We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, too far from town”
Review of Pilgrimage Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pilgrimage Village
Ranked #11 of 122 Hotels in Hue
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 25, 2012

An oasis of peace with a very large pool.

Too far from the town, 15 minutes by taxi. Would have preferred to have been in town which is elegant & full of activity.

The room smelt musty from the damp, the shower outlet was blocked and overflowed, told the desk and it was repaired which was good. On checking in we left three bags to be deposited in the room, but when we returned four hours later they were sitting in the lobby area, luckily we did not have any valuables in them! Something like that has never happened to us before.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank lagoon08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,048)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

912 - 918 of 2,048 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2012

Staying at the Pilgrimage Village was the best decision we made visiting Vietnam. From the moment of pickup to checkout the experience was beyond expectation for the price. Everything was very clean including the pool, spa, dining areas, bathrooms and our hotel room. The staff was UNBELIEVABLE and couldn't have been more accommodating. We needed to change a flight and they did it for us. They upgraded us to the honeymoon sweet without blinking and there was always, always a smile and greeting every time we were seen. The shuttle service to downtown Hue was effortless, comfortable and consistently on time. I can't say enough how much I recommend you stay there if your travels take you to Hue or the surrounding area! Thank you Pilgrimage!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s0l0m0nmalick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Unusual location being about 6k from Hue but regular taxis / shuttles avoid this being a problem. Hotel beautifully presented, rooms excellent if a little dark, staff friendly, very attractive grounds and excellent swimming pool. Good value.

Room Tip: Honeymoon bungalows were good - we were up rated not on honeymoon!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timberdudley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

After a recommendation from a friend, we ended up staying here for 3 nights of our 3 week honeymoon. We LOVED it! We wished we had been able to stay for a week longer. From the moment we arrived at the airport (we arranged to have a driver meet us) to our wonderful meals (the food was very good) to our time spent at the wonderfully relaxing pool(s)...we felt pampered. Every staffer we saw greeted us with a smile and we ended up befriending Thuy, a lovely girl who found us each day to ensure our daily plans were made and we had all of the information we'd need. My husband and I also got pedicures at the spa, which were fantastic. This hotel was wonderful & we hope to return again soon!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snowbunny14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

A very nice hotel but remotely located well out of the city with no local facilities to speak of. Whilst our (beautiful) room was reserved at an absolute bargain price and the staff were very helpful, there are issues here you need to be aware of. We soon understood why we were the only two people having a drink in the bar at 8:00 pm when we saw the hotel's prices for food, drinks and services - which we estimated to be four times the going price elsewhere. We were told things got busier later in the evening as everybody returned from having dinner in town - hardly surprising when a full meal at the best restaurant in town (Les Jardins de la Carambole - fantastic!) cost less than a club sandwich in the hotel. £10 each for the non-inclusive breakfast was ridiculous by Vietnamese standards and the Spa treatment prices would bear comparison to those at good quality UK locations.

If you want a very nice hotel, lovely room and great pool and then pay £3 for a taxi into Hue for dinner and anything else you might want, the Pilgrimage could be perfect for you. If you want the full spectrum of hotel services and facilities at reasonable prices, it might not be.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank MickandLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I took my parents on a trip through Vietnam and this was the perfect respite after being in the chaotic city of Hanoi. The check-in area is relaxing and a lovely placed to be welcomed with a cold drink. We don't usually stay at resorts, but this one was low-key and relaxing. We were there during low-season in May so it was pretty empty and they kindly upgraded us to a villa which was designed well, was spacious comfortable and private . The pool is serene as are the grounds and lotus ponds. The spa area is truly relaxing as if you are in a rain forest. I enjoyed the yoga session in the morning. The food is pricey, but the breakfast is lovely and included in the room rate. Great location for exploring the surrounding temples, which are exquisit. The staff is attentive and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed in the Pilgrimage Village for 4 nights in a deluxe villa. There is plenty to see and to do in Hue city, but don't forget to stay one night extra and reserve one extra day there to relax at the wonderful pool (if the weather allows you for it can be quite foggy/cloudy sometimes). Our deluxe villa was spacious, clean and had a huge bathroom. Breakfast has good choice and quality but however could use a little more variation for their longer staying guests.

The complimentary shuttle service they offer to the city centre of Hue is absolutely necessary, and works well. They have a nice driver that drops you off at the Tropical Garden restaurant.

Guests should keep in mind that the lush garden the villas are built in are very beautiful, but are also home to some animals we don't like inside our rooms. We had a cockroach in our bathroom (adequately removed by staff when asked eventhough it was at 23:15), we saw a green snake with a red neck at the pool and during the nights we sometimes heard lizzards in the roof, that were actually pretty noisy. However, if that's the price we have to pay for staying in this beautiful accomodation, I would gladly do it again. I think it is just good to know before you arrive.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ErikLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hue
2.8 mi away
Indochine Palace
Indochine Palace
#9 of 122 in Hue
1,340 reviews
2.3 mi away
La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa
3.3 mi away
Hue Serene Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Vedana Lagoon Resort & Spa
2.9 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#25 of 122 in Hue
1,150 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Saigon Morin
Hotel Saigon Morin
#23 of 122 in Hue
1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pilgrimage Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pilgrimage Village

Address: 130 Minh Mang Road, Hue, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hue
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hue
#5 Family Hotel in Hue
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hue
Price Range: $63 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pilgrimage Village 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pilgrimage Village is a traditional Vietnamese boutique resort blending harmoniously in the local environment. Set amidst lush green gardens and lily ponds, Pilgrimage Village is a haven, where the pace of life slows down… looking for lost time? Immerse yourself in a myriad of experiences from the luxurious naturally inspired spa treatments to Tai Chi, yoga or perhaps some chakra cleansing. A sanctuary for the mind, body and spirit. Relax, rejuvenate and revitalize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pilgrimage Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pilgrimage Village Hotel Hue
Pilgrimage Village Hue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing