We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil and beautiful resort”
Review of Pilgrimage Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pilgrimage Village
Ranked #12 of 124 Hotels in Hue
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Very pleased with our choice of this hotel. Other reviewers have commented that the location of the hotel is too far from the centre of Hue but for us it was great to be able to return to the peaceful and lovely gardens and relax in the amazing swimming pool after a hot and hectic day of sightseeing in Hue. As we were also staying in Hanoi and Ho Chi Minh City I wanted to have a few days away from the city heat and chaos and this was perfect. We spent quite a lot of time wandering around the gardens watching the many varieties of butterflies which were gorgeous. We used the shuttle into the city on a number of occasions and it was fine - also taxis are very cheap if you don't want to stick to the shuttle times.

The rooms are fabulous and we too were upgraded to the honeymoon villa which was luxurious and has a large 4 poster bed, huge bathroom and outdoor shower. Staff were also very friendly and helpful.

One small downside is the price of the drinks in the restaurant and bar, which are high, even by Western standards.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,090)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

991 - 997 of 2,091 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2012

My wife booked this hotel as a treat for my birthday. When we checked in they upgraded us to the honeymoon bungalow which was truly lovely. They also presentled me with a big bouquet of flowers after looking at our passports (I think they thought it was my wife's birthday) but nice touch all the same. The room had a huge stone bath in front of a picture window in the biggest bathroom I've ever seen. The hotel has a lovely setting with a fantastic pool.
The restaurant, whilst expensive by Vietnamese standards was not so by western ones. We booked some fantastic treatments in the spa which were all extremely nice.
The only drawback for us was a local wedding taking place just outside of the compound behind us which had extremely load music and dreadful karaoke/MCing from early morning to late night. Notwithstanding this a nice stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJBerkshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

A simply stunning resort encapsulated within stunning jungle vegetation with the night sounds of croaking frogs and singing cicadas. Wonderfully attentive staff, superb spa, great food, and two lovely swimming pools with sun lounges and pool service if you require.

We were upgraded to a honeymoon villa, which was simply divine with probably the biggest bed I have ever slept in, outside natural shower for refreshing morning showers, huge bathroom with sunken bath and overhead shower. If I had to fault something it would be the rather antequated and small TV set, but who wtaches TV on holiday.

We only stayed for two nights and I wish it had been more. thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: if you can get a honeymoon suite then do!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AllanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

What a wonderful experience. Zen like. I could live here!
Totally relaxing! A lovely retreat.
Slightly outside Hue, which could be a nuisance, but we found that there was limited attractions for our family in Hue anyway!
We did not eat dinner at the hotel much, but breakfast was sumptuous.
The pool was clean, long, and quiet. No jumping allowed..

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susielou67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

The Pilgrimage Village was set in lush vegetation away from the hustle and bustle. Having a shuttle bus was great as the Hotel was out of town but you needed to notify them in advance if you wanted to use the service.
Rooms were lovely but in a 5 star resort you expect everything to be spot on, which it wasn't, so this is the reason it didn't get an excellent. In saying that it was well worth staying there as food, service, pools, bars were very good.Overall excellent valeu for money

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Absolutely lovely hotel. Pool area is a tranquil. I felt relaxed just after 5 minutes being there. Could stay there days just doing nothing and meditating :)

Nice restaurant to spend evening, but food was not good enough for the price.

We wanted to bike from hotel to old tombs, but map was wrong, so we got lost. Fortunately we somehow persuaded local to bring us with motorcycle. So if you choose that hotel, because it might look close to sights on some guides, that is not the case.

Hue old city was also absolutely worth visiting.

Many of our friends who visited Hue before were not very excited and said that they would better skip it in planning. I think also partly thanks to the hotel and good combination of city, hotel and even no beach made very great impression on us. So i would say, if Hue, than with that hotel. As when we traveled at least, city was not very touristic, comparing to other Vietnam cities.

We also decided to take 4 hours spa-treatment program. That was very cute, but definitely too long. After 2 hours we could not feel our body. So I would recommend just a massage and a milk bath as the hotel spa area is done so cute, so just worth visiting.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia_Europe_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Pilgrimage Village a beautiful small resort and spa with outstanding service. Our villa with private pool was gorgeous, our spa treatments first-rate, and the restaurant offered some of the best food we had in Vietnam. From check-in through departure, the staff was attentive and responsive, including arranging a tour of Hue and resolving a flight issue.This would be a first-class destination anywhere in the world, the fact that it is located near the fascinating and culturally significant city of Hue is another bonus. Our only regret was that we didn't book a longer stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jlc470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hue hotels
2.8 mi away
Indochine Palace
Indochine Palace
#9 of 124 in Hue
1,374 reviews
2.3 mi away
La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa
3.3 mi away
Hue Serene Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#24 of 124 in Hue
1,167 reviews
3 mi away
Hotel Saigon Morin
Hotel Saigon Morin
#22 of 124 in Hue
1,554 reviews
2.9 mi away
Eldora Hotel
Eldora Hotel
#15 of 124 in Hue
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pilgrimage Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pilgrimage Village

Address: 130 Minh Mang Road, Hue, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hue
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hue
#5 Family Hotel in Hue
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hue
Price Range: $59 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pilgrimage Village 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pilgrimage Village is a traditional Vietnamese boutique resort blending harmoniously in the local environment. Set amidst lush green gardens and lily ponds, Pilgrimage Village is a haven, where the pace of life slows down… looking for lost time? Immerse yourself in a myriad of experiences from the luxurious naturally inspired spa treatments to Tai Chi, yoga or perhaps some chakra cleansing. A sanctuary for the mind, body and spirit. Relax, rejuvenate and revitalize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pilgrimage Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pilgrimage Village Hotel Hue
Pilgrimage Village Hue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing