We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great way to see parts of Hue - but river a bit dirty”
Review of Perfume River

Perfume River
Book In Advance
More Info
$112.50*
and up
Private City Tour in Hue Including Kings Tombs and Citadel
Ranked #17 of 101 things to do in Hue
Attraction details
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great way to see parts of Hue - but river a bit dirty”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We cruised on the river to visit several significant sites in Hue, It is a great way to see the city from a different perspective so if you can get a tour that includes a cruise I would recommend it.

Didn't notice a perfume but did see a lot of rubbish - common in Vietnam.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank JohnFamily04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,574 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    344
    513
    511
    147
    59
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Serene and... needing cleanup”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Cycling along the Perfume River outside the city is a getaway to nature. Serene and fluid - with many locals fishing with poles or casting nets. However, the banks of the river in the city house mountains of debris - everything from plastic bottles and aluminum cans to tshirts and potato chip bags. It's sad to witness a key historic waterway of an ancient, moated city house "modern day walls" of trash.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“very nice at nice.”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I came to the boat have dinner and follow folk song in hue.even thought i am not understand but i still love the song.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank mthomas68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albufeira
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Perfum River”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The name itself is appealing and the trip on this river was ever so relaxing with the beautiful scenery all along the river until reaching the Thien Mu Pagoda. I can only reccommend this tour - if travelling there in January as I did, you need some warm clothing.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank alisiosAlbufeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
109 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Spend a Relaxing Day on the River”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is a great way to spend a day in Hue. Have your hotel charter a boat for you. Go early and plan to spend most of the day. Be sure to specify which sites you want to visit. Your hotel should ask you whether or not you want food on your trip and whether or not you want to buy trinkets on board. Be sure to specify this with your hotel and reconfirm with your captain.
Be sure to bring appropriate clothing for the temples and tombs: long pants for men, skirts or pants to cover the knees for women, no sleeveless shirts.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank DrBonesSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Perfume River also viewed

Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
 
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
 

Been to Perfume River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing