldora Hotel
Eldora Hotel
#13 of 121 in Hue
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa

Property: La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa
Address: 5 Le Loi Street, Vinh Ninh Ward, Hue, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hue
#2 Business Hotel in Hue
#2 Family Hotel in Hue
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hue
#4 Spa Hotel in Hue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time to Art Deco's golden age with a stay at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa. Nestled along the fabled Perfume River and overlooking the imposing Imperial Citadel - once home to Emperors and now preserved as a UNESCO World Heritage Site - La Residence is a one-of-a-kind masterpiece. Endowed with opulence and warmth, this former residence of the French "Resident Superieur" has been painstakingly restored and refashioned into an enchanting luxury boutique hotel with 122 guestrooms and suites, which offer visitors the chance to relive the pleasures of a bygone era. Food is a passion at Le Parfum Restaurant. Visitors will delight in a fusion menu of Vietnam and Europe's very best culinary traditions. Allow yourself to be swept away with the signature cocktails "La Residence Monsieur and La Residence Madame" in the cozy ambiance of Le Gouverneur Bar. Indulge yourself in our award-winning Spa and relax by the large saltwater swimming pool overlooking the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence Hue Hotel And Spa
La Residence Hue Hotel Hue
La Residence Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing