We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning art deco hotel, peaceful location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #10 of 120 Hotels in Hue
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Stunning art deco hotel, peaceful location”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

I stayed in a pool/ river view room in may. I was booked into a garden room but perhaps as it is lower season, I was upgraded. It is a beautiful room with a perfect view over the river to the citadel flag tower. This is one of the most beautiful hotels I have seen. The level of attention paid to furnishings and design is incredible - if you are a fan of art deco, make this an indulgence in your trip as it is so well done. While the location is a bit out of 'town', the hotel has free bicycles for guests. I've borrowed bikes a few times to go to the citadel or find some lunch in the main areas. it would only be a 5-10 minute ride. As long as you avoid busier hours as people to to work, there is not much traffic - I felt very safe on the road and it is a beautiful way to get around, cycling along shady tree lined boulevards. the benefit to the location is the peacefulness - all you hear is the puttering of the river boats, cicadas and the many birds in the area.
The pool is lovely and very welcome after a hot day exploring the citadel and pagodas. The restaurant is very good - while prices are higher than local restaurants the food is good (and it isn't expensive when you think about what you would pay at home). The food at the pool bar is also great - as is an iced Vietnamese coffee!
All the staff are helpful and friendly.
If you are looking for some luxury in your time in Vietnam, definitely give this place a go.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paddo_jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHue, General Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Dear paddo_jo

First of all on behalf of the entire team we would like to thank you for the time you have taken to post your valuable comments on Trip Advisor; as a team we are carefully monitoring this channel and using all the feedback received here to make direct improvements on our product and service. All the team will be very motivated to read your comments specific to the level of attentiveness and friendliness you have experienced during your stay.

As you have written during periods of lower occupancy we will always try to offer the best location of room (subject to availability) and I am happy to read you have seen the benefit of this policy. Also I can see that you have enjoyed all of the other aspects of the hotel product and service including the various food & beverages you have consumed. As you have mentioned we are priced higher than the local restaurants as we are using professionally qualified chefs, international hygiene regulations and the best in imported produce at all times.

Finally thank you for choosing La Residence for your recent visit to Hue and please do not hesitate to contact me if you require anything further in the future.

Warmest Regards
Anthony J. Gill
General Manager
gmo@la-residence-hue.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,615
    434
    73
    22
    5
See reviews for
325
1,277
95
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

I stayed here for a night just two weeks ago. I must say this is probably one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. The attention to detail in everything, the cleanliness, the staff friendliness AND attentiveness were outstanding. The room was very comfortable. The restaurant, excellent. I did not use the Spa. The decor and setup inside the hotel are really in line with what you'd expect in the Governor's residence.
Hue is not a destination one would go again and again to, (I live in Argentina), but I would definitely use this hotel as an excuse to come back to Hue. Congratulations!

Room Tip: My room was on the first floor, a corner room, at the end of the passage. Very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHue, General Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Dear roxo

First of all on behalf of the entire team we would like to thank you for the time you have taken to post your valuable comments on Trip Advisior; as a team we are carefully monitoring this channel and using all the feedback received here to make improvements on our product and service.

It is very rewarding to read your very positive summary of your hotel experience including; “not to be missed”, “one of the best hotels ever”, high attention to detail, cleanliness, comfortable room, excellent restaurant and most of all the staff attitude comments. We do aim to ensure that all our guests are welcomed to our hotel in the manner you have been and the team will be motivated to see what you have written.

Finally thank you for choosing La Residence for your recent visit to Hue and please do not hesitate to contact me if you require anything further in the future.

Warmest Regards
Anthony J. Gill
General Manager
gmo@la-residence-hue.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in late April 2012, and it was excellent.

We had had a rather sticky and noisy overnight train from Hanoi and La Residence was such an oasis of comfort and luxury to come to!

The hotel's art deco design has been beautifully and meticulously restored. It used to be the French Governor's residence in Hue and it has retained the ambience of this period. The pool area is super and the food we had for lunch was very nice.

By Vietnam standards it is all very expensive but it was truly worth splashing out on!

Our room was large, spotlessly clean, with a nice big bath tub (hurray!) in the bathroom, which was also a generous size. The furniture in the rooms was modern repro but very high quality and carried on the art deco theme. Really, the whole place is a bit of a work of art!

All the usual in-room facilities: mini bar, safety deposit box, air con, satellite TV - and excellent thick curtains!

The breakfast buffet was absolutely top notch!! Definitely the best we had during our 4 weeks in Vietnam. Try the local "Hue Pho" with lemongrass. Allow yourself time to enjoy breakfast properly if you can!

There were free bikes to borrow for a cycle ride if you wanted, and we used them to go and visit the Citadel - much more comfortable than walking in the heat, and free is always nice.

I didn't use the hotel spa but I checked the prices and I have to say, while still expensive for Vietnam, they weren't as expensive as I expected. Worth checking out perhaps? I would have definitely gone for a treatment if we'd been there longer.

The hotel organised a trip on the Perfume River for us - we know this was more expensive than we could have got locally but we were short of time and just wanted to get it booked. However, it wasn't too horrendous price wise, at $35 for the day on our own boat, and we had a great time (although if you do this trip, check in advance whether your lunch is included).

Taxis locally were inexpensive, metered and easy to get, whether at the hotel or in town.

Tip: If you are coming by train, from the station go over the bridge in front of you, head up that road for 300m and the hotel is on your left. Unless you are particularly infirm or it is raining cats and dogs you really don't need a taxi from the station.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fierydormouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHue, General Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Dear Fierydormouse

I would like to take this opportunity on behalf of the entire team to thank you for choosing La Residence for your recent visit to Hue and for the time you have subsequently take to post your valuable synopsis on Trip Advisor. We do share all comments received via this medium as this is very rewarding and motivating for the hotel team.

It is great to read your very positive comments you have posted including; incredibly well maintained, beautiful design, super pool area, large clean room, great size bathroom/tub, top notch breakfast buffet and free bike rental. All your comments go a long way to providing honest insight into our hotel experience for all our future guests when they are researching places to stay in Hue.

Finally, please do not hesitate to contact me if you require anything further at all in the near future or if you have friends/family coming to Hue.

Warmest Regards
Anthony J. Gill
General Manager
gmo@la-residence-hue.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

This hotel is the former residence of the French governor with two wings added. So it is an older building that has been very tastefully refurbished. The rooms are small but very comfortable, especially the beds and pillows.

The breakfast is good with the hotel having the best baked goods that we have had in our travels in Asia so far. The restuarant staff are very friendly and speak good English. Middle management are empowered and make decisions quickly. On our second night my wife ordered something that was not on the menu. It did not taste all that great and she did not eat it. The restuarant manager without any hesitation said we would not be charged. We then went back to our room to find the airconditioner had broken down. In less than 5 minutes the front desk manager had arranged for us to be moved into a suite.

The grounds are lovely on the edge of the Perfume river and there is a very nice pool.

All in all, a lovely stay

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randltrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHue, General Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Dear randtrip

I would like to take this opportunity on behalf of the entire team to thank you for choosing La Residence for your recent visit to Hue and for the time you have subsequently take to post your valuable synopsis on Trip Advisor.

It is a little disappointing to read that you have had a less than great restaurant experience and some issues with Air Con in the room; however positive to see this has been well recovered by the empowered middle management.

Finally thank you so much for the overall positive elements of your feedback and rest assured all of this will be shared across the team. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you require anything further at all in the near future.

Warmest Regards
Anthony J. Gill
General Manager
gmo@la-residence-hue.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gosier
Level Contributor
74 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

room booked was a river view deluxe room. When we arrived there was no doorman, so nobody to carry our luggage nor open the door...
Check-in was fast and room upgrade was done (Accor club card)
The bath room was not large, though amenities were nice. Fruit basket was in room. Breakfast was OK. The Parfum restaurant was good for dinner, 100 Euros for 2 people (creme brulee were excellent)
Pool was very nice, apple juice was offered upon arrival.
To visit the city, take a taxi instead of cyclo.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amexGosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHue, General Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Dear amexGosier

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the time you have taken to compose your valuable Trip Advisor review; it is great to read your very positive overview of the hotel experience.

I have noticed that you have commented on the breakfast buffet being “OK” and I would kindly inform you at this point we are upgrading the whole area in the first 2 weeks of June; this will be a significant enhancement to the breakfast area and live stations for egss, waffles and pancakes etc…

Finally thank you for choosing La Residence for your recent visit to Hue and please do not hesitate to contact me if you require anything further at all.

Warmest Regards
Anthony J. Gill
General Manager
gmo@la-residence-hue.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We have stayed in La Residence for 3 nights. This was one of the highlights of our trip to Vietnam. We absolutely loved the Art Deco style of the hotel with the great attention to detail in furnishings and decor. The staff were incredibly helpful and polite. I have booked a twin room by mistake and when I asked to change it to a double room the reception swapped our room without any problems. The room itself was spacious and comfortable. As the hotel is set away from the road our room was quiet and we enjoyed a good night sleep every night. However, the location is good for both the citadel and only a short taxi drive from the main centre of town. The is a boat stop just next to the hotel which is very handy if you want to enjoy the Perfume River cruise.
The overall service was great, we got home baked biscuits every nigh and complimentary fruit salad and fresh orange juice at the pool side. The breakfast was varied and included a number of home made goodies. We also ate at the restaurant both at lunch time and dinner and on each occasion had fantastic food.
Everything was perfect and we hope to come back soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mugs_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHue, General Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear mugs_001

I would like to thank you for choosing La Residence for your recent visit to Hue and for outlining the hotel as the highlight of your trip in Vietnam. There are many positive elements within your feedback and kindly rest assured that this will be shared accordingly with the entire team; it is great to read that your room change request was well handled.

All the additional comments pertaining to the other parts of the hotel and the small touches you have received are well received and provide excellent insight for future guests.

Finally thank you for the time to compose and post your synopsis and we do hope you will return to see us again in the near future.

Warmest Regards
Anthony J. Gill
General Manager
gmo@la-residence-hue.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

The hotel & building itself is wonderful. The old residence of the French Governor, you get a feel of what it would have been like. Our room had a balcony & was a good size. Only fault was that the rooms aren't sound proof & we could hear every time someone got out of the lift or opened or closed a door on our floor. The buffet breakfast was great. We ate a few meals in the Restaurant, and it was ok, not great & it was quite expensive. We had massages at the Spa and they were also a little pricey. On a whole we loved the hotel, but we won't be returning to Hue-not much to do there & more of Vietnam we'd prefer to see!

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
Thank AandMLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHue, General Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear AndMLee

I would like to take this opportunity on behalf of the entire team here at the hotel to thank you for time you have taken to post your valuable comments on Trip Advisor. This is a channel that we focus on a great deal in order to collect very valuable and direct feedback and we appreciate very much the positivity of your comments.

I can see you have mentioned the noise transfer between the rooms and this is something we are working to correct in some affected rooms. With regards to the restaurant & spa experience I can see that there was some shortfall in expectation vs price and I would very kindly ask for some additional details if possible; please write to me on the below email to outline the items you have consumed that I may research similar comments. We do price check with all other 5 star hotels in Vietnam regularly and ensure we use only the very best ingredients and products, often imported, to ensure guest safety.

Finally, please do not hesitate to contact me if you require anything else or if you have friends/family visiting Hue in the near future.

Warmest Regards
Anthony J. Gill
General Manager
gmo@la-residence-hue.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hue hotels
21.8 mi away
Vedana Lagoon Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Indochine Palace
Indochine Palace
#11 of 120 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Saigon Morin
Hotel Saigon Morin
#24 of 120 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hue Serene Palace Hotel
1.0 mi away
Eldora Hotel
Eldora Hotel
#15 of 120 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel la Perle - Hue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: 5 Le Loi Street. Vinh Ninh Ward, Hue, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hue
#2 Family Hotel in Hue
#2 Business Hotel in Hue
#3 Spa Hotel in Hue
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time to Art Deco's golden age with a stay at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa, MGallery by Sofitel. Nestled along the fabled Perfume River and overlooking the imposing Imperial Citadel - once home to Emperors and now preserved as a UNESCO World Heritage Site - La Residence is a one-of-a-kind masterpiece. Endowed with opulence and warmth, this former residence of the French "Resident Superieur" has been painstakingly restored and refashioned into an enchanting luxury boutique hotel with 122 guestrooms and suites, which offer visitors the chance to relive the pleasures of a bygone era. Food is a passion at Le Parfum Restaurant. Visitors will delight in a fusion menu of Vietnam and Europe's very best culinary traditions. Allow yourself to be swept away with the signature cocktails "La Residence Monsieur and La Residence Madame" in the cozy ambiance of Le Gouverneur Bar. Indulge yourself in our award-winning Spa and relax by the large saltwater swimming pool overlooking the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence Hue Hotel And Spa
La Residence Hue Hotel Hue
La Residence Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing