We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food but very busy !!”
Review of Hanh Restaurant

Hanh Restaurant
Ranked #33 of 501 Restaurants in Hue
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $6
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We came for lunch around 1pm and the place was packed. The food was nice with various choices the rice pancake, banh xeo, banh cuon,banh beo . If you in a hurry this is not the place you want, took a lot of time for them to prepare your food !

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Thanhphuong1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,948)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 1,948 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We came here after reading the reviews and weren't dissapointed. We had the set menu and didn't have a clue how to eat it, what order etc. but one of the waiters kept coming to our table to help us out and explain. The food was delicious and would recommend for anyone passing by Hue.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank MarkSte05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2019 via mobile

When you first arrive in Hue, chances are, the hotel staffs or other fellow travellers will refer you to the Hanh Restaurant. It’s basically a gathering place for tourists. Once you walk in and get seated in the relatively large mess hall you’ll notice that 80% of the patrons are tourists. And boy do the prices show it.

The first thing in the menu is a meal set consists of all the Hue favourites (except for the bun bo hue) for 120k. It’s got a little bit of everything, but I find that all but one of the dishes (rice pancake taco thing) served were pretty bland and unappetizing.

My suggestion is to not get caught up by the so-called ‘value meal’ and ditch it for single dishes like bun thit nuong (30k) or the rice pancake taco thing (25k).

The bun thit nuong there is exquisite. The sauce-broth-gravy they bring with the bowl is thick and delicious, and the roasted soybeans adds a great flavour to the bowl. The barbecue pork is tender and flavourful, the veggies are crisp and tasty. Overall, it was one of my favourite dishes in Vietnam thus far.

The rice pancake taco thing was also a good pick. It’s not as seasoned as the bun thit nuong, but the crunchy rice pancake taco shell thing is addicting. The only thing that bothered me was how oily it was. Meaning it’ll fill you up more than you think.

So yeah. Those two things. I’d skip the rest of the menu unless you want to go for the gelatinous hors d’oeuvre thing for the experience. Just know that it’s pretty bland even with the sauce.

As for accessibility... it’s pretty good, like most of Hue. Ramps to get in, seating is accessible, staff cares enough. Yeah. Pretty good for Vietnam standards.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank dcobco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2019 via mobile

Our hotel recommended this restaurant. They had so many choice, so we decided to order a lot of different dishes. Everything was so delicious! The staff even showed us how to eat it.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank feben2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2019

We wanted to try this restaurant after reading the reviews and really enjoyed our set meal. It's a plain and basic place but the food was good and the staff were pleasant and helpful.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sk6ontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanh Restaurant also viewed

Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
 
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
 
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
 

Been to Hanh Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing