We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lake is the major attraction”
Review of Tomb of Tu Duc

Tomb of Tu Duc
Book In Advance
More Info
$58.00*
and up
Little Hue - Private Cyclo Experience
Ranked #9 of 101 things to do in Hue
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The final resting-place of this Nguyen Dynasty emperor and scholar was built before his death. A lake, pavilion and theatre still exist on the grounds.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lake is the major attraction”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The antique architecture is fine, and I enjoyed the elaborate unpainted woodwork of the interiors. It isn't a mausoleum in the Western sense, but a kind of temple complex. The landscaping impressed me more than the architecture. The small lake has an elegant viewing pavilion, and in June and July the lotus must be splendid (there were few flowers and the leaves were turning brown when I was there in August).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    543
    649
    208
    36
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“so impressed- went back 4 years later...”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

dont revisit too many times however this was so prominent in our minds from our only 1 day 2009 trip, we just had to. Beautiful, peaceful place. Fairly cool compared to actual daytime temps as so much beautiful pine forest inside. Has changed a bit with some things being pulled down n rebuilt- just hope it is not too good and still has the not-so-perfect charm it had. A shame to see stalls inside there now.
The women stall keepers outside the tomb walls ran out on to the road as we slowed to look for a park- they actually blocked the road 'making' us stop- wanting us to park in 'their' spots n try to hoodwink you into paying for parking if you do not buy from them as you walk out. I do not believe at all that they have parking rights,I bought a water but would not pay for parking.
We kept scootering straight ahead after this and turned left into the suburbs- was another highlight of the trip as locals come out to see if you are lost etc- love the interaction n local insights. Is a smaller shrine or two further down the road as well.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Minimich61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The tombs”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The tombs need a lot of work to restore them to their original state but are great to visit and to learn the history of them

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JulieNWhyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hue, Vietnam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“beautiful but it's renovated”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

we went there for a round 1 hour to see inside. It's a lovely place to se. but some are under contruction or renovation.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank holidayvietnamt... t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
445 reviews
179 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is a stunning place to explore with lots of hidden nooks and crannies. We have teenagers, but it would be a great place for people with young children to let off a bit of steam. Quite run down in places, but that's it charm.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank PhilandRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tomb of Tu Duc also viewed

Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
 
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
 

Been to Tomb of Tu Duc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing