We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa
Ranked #10 of 122 Hotels in Hue
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Simply Wonderful”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel with wonderful staff, the rooms are large with comfy beds and powerful showers in the bathrooms. I slept that well that i missed breakfast. The swimming pool was wonderful with bar service at your sunbed. I can assure you that you will love this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eoireitum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHue, General Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Eoireitum

Thank you very much for choosing La Residence during your recent visit to Hue & thanks for taking the time to post your valuable comments on Trip Advisor. I can see by your kind comments that you have enjoyed your experience very much and it is very pleasing to receive your feedback in this regard through Trip Advisor.

On behalf of the team I would like to share our appreciation of your positive comments in particular the beautiful hotel, wonderful staff, large & comfortable room facilities, fantastic swimming pool and excellent service at pool bar. I will ensure that all the team members are made aware of your feedback as they really enjoy to read what you have written on your review.

Please let us know if you would like to return or there are any friends/family we can welcome in the future.

Warmest Regards
Anthony J. Gill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,651
    439
    74
    22
    6
See reviews for
333
1,302
99
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
481 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

What a great place and totally unexpected in this smaller Vietnam city. The original centre part has great character and such a great feeling as you pull through the gates. The staff are very welcoming and always friendly. We had a snack in the bar for an evening meal as we had eaten lunch, sitting outside it was really lovely, as was the food. Breakfast is a plentiful buffet with so much to chose from and again excellent service. We stayed in the old original part of the building and our room was so nice, good modernisation of an old room.

Room Tip: Room 109 - not sure how much it is as it was all part of the trip but a nice big room with a good se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHue, General Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Mike C
Many thanks for taking the time to post your positive comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at La Residence Hotel & Spa. It is rewarding for us to read that you have really enjoyed the hotel experience especially the areas you have outlined; great place, convenient location, welcoming & friendly staff, lovely snack at the Bar terrace, plentiful buffet breakfast & excellent service. These comments will keep the team motivated.
We do in particular appreciate your sharing regarding Voyage en Chine (709); it is one of our beautiful Colonial Suites and as you have mentioned a truly wonderful place to admire & relax. These points on your review will be very useful for the future guest when they are researching places to stay in Hue.
Finally, please do not hesitate to contact me if you require anything further at all in the near future or if you have friends/family coming to Hue.

Warmest Regards
Anthony J. Gill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

What a perfect, beautiful,hotel! Great location, right on the river. The hotel has an older, colonial feel, for good reason: the core of the hotel was originally the mansion of the French governor of Hue. Absolutely stunning public spaces. The rooms are all one would expect from a five star hotel, and they are quite large. I heartily suggest that you pop for the river view rooms, which include a lovely balcony with fine views over the Perfume River. The breakfast was suitably fine, and the service perfect. They have a very fine restaurant, although the prices are very high by Vietnam standards, even for finer restaurants.

Room Tip: Get the river view rooms-well worth the extra money!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nippnsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHue, General Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear nippnsc
First of all, we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing La Residence Hotel & Spa for your recent stay in Hue & thanks for taking the time to post valuable comments on Trip Advisor.
It is great to read that you have enjoyed the hotel experience as much as you have outlined in particular your positive reference to the beautiful hotel, great location, French Colonial style, large & high standard room and finally the view from Perfume river.
Regarding the dining at Le Parfum restaurant, we are delighted that you have enjoyed the restaurant experience including the daily breakfast & perfect service. We are renowned for high quality Food & Beverage as we are using only the very best Vietnamese and Imported Products, prepared in the highest possible standards of food hygiene and safety, so as to ensure all dishes are at the maximum. This drive for food quality, as you have mentioned, is reflected in our pricing compared to other restaurants in Vietnam.
Finally, please do not hesitate to contact us if you would like to return or if you have any friends/family visiting Hue in the near future.
Warmest Regards,
Anthony Gill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We really loved Hue, it wasn't as touristy as Hoi An. I guess it felt a little more authentic to me. La Residence has really nice rooms - we were upgraded after the first room had a water issue. We had a riverside room with a balcony which was a great place to sit and look at life on the river. The lowest rate room we were initially in was pretty small - so upgrade to the river side if you can. I love pools, but this one was salt water and had little shade, so it was super warm and not very pleasant.

Room Tip: River side, otherwise there isn't anything special about the lowest category rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Singmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHue, General Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Singmaster
First of all, thank you very much for choosing La Residence hotel for your recent stay and thanks for taking your time to post your feedback on the hotel experience.
We are particularly pleased to see how much you loved Hue & enjoyed your stay at La Residence; especially the nice room with the river view.
With regards to the swimming pool temperature, we appreciate your understanding that during your period of stay, it is one of the hottest months of the year in Hue. We noticed that the pool water is a bit warm during this period but the volume of water is just too large to cool efficiently. We are looking at solar system for this in the future.
Finally, please do not hesitate to contact us if you would like to return or if you have any friends/family visiting Hue in the near future.
Warmest Regards,
Anthony Gill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this 5* hotel for three nights in an exceptionally large room with everything you could want. Space, privacy, peace and wonderful staff and great food, although at a price.

The hotel is not a modern souless block which seems to be the norm in most cities but a former mansion with lovely gardens restored to an exceptionally high standard with a very appealing interior and overall architecture. It is about 2km walk from the centre but we walked most days from the hotel along the riverside which borders the hotel grounds.

If you are looking for a hotel with heart and soul and am prepared to pay for this, I am sure you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tulcea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHue, General Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Tulcea

First of all, we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing La Residence Hotel & Spa on your recent stay in Hue and for the time you have taken to post your very positive feedback on Trip Advisor.

We do in particular appreciate your positive comments regarding the exceptionally large & peaceful room, wonderful staff, great food, lovely garden & appealing architecture. All your comments go a long way to providing honest insight into our hotel experience for all our future guests when they are researching places to stay in Hue.

Finally, please do not hesitate to contact me if you require anything further at all in the near future or if you have friends/family coming to Hue.

Warmest Regards
Anthony J. Gill
General Manager
gmo@la-residence-hue.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

A beautiful hotel with immaculate service, great food, good beds, large rooms. Clean as a whistle with good bathrooms. The gardens and the grounds are a delight. The whole place is just so serene. Our room took a little bit of a walk to get to the dining room but that was a small price to pay for the rest and relaxation it delivered to weary travelers.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenGAtOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHue, General Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear KenGatoz

I would like to take this opportunity on behalf of the entire team here at the hotel to thank you for choosing La Residence for your recent visit to Hue and for the valuable comments that you have posted on Trip Advisor.

It is great to read that you have really enjoyed the hotel experience especially the areas you have outlined; the beautiful hotel, immaculate service, great food, large & clean room, delightful garden, the grounds and most of all the serenity.

Finally thank you very much for the traveller’s insight you have included, as this also acts as a great guide for our future guests when they are researching online. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you require anything further or if you have any friends/family visiting Hue in the near future.

Warmest Regards
Anthony J. Gill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This was a delightful surprise after a long bus trip from Ho Chi Min City. This grand old lady has been beautifully restored and the room (a Superior Riverview) was very comfortable and tastefully decorated with all modern conveniences. We enjoyed a very generous breakfast in the dining room overlooking the Perfume River. The location of this hotel is wonderful. Oh yes, while we did not have dinner at the Hotel we did retire to the hotel bar with our fellow tourists and enjoyed a couple of wines. The Hotel staff were very obliging and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hue
1.2 mi away
Indochine Palace
Indochine Palace
#9 of 122 in Hue
1,295 reviews
21.8 mi away
Vedana Lagoon Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Saigon Morin
Hotel Saigon Morin
#24 of 122 in Hue
1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#26 of 122 in Hue
1,123 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hue Serene Palace Hotel
1.4 mi away
Hotel la Perle - Hue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa

Property: La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa
Address: 5 Le Loi Street, Vinh Ninh Ward, Hue, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hue
#2 Business Hotel in Hue
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hue
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hue
#4 Spa Hotel in Hue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time to Art Deco's golden age with a stay at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa. Nestled along the fabled Perfume River and overlooking the imposing Imperial Citadel - once home to Emperors and now preserved as a UNESCO World Heritage Site - La Residence is a one-of-a-kind masterpiece. Endowed with opulence and warmth, this former residence of the French "Resident Superieur" has been painstakingly restored and refashioned into an enchanting luxury boutique hotel with 122 guestrooms and suites, which offer visitors the chance to relive the pleasures of a bygone era. Food is a passion at Le Parfum Restaurant. Visitors will delight in a fusion menu of Vietnam and Europe's very best culinary traditions. Allow yourself to be swept away with the signature cocktails "La Residence Monsieur and La Residence Madame" in the cozy ambiance of Le Gouverneur Bar. Indulge yourself in our award-winning Spa and relax by the large saltwater swimming pool overlooking the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence Hue Hotel Hue
La Residence Hue Hotel And Spa
La Residence Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing