We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Hotel for the Discerning Customer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa
Ranked #10 of 123 Hotels in Hue
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this 5* hotel for three nights in an exceptionally large room with everything you could want. Space, privacy, peace and wonderful staff and great food, although at a price.

The hotel is not a modern souless block which seems to be the norm in most cities but a former mansion with lovely gardens restored to an exceptionally high standard with a very appealing interior and overall architecture. It is about 2km walk from the centre but we walked most days from the hotel along the riverside which borders the hotel grounds.

If you are looking for a hotel with heart and soul and am prepared to pay for this, I am sure you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tulcea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHue, General Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Tulcea

First of all, we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing La Residence Hotel & Spa on your recent stay in Hue and for the time you have taken to post your very positive feedback on Trip Advisor.

We do in particular appreciate your positive comments regarding the exceptionally large & peaceful room, wonderful staff, great food, lovely garden & appealing architecture. All your comments go a long way to providing honest insight into our hotel experience for all our future guests when they are researching places to stay in Hue.

Finally, please do not hesitate to contact me if you require anything further at all in the near future or if you have friends/family coming to Hue.

Warmest Regards
Anthony J. Gill
General Manager
gmo@la-residence-hue.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,223)
There are newer reviews for La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,280 - 1,286 of 2,223 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012

A beautiful hotel with immaculate service, great food, good beds, large rooms. Clean as a whistle with good bathrooms. The gardens and the grounds are a delight. The whole place is just so serene. Our room took a little bit of a walk to get to the dining room but that was a small price to pay for the rest and relaxation it delivered to weary travelers.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenGAtOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHue, General Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear KenGatoz

I would like to take this opportunity on behalf of the entire team here at the hotel to thank you for choosing La Residence for your recent visit to Hue and for the valuable comments that you have posted on Trip Advisor.

It is great to read that you have really enjoyed the hotel experience especially the areas you have outlined; the beautiful hotel, immaculate service, great food, large & clean room, delightful garden, the grounds and most of all the serenity.

Finally thank you very much for the traveller’s insight you have included, as this also acts as a great guide for our future guests when they are researching online. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you require anything further or if you have any friends/family visiting Hue in the near future.

Warmest Regards
Anthony J. Gill
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This was a delightful surprise after a long bus trip from Ho Chi Min City. This grand old lady has been beautifully restored and the room (a Superior Riverview) was very comfortable and tastefully decorated with all modern conveniences. We enjoyed a very generous breakfast in the dining room overlooking the Perfume River. The location of this hotel is wonderful. Oh yes, while we did not have dinner at the Hotel we did retire to the hotel bar with our fellow tourists and enjoyed a couple of wines. The Hotel staff were very obliging and friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

saying we enjoyed our stay at this hotel is an understatement ! not only the place is beautiful but the staff is truly adorable and helpful ! everyone was ever so nice and we loved every minute spent in the hotel. we booked a cooking class and it was a great experience in a beautiful garden. Definitely the place to stay in Hue and certainly a place to come back !!!! we loved it ;)

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHue, General Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

DearSATH2011

Thank you very much for choosing La Residence during your recent visit to Hue & thanks for taking the time to post your valuable comments on Trip Advisor. I can see by your kind comments that you have enjoyed your experience very much and it is very pleasing to receive your feedback in this regard through Trip Advisor.

On behalf of the team I would like to share our appreciation of your positive comments in particular the beautiful place, adorable & helpful staff, wonderful cooking class & very nice garden. I will ensure that all the team members are made aware of your feedback as they really enjoy to see the result of their hard work and efforts.

Please let us know if you would like to return or there are any friends/family we can welcome in the future.

Warmest Regards,
Anthony J. Gill
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We had amazing guide from Myths and Mountains that made the trip most enjoyable from start to finish.
The hotel decor is inviting. The Restaurant was exceptional - The Sous Chef (Kevin Marchetti) couldn't not have been more accommodating. The gift shop was the best on the trip with lovely dresses made well and reasonable priced.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a balcony
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gdg20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHue, General Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear gdg20
First of all, thank you very much for choosing La Residence hotel for your recent stay and thanks for taking your time to post your positive feedback on the hotel experience.
It is great to read that you have enjoyed very much your time at La Residence in particular: the hotel decor, exceptional restaurant & the best gift shop. Especially, thanks for the comments you have written for Mr Kevin, our sous-chef, he will be very pleased to receive this from you.
Finally, please do not hesitate to contact me if you require anything further at all in the near future or if you have friends/family coming to Hue.

Warmest Regards
Anthony J. Gill
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

After being a little disappointed by the Metropole in Hanoi, despite the effusive tripadvisor reviews, I was somewhat wary about La Residence, which was receiving similar reviews. I needn't have worried, because in this case they did indeed match the reality. The hotel both inside an out is an Art Deco architectural dream. From outside, the gardens, the sweeping driveway lead the eye to pleasing geometrical vistas. Inside no detail is too small, the door handles, the floor tiles, the wardrobes all wonderful Art Deco shapes.

The reality of the hotel itself was equal to the architecture. Our room was large, well equipped with patio doors opening onto a large terrace overlooking the perfumed river. The service was excellent, efficient, friendly without being presumptuous. The only downside perhaps was the location, a little away from the centre and restaurants, but this could be seen as an advantage as it was quiet and the cost of taxis were very reasonable.

In all an excellent hotel

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ABull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHue, General Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear ABull

First of all thanks for choosing La Residence during your recent visit to Hue and for posting your kind and positive comments on Trip Advisor; we are closely checking all the comments on Trip Advisor as it provides us with direct feedback on which we can improve our product and service.

It is rewarding to read that you have enjoyed the hotel experience so much as you have outlined in particular your positive reference to the art deco architecture & style throughout the hotel, large & well-equipment room, excellent service and friendly & professional staff.

With regards to the location of the hotel we are situated on the Perfume River in a tranquil part of the city, however here is a beautiful walk along the river adjacent to Le Loi Street which takes only 20 mins to the central shopping area; Car, Taxi & Cyclo are available at any time upon requested.

Finally, please do let me know if you intend to return to the hotel in the future or if you may have friends and/or family coming to visit Hue.

Warmest Regards
Anthony J. Gill
General Manager
gmo@la-residence-hue.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

No doubt, this is the finest in Hue. Perched conveniently on the banks of the Perfume river, La Residence is avant-garde and used to be the home of the Governor. Although the entrance to the hotel is a bit inconspicuous, it's actually right next to the Hue university and it has an easy-going and chill-out vibe to the whole area. The garden is beautifully manicured and the courtyard is nicely landscaped with a small herb/vegetable patch at the corner.

The bar and billiard area play chill-out lounge music and lightly perfumed with aromatherapy scent and this is where the cocktails and drinks will be served. The hotel also has a fairly big pool with clean and comfortable lounge chairs for those keen to top up their tan. The unexpected find to this place is the gym at the top floor, it's very well equipted and quiet and overlooks the hustle and bustle at the streets.

Hue is a fairly small town, most buzz seem to dot along the Perfume river. The hotel stands majestically along Le Loi street. A short walk along the river takes you to the night market and the bridges to the imperial citadel. In fact, the hotel provides bikes for free to those who feel like biking around Hue and the Citadel although this will only be for those who are comfortable navigating the traffic. Honking and hooting is part of the traffic rules here.

The rooms are fairly spacious although some furniture did seem a bit dated but in my view it adds to the old world charm. Again, WIFI is available in all areas in the hotel for free although reception is patchy at the Le Perfum Restaurant. The rooms have everything and everything a 5-star hotel has to offer, the only unusual arrangement is the small tv size and also the height, not quiet for those who are hoping to lounge on the bed.

Most meals are served at the Le Parfum Restaurant and the food is indeed very very good. For a place that seems to look after (primarily) western tourists, I was surprised to find the spicy Hue noodles and the local coffee with ice have the local punch. The breakfast selection is very wide and indeed very good. Again, it's served in the Le Parfum Restaurant. The only downside is perhaps the prices in the premise, they are probably 5x pricier than the local eateries but given the ambience, who would complain? There are, of course, plenty of local food and eateries just across the road and a short stroll away from the hotel, but unless one understands Vietnamese, ordering food will require some luck and handsigns.

The staff are all extremely friendly and helpful, while the accent of the Vietnamese staff may throw some non-speakers off, it adds to the charm of this place. They even went out of the way to recommend restaurants and arranging for onward travel tickets.

If you feel like getting pampered, this is the place to be.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms that overlook the beautiful courtyard
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KahChin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHue, General Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear Kahchin
I would like to take this opportunity on behalf of the entire team here at the hotel to thank you for choosing La Residence during your recent visit to Hue and for the valuable comments that you have posted on Trip Advisor.
The entire team will be extremely motivated to read that you have been more than satisfied with overall experience of the hotel and have taken time to outline many positive details such as the finest hotel in Hue, historical hotel, beautiful garden & courtyard, comfortable bar, big & clean swimming pool, convenient location, complementary bicycle service, spacious & charming room and finally friendly & helpful staff. All your comments go a long way to providing honest insight into our hotel experience for all our future guests when they are researching places to stay in Hue.
Regarding the dining at Le Parfum restaurant, we are delighted that you have enjoyed the restaurant experience including the daily breakfast. We only select the best quality of imported foods and local produce that meet international standards. This pursuit of food quality and safety, combined with an International Chef and only the best hygiene and training schemes can elevate the price of our restaurant over and above the local outlets; yet we remain competitive within the 5 star hotels in Vietnam.
Finally, please do not hesitate to contact me if you require anything further at all in the near future or if you have friends/family coming to Hue.
Warmest Regards
Anthony J. Gill
General Manager
gmo@la-residence-hue.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hue
1.2 mi away
Indochine Palace
Indochine Palace
#9 of 123 in Hue
1,320 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Saigon Morin
Hotel Saigon Morin
#23 of 123 in Hue
1,532 reviews
21.8 mi away
Vedana Lagoon Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#25 of 123 in Hue
1,132 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hue Serene Palace Hotel
1.0 mi away
Eldora Hotel
Eldora Hotel
#13 of 123 in Hue
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa

Address: 5 Le Loi Street, Vinh Ninh Ward, Hue, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hue
#2 Family Hotel in Hue
#2 Business Hotel in Hue
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hue
#5 Spa Hotel in Hue
Price Range: $108 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time to Art Deco's golden age with a stay at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa. Nestled along the fabled Perfume River and overlooking the imposing Imperial Citadel - once home to Emperors and now preserved as a UNESCO World Heritage Site - La Residence is a one-of-a-kind masterpiece. Endowed with opulence and warmth, this former residence of the French "Resident Superieur" has been painstakingly restored and refashioned into an enchanting luxury boutique hotel with 122 guestrooms and suites, which offer visitors the chance to relive the pleasures of a bygone era. Food is a passion at Le Parfum Restaurant. Visitors will delight in a fusion menu of Vietnam and Europe's very best culinary traditions. Allow yourself to be swept away with the signature cocktails "La Residence Monsieur and La Residence Madame" in the cozy ambiance of Le Gouverneur Bar. Indulge yourself in our award-winning Spa and relax by the large saltwater swimming pool overlooking the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence Hue Hotel Hue
La Residence Hue Hotel And Spa
La Residence Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing