We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel with sincerity in its kindness”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa
Ranked #10 of 122 Hotels in Hue
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A hotel with sincerity in its kindness”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We were Australian travellers doing a 'tasting plate' trip through Vietnam. We had already travelled to Ho Chi Minh City, Hanoi and Ha Long Bay and were in Hue to experience a more laid back time in Vietnam's ancient capital.
We picked La Residence, partly because of its historical importance as the old French Governor's residence and because of its quieter location on the Perfume River. It is a wonderful combination of Colonial art-deco architecture and modern extensions, surrounded by superb gardens, a good sized pool and even tennis courts (remember to play early in summer).
We booked into a deluxe colonial room in the older part of the building, with a room facing onto the front of the hotel. The room was extremely elegant and stylish with a large bathroom, with full bath, and a dressing room across the passageway.
The only draw-back was that when the city woke in the morning, the sounds of traffic could be heard in the bedroom. Anyone who is familiar with Vietnam would know that the Vietnamese navigate their road traffic using their car and motorbike horns, the sound of which can penetrate bedroom windows.
This may not have been a major issue, that's just the way Vietnam is, but my wife suddenly became ill with a bacterial infection that became bronchial. So she had a very sleepless night and was not going to be able to catch up on sleep the next day.
So, at about 6:30 in the morning I went to ask Reception if they could do anything to move us to a different room further from the road. They said the hotel was full, but that they would see what they could do when some guests had checked out later. I went back to my room with little expectation that anything would happen quickly. But to our surprise we received a call twenty minutes later and were given the choice of two suites in the new section of the building, to the rear of the hotel away from the roadway.
We were helped by the concierge to move to the suite and we settled into our new more relaxed and quiet surroundings. Then even more to our surprise, we received a phone call from Anthony Gill, La Residence's General Manager, saying that he had heard that my wife was ill and could the hotel do anything to help? We said no, rest was all that was needed, but he insisted on sending up a pot of ginger tea with honey and some paracetomol. A few minutes later there was a knock on the door and the tea was delivered.
And often you can be in hotels where the staff don't remember you from one day to the next, but Reception kept asking after my wife's health during the rest of our stay.
The hotel has much to offer its guests. It has a really good spa offering a wide variety of treatments. The treatments are carried out in an area of the hotel that has been specifically designed to compliment the Art Deco aesthetic. Both my wife and I had massages and were very happy with them.
The Le Parfum restaurant is excellent and has, along with other cuisines, a good selection of traditional VIetnamese food.
The restaurant is also where breakfast is served and has an extensive buffet selection and a chef to meet guests' cook-to-request orders.
When we come back to Hue, we will certainly stay at La Residence again. But this time, for more of a treat, we will stay in the semi-circular Deluxe Colonial Suite overlooking the gardens and pool.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank odnaBmaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,654
    439
    74
    22
    6
See reviews for
333
1,303
100
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed there for 3 nights to celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary.
My wife and I have travelled to many places and stayed at many 5 star hotels or luxury resorts over the years and we both agree that the stay at La Residence is probably the best of them all. We were impressed with the room (the view was lovely), the facilities (wife loved the well equipped gym) and the personable service of the staff. The food was great (we ate at the restaurant several times during our stay-love the banana flower salad) as well. We appreciated the service provided by the hotel staff; and this included those in the restaurant (attentive and friendly). The front desk reception staff was also excellent. They were ever willing to help with our questions and we could even rely on them (by calling them up) when we needed to provide directions to the taxi driver while we were in the city. Our only regret was that we did not have enough time to swim in the tempting pool. Definitely need to comeback again, this time with our children!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faber50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHue, General Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Dear Faber 50

Thank you very much for choosing La Residence for your 15th Anniversary and allowing us the opportunity to host you and your wife for such an important occasion. I can see by your kind comments that you have enjoyed your experience at the hotel and it is very pleasing to receive your feedback in this regard through Trip Advisor.

On behalf of the team I would like to share our appreciation of your positive comments in particular; the personable attitude of the staff, the view, hotel facilities, food quality and excellent front office staff. I will ensure that all the team members are made aware of your feedback as they really enjoy to see the result of their hard work and efforts.

Please do let me know if you intend to return to the hotel in future or if you may have friends and/or family coming to visit Hue.

Warmest Regards
Anthony J. Gill
General Manager
----------------
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2011

A very elegant hotel. Fantastic decor and elaborate french style food. Very helpful and polite staff.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHue, General Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Dear Christopher P

I would like to thank you for your recently posting on Trip Advisor; we are carefully monitoring all the feedback channeled here and it is great to see that you have really enjoyed the hotel and service.

On behalf of the team I would like to share our appreciation of your positive comments in particular; the elegance of the hotel, décor, food quality and finally our team’s attitude and politeness.

Please do let me know if you intend to return to the hotel in future or if you may have friends and/or family coming to visit Hue.

Warmest Regards
Anthony J. Gill
General Manager
gmo@la-residence-hue.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

In Hue for just two nights, staying at La Residence. Room was incredibly luxurious and it's a beautiful old art deco building. Pool area was lovely, particularly once it started to go dark and all the lights came on. Lots of lovely little touches too - they brought us freshly baked biscuits in the evening on both days.

We also ate in the restaurant - food was very very good, if a bit pricy. And the service was a little over-eager - in one case a spoon got whipped away before the food was even finished!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mistakenforstranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHue, General Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Dear mistakenforstranger

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the comments you have recently posted on Trip Advisor; as a team we are carefully monitoring this channel as it provides us with a real opportunity to reflect and enhance on our product and service.

We in particular appreciate your positive comments regarding the room luxury, pool area presentation and most of all the food quality at Le Parfum. With regard to the small over eagerness of the F&B team during service, I will pass this along with the positive comments you have given to our Chef and service leader, in that they may rectify with the team. We really appreciate your insight in this regard.

Please contact me directly if you need any assistance in organizing this or if you need anything further.

Anthony J. Gill
General Manager
gmo@la-residence-hue.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

It is fabulous. Great rooms, fantastic service, love that pool. One of my favorite hotels in Vietnam.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toomanymatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHue, General Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Dear toomanymatts

I would like to write to thank you for your positive feedback on Trip Advisor and for outlining your liking of our hotel; I will share this with the team as they always find guests comments very rewarding.

We are very happy to see that you have become fans of La Residence and enjoyed so much the rooms, service and the pool area.

Please contact me directly if you need any assistance in organizing this or if you need anything further.

Anthony J. Gill
General Manager
gmo@la-residence-hue.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forster, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Stayed at the La Residence for 3 nights, upgraded to "river view" room for US $20 per night. Room was same but waking up to that view in morning was special. Most friendly staff we have encountered in a long time traveling SE Asia. Highly recommend

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHue, General Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 3, 2011
Dear Keith M,

I hope you had a safe trip back to Australia. First, I would like to express my gratitude for posting this comment on Trip Advisor and let you know that such feedback is a real reward for the entire La Residence Hotel & Spa team.

We are delighted to read that you appreciated our quality of service and staff, as well as our river view rooms during your experience with us. It is a pleasure for us to welcome such enthusiastic people and we hope to see you return among us soon.

If you need any further information, please know that I remain at your disposal.

Anthony J. Gill
La Residence General Manager
gmo@la-residence-hue.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

We stayed in La Residence for two nights, as part of our honeymoon. It was one of the best hotels we stayed in in Vietnam. Not cheap, but the hotel was spotlessly clean and very tastefully decorated in French Colonial style. Swimming pool was very relaxing, lovely and warm and good waiter service for drinks etc. Breakfast was excellent - good range of food, good waiter service for tea / coffee and we enjoyed sitting outside on the terrace. Dinner in the restaurant was expensive, but looked high quality - we didn't use it as there are plenty of good local alternatives. We enjoyed having a cocktail at the bar in the evenings (reasonably priced for a hotel). We borrowed hotel bikes (no charge) and cycled into Hue to visit the Citadel etc - would recommend this, although the bikes weren't in great shaped compared to others we borrowed in subsequent hotels.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHue, General Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 3, 2011
Dear BLondon,

I would first like to thank you for taking the time to post a comment regarding our hotel on TripAdvisor ; we dedicate as much time as possible to the reading of our reviews as they are a source of stimulation and encouragement for all the members of La Résidence Hotel & Spa staff.

As I noticed that you specially enjoyed our art-deco style, cleanliness, swimming pool, service and of our breakfast buffet quality, I would like to let you know how important and rewarding it is for us that it helped making your stay with us even more delightful.

As far as the bikes are concerned, I would like to thank you for emphasizing the problem which is currently being taken care of, in order to make sure this will not be a source of disappointment anymore.

Once again, I want you to know we are grateful for your staying with us and let you know that we hope you will return and repeat our experience among us.

Anthony J. Gill
La Residence General Manager
gmo@la-residence-hue.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hue
1.2 mi away
Indochine Palace
Indochine Palace
#9 of 122 in Hue
1,299 reviews
21.8 mi away
Vedana Lagoon Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Saigon Morin
Hotel Saigon Morin
#24 of 122 in Hue
1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#25 of 122 in Hue
1,124 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hue Serene Palace Hotel
1.4 mi away
Hotel la Perle - Hue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa

Property: La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa
Address: 5 Le Loi Street, Vinh Ninh Ward, Hue, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hue
#2 Family Hotel in Hue
#2 Business Hotel in Hue
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hue
#4 Spa Hotel in Hue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time to Art Deco's golden age with a stay at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa. Nestled along the fabled Perfume River and overlooking the imposing Imperial Citadel - once home to Emperors and now preserved as a UNESCO World Heritage Site - La Residence is a one-of-a-kind masterpiece. Endowed with opulence and warmth, this former residence of the French "Resident Superieur" has been painstakingly restored and refashioned into an enchanting luxury boutique hotel with 122 guestrooms and suites, which offer visitors the chance to relive the pleasures of a bygone era. Food is a passion at Le Parfum Restaurant. Visitors will delight in a fusion menu of Vietnam and Europe's very best culinary traditions. Allow yourself to be swept away with the signature cocktails "La Residence Monsieur and La Residence Madame" in the cozy ambiance of Le Gouverneur Bar. Indulge yourself in our award-winning Spa and relax by the large saltwater swimming pool overlooking the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence Hue Hotel Hue
La Residence Hue Hotel And Spa
La Residence Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing