We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a gentle relaxation”
Review of Perfume River

Perfume River
Book In Advance
More Info
$112.50*
and up
Private City Tour in Hue Including Kings Tombs and Citadel
More Info
$115.00*
and up
Private Day Trip to Hue Departure from Hoi An or Da Nang
More Info
$40.00*
and up
Sunset on Perfume River and Ancient Hue City Tour by Bike
Ranked #17 of 102 things to do in Hue
Attraction details
Basingstoke UK
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
134 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“a gentle relaxation”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Perfume River is just a name is has nothing to do with smell, either good or bad. A small group of us on a cycling day used a river boat to save peddling! This was a very relaxing interlude but the river is just an average river.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Signum32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,638 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    369
    527
    526
    154
    62
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Take it or leave it”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I was part of an intrepid tour when i went on a boat trip along the perfume river. It was really just a different mode of transport for us as we had bussed out to a pagoda and caught a boat back to the city. My husband and I had walked through the gardens along the river the day before our boat ride and had been approached over 15 times by what my husband called 'boat ninja's' )because they were women mostly dressed from head to toe in jeans, jackets with hand covers and face masks and hats and you could only see their eyes! ) to pay for trips down the river on their boats. We were so glad that we didn't accept any of their offers and pay for a tour because we both felt that it would have been quite boring. We wouldnt recommend spending money on tours on the big boats, but if you have time and want something to fill it in then by all means, we just thought it was not particularly the most serene river, and once you're on the boat there's no getting off until the tours over!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SGTurnbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Porto, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“The same same”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Not cheap,not fantastic view, not fantastic experience, nothing special on that.
Better use yout time to visit the City or the Tumbs.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tiago Cruz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
117 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Cruise!”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We had a short trip on the river after our visit to the pagoda, a very welcome $1.0 beer, the staff live on the boat and whist you sit down and take in the views bring round samples and gifts for sale - no Hassel and no pressure, very relaxing.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gossy-abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfume river”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

a casual boat ride to the thien Mu Pagoda is ok. Not much scenery on the way anyway. Good to help the boat people by buying some soveniers. The Tau Fu FA or bean curd served in cups is smooth and delicious. Can be bought on the way to the boat from Thien Mu Pagoda.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank stevenlai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Perfume River also viewed

Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
 
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
 

Been to Perfume River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing