We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly There”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Moonlight Hotel Hue
Ranked #21 of 122 Hotels in Hue
Certificate of Excellence
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Nearly There”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The fourth stop on my way to the south of Vietnam, was the city of Hue (pronounced whey).

It's a place steeped in history. The Perfume River divides it – the older part of the city on its northern banks and the modern sector, where most hotels and restaurants are located, on its south.

Hue has much to see and wonder at. A half day tour will take you to the Citadel, three ancient tombs, a beautiful garden house, Thien Mu Pagoda as well as a cruise on the river – but there are many other interesting places to visit, details of which can be found in the leaflets displayed in hotels.

Talking about hotels, I choose to stay at the Moonlight Hotel, which is located at the heart of downtown Hue. Opened in April 2013, it demonstrates its modernity as effectively as its five star competitors across the river but at a very affordable price.

The hotel's spa centre is well used by guests (mostly women – and why not?) while men seem to gravitate to the decently equipped fitness centre. Naturally, the small rooftop swimming pool sees both sexes enjoying that facility when finding a little time to relax.

Rooms have ether views of the city or the river. I had a good peek at both, which, amenity wise, are identical so it made sense in my case to save a few dollars, as I would be so involved during most daylight hours sightseeing, that a bed and a bath would be just that.

I did, very easily and quickly, develop a rapport with the staff at all levels, even enjoyed a half hour over a cup of coffee with the General Manager, Mr Nguyen Dang Nhan, who was more than happy to answer all of my diverse questions and a few suggestions. He was indeed a good listener.

Food on offer was well prepared, varied and served with a degree of deference. However, it seemed to me that because of the newness of the hotel and the limited time the staff had to gain experience and thus to bed-in, a few of the 'taken for granted' niceties had yet to develop. No real complaints – just a few niggles.

I'm sure that with managerial guidance, the hotel will be (if not already) 'firing on all cylinders'.

Room Tip: All rooms are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cumbrian25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoonlightHue, Manager at Moonlight Hotel Hue, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your nice comments and for your feedback that is always welcome and help us offer the best to our guests. We will follow up your feedback to improve our services better.
It will be a pleasure to serve you in another occasion and thank you again for your preference and for your suggestions
We wish you a lot of joy on this 2014!

On behalf of Hotel Management Team,
Dien Huong Ho
Assistant Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    604
    355
    79
    16
    4
See reviews for
173
545
76
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located on a street with restaurants, shops, and other hotels. We rented a scooter from a rental shop on the north west part of the block from a husband and wife business for about $7; we got our laundry, SIM card, toiletries and booked our ride to Hoi An at the backpacker hostel two doors to the north of the hotel. There's even a Pappa Roti cocktail bun bakery along the north side of the block! Yum!

The room has a great memory foam mattress and very clean. The only strange thing was how the jacuzzi tub was installed with a wall mounted shower head just didn't seem to be set up correctly for a stand up shower. But that wouldn't stop me from going back. The spa was clean. The breakfasts were well done. English wasn't a problem.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vic-20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This hotel is new and clean and great and conveniently located. The rooms were great, breakfast was great, and the staff was amazing. They provided us with helpful information about Hue and tour options, and they went above and beyond every day. We could not have been happier.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Location: somewhat away from the old centre and the citadel, but centrally located when you consider the tourist district
Premises: fairly new (or recently refurbished?) and efficient, though some (re-)construction was still going on
Room: efficient and everything in good working order, with nice clean bathroom
Breakfast: served on the top floor, with good choice of items; the great view is certainly a plus
Service: friendly and efficient; I was immediately moved to another room when I complained about a distinct smell of cigarette smoke in my non-smoking room.
Overall, good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GypsyKingBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This hotel is centrally located next to many restaurants and shops. The rooms are a good size and have heating / air conditioning. The hotel staff were wonderful and extremely helpful. Great value for money and highly recommend.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

New hotel with many restaurants and shops nearby. Arrived using the airport shuttle, which costs 50k VND and takes you directly to the hotel from Hue airport. Room was spacious and offers views since it is a tall building. Hot water was not really hot for some reason, which was annoying. Staff are nice but offer inflated prices for car hires, so head to the hostel next door to book. Breakfast was at the top floor restaurant and offered many good quality choices.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hkg2009hkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoonlightHue, Manager at Moonlight Hotel Hue, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear our valued guest,
Thank you for very much for taking the time to post your feedback after your recent stay at Moonlight Hotel Hue. It is with deep regret that we failed to live up to your expectations; we would like to comment on a few of your points:
Water problem: Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused by insufficient hot water supply. Running very high occupancy for extended periods of time caused a temporary failure for some rooms and has been rectified.

Transportation costs - You may refer to the car hire service at some other Hotels and will find the best price we offer for all our in-house guests.

Your detailed feedback have been shared with the owners, management, and the departments involved, and these will be used as a source of improvement for all areas where possible.

On behalf of Hotel Management Team,

Kindest regards,
Ho Dien Huong
Assistant Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Acceptable. Clean, big rooms, nice staff. Breakfast not great, and avoid dining there. Looked at other hotels in Hue and they actually did not seem much better even if much more expensive. Did not LOVE it but was ok.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuluRubino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoonlightHue, General Manager at Moonlight Hotel Hue, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear LuluRubino,

Thank you very much for your comments on your recent stay with us, your suggestion has been noted. We will improve our breakfast and the dining option menu better.
Looking forward to have a chance welcoming you back again.
Happy Holiday to you and your family.

Best wishes,
Nguyen Dang Nhan - General Manager
Moonlight Hotel Hue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hue hotels
0.2 mi away
Hue Serene Palace Hotel
0.1 mi away
Midtown Hotel Hue
Midtown Hotel Hue
#27 of 122 in Hue
360 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cherish Hotel
Cherish Hotel
#16 of 122 in Hue
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alba Spa Hotel
Alba Spa Hotel
#17 of 122 in Hue
525 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eldora Hotel
Eldora Hotel
#13 of 122 in Hue
922 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Saigon Morin
Hotel Saigon Morin
#24 of 122 in Hue
1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonlight Hotel Hue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonlight Hotel Hue

Property: Moonlight Hotel Hue
Address: 20 Pham Ngu Lao, Hue, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 122 Hotels in Hue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moonlight Hotel Hue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moonlight Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Hue City’s Downtown, within walking distance of Huong River, shopping malls, restaurants and night life. Many beautiful landscapes of Hue City can be accessed from the hotel in 30 minutes or less. Dong Ba market, Citadel and several national monuments are also nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moonlight Hotel Hue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing