We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Romantic hotel with the perfume of Agatha Christie smelling in the rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 124 Hotels in Hue
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Service and assistance of the staff was excellent and faultless. My suite room 709 was nice and very comfortable with a terrace and overlooking the beautiful garden,pool and Riviere des parfums.

Breakfast had a very good choice and catered for all tastes. Every morning I had my Phô prepared by the Chef himself. I experienced the restaurant in the evening by ordering a shell pink scallops barely cooked with a squid ink Risotto a la minute. No word to describe how delicious it was. Really a great moment !

The lounge bar was great for an evening drink and relaxation, good atmosphere where you can taste delicious bites pairing with Champagne and French wines.

The location is very good, not far from the Citadelle and Old Quarter shopping.

My final word would be for Mr Anthony, GM of the hotel. I met him the first time at the lobby to share my comments about my stay. We spent 1h together then he proposed me to visit the hotel. As I plan to have 1h massage at the spa. He booked directly my appointment. I only discovered when I was in Danang that the massage was offered by Mr Gill.

Mr Antony Jill is a courteous man with upbringing education which perfectly matches with the colonial spirit of the hotel. He is always available and exceeds himself to make your stay pleasant and unforgettable. His management brought to La Residence a very professional team which always strive themselves to satisfy and to pamper the client with the highest Sofitel standards. I discovered his secret ie he got married with a Vietnamese lady with 2 beautiful children.

La Residence is really the perfect place to relax and to pamper yourself at the highest standard of a 5 stars hotel. I have already planned to come back with my wife for a romantic journey in this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew Allan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,503 - 1,509 of 2,271 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2011

This is a beautifully designed facility, with great staff, a good menu,
and a great location in Hue. The architecture is wonderful; the art-deco legacy
is clear, but there are many new touches in the hallways and in the rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beyerswb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHue, General Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2011

Dear Hanoi

Firstly allow me the opportunity to thank you for choosing La Residence for your recent visit to Hue and for the time to post your valuable comments on Trip Advisor. The entire team will be enthused to see you have really enjoyed the hotel experience in particular the beautiful design, great location, wonderful architecture and art deco legacy feel of the property.

Please rest assured that all your positive comments will be shared accordingly with the team and these points always act as a great indicator for future guests. Finally please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you need anything further and if you have any friends or family visiting Hue.

Warmest Regards
Anthony J. Gill
General Manager
gmo@la-residence-hue.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Our two night stay here was delightful. Hue was fine but this property made our Hue experience. Comfortable, old world and good value. If we return to Hue we'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewZealand-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHue, General Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2011

Dear NewZealand7

First of all I would like to take this opportunity to thank you on behalf of the entire team for choosing La Residence for your recent stay in Hue. We are also grateful for the time you have taken to post your valuable comments, pertaining to your experience on Trip Advisor. As a team we are carefully monitoring this channel as we feel it provides us with the most accurate and honest feedback; all of which helps us to improve our product and service.

It is very rewarding to read the very positive comments you have made including: the beautiful property, comfortable old world feel, good value and most of all the hotel was the most prominent part of your experience. Please rest assured that all information that you have shared will be disseminated amongst the senior management and further to their individual teams.

Finally, please do not hesitate to contact me if you require anything further or if you have any friends/family visiting Hue in the near future.

Warmest Regards
Anthony J. Gill
General Manager
gmo@la-residence-hue.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

A wonderful three night stay. Service couldnt be faulted and the hotel and grounds are beautiful. The restaurant food is so good that we ate in every night (vietnamese and european influenced meals) and will remember this for a long time. Whilst expensive by Vietnamese standards it appeared excellent value to us Australians - would have been 3 times the price at home!

Room Tip: In this hotel all rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHue, General Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2011

Dear Julia255060

First of all on behalf of the entire team here at the hotel I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing La Residence for your recent stay in Hue and for taking the time to post your subsequent review on Trip Advisor. We are grateful for the extremely positive synopsis of our service and hotel; it is very rewarding for the team and also acts as a great reference for future guests planning to visit Hue.

It is clear that you have really enjoyed your experience in the hotel in particular the dining at Le Parfum; we are very happy indeed with the feedback we have been receiving regarding the new menu and I will pass these comments to our Executive Chef.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if you require anything or if you have any friends/family visiting Hue in the future.

Warm Regards
Anthony J. Gill
General Manager
gmo@la-residence-hue.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Once the home of the French Governor, La Residence is a really dazzling art deco building located right on the edge of the Perfume River. Must have been a really wonderful restoration project to be involved in as every little detail has been taken care of from the entrance hall and staircases to the glorious restaurant and lights through the garden. You can imagine an episode of Poirot being filmed here in what you would imagine to be a truly authentic setting!

If you can stretch to a suite everyone is in a different style and all absolutely beautiful. The staff and service is first rate from the reception desk to the room service.

Don't miss the 5* food in Le Parfum restaurant - whether you choose Western food or Vietnamese the culinary journey and fusion of flavors is stunning. The breakfast buffet is huge - from English and French to Asian.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GingerPanamaCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHue, General Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2011

Dear GingerPanamaCity

First of all on behalf of the entire team here at the hotel I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the extremely positive synopsis, regarding your experience, which you have recently posted on Trip Advisor.

It is clear that you have really enjoyed the hotel and services with particular reference to; the Art Deco ambience, attention to detail of restoration, location on the banks of the fabled perfume river, individual design of the suites and the public areas. It is particularly rewarding for us to see your appreciation of the food quality and service throughout the hotel and rest assured your comments will be shared accordingly.

Finally thank you for choosing La Residence for your recent stay in Hue and please do not hesitate to contact me if you require anything or if you have any friends/family visiting Hue in the future.

Warm Regards
Anthony J. Gill
General Manager
gmo@la-residence-hue.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

A beautiful hotel in real art deco style. There are few finer things in the word than walking straight into a hotel bar when you enter the lobby.

The bar is well-laid out (like something out of Jeeves and Wooster) and comfortable, the rooms are plush and the restaurant is the best in town. The restaurant is pricey but very good. Kevin, the sous chef, convinced us to try it and the Vietnamese tapas, steamed fish and duck leg with noodles were all very well cooked.

I'd return - and recommend it

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marrsio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHue, General Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2011

Dear Marrsio

It is great to read your kind comments that you have recently posted on Trip Advisor and we are very grateful for the positive content in your review. The team here at the hotel is closely monitoring all the guest comments and suggestions very carefully and rest assured all your points will reach all the team members.

We can see that you have particularly enjoyed the Art Deco beauty & charm, the location & orientation of the bar, plush rooms and your dining experience. We are renowned for high quality Food & Beverage as we are using only the very best Vietnamese and Imported Products, prepared in the highest possible standards of food hygiene and safety, so as to ensure all dishes are at the maximum. This drive for food quality, as you have mentioned, is reflected in our pricing compared to other local restaurants in Hue.

Finally, I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing La Residence for your recent stay in Hue and please do not hesitate to contact me if you need anything in the future.

Warmest Regards
Anthony J. Gill
General Manager
gmo@la-residence-hue.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Great art deco boutique hotel, excellent service, friendly attentive staff, wonderful facilities. Enjoy drinks in tasteful bar & dinner in sophisticated restaurant plus great buffet breakfast! Take advantage of complimentary bicycles to explore Hue and don't forget to indulge with a treatment in the spa!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CycloneMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHue, General Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2011

Dear CycloneMelbourne

First of all I would like to say on behalf of the entire team here at the hotel that we are very grateful for the time you have taken to post your valuable comments on Trip Advisor.

I can see from your synopsis that you have had an excellent experience; the details of which you have provided act as great guide for future readers when they are researching places to stay in Hue.

I would like to thank you for choosing La Residence for your recent stay in Hue and do let me know if I can help you with anything in the future.

Warmest Regards
Anthony J. Gill
General Manager
gmo@la-residence-hue.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hue hotels
1.2 mi away
Indochine Palace
Indochine Palace
#9 of 124 in Hue
1,376 reviews
0.9 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#23 of 124 in Hue
1,167 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Saigon Morin
Hotel Saigon Morin
#22 of 124 in Hue
1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hue Serene Palace Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel la Perle - Hue
1.2 mi away
Moonlight Hotel Hue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa

Address: 5 Le Loi Street, Vinh Ninh Ward, Hue, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hue
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hue
#2 Business Hotel in Hue
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hue
#5 Spa Hotel in Hue
Price Range: $171 - $444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time to Art Deco's golden age with a stay at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa. Nestled along the fabled Perfume River and overlooking the imposing Imperial Citadel - once home to Emperors and now preserved as a UNESCO World Heritage Site - La Residence is a one-of-a-kind masterpiece. Endowed with opulence and warmth, this former residence of the French "Resident Superieur" has been painstakingly restored and refashioned into an enchanting luxury boutique hotel with 122 guestrooms and suites, which offer visitors the chance to relive the pleasures of a bygone era. Food is a passion at Le Parfum Restaurant. Visitors will delight in a fusion menu of Vietnam and Europe's very best culinary traditions. Allow yourself to be swept away with the signature cocktails "La Residence Monsieur and La Residence Madame" in the cozy ambiance of Le Gouverneur Bar. Indulge yourself in our award-winning Spa and relax by the large saltwater swimming pool overlooking the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence Hue Hotel Hue
La Residence Hue Hotel And Spa
La Residence Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing