We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Seafood for a good price”

Xuan Trang Cafeteria
Ranked #77 of 323 Restaurants in Hue
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lovely Seafood for a good price”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I am a big fan of seafood so when I saw stuffed squid on the menu I knew it was a place for a dinner. Food was very good for the price, we shared spring rolls and they were delicious.
Beer was cheap as well. Would not fault the place apart from the decor inside, its not really welcoming from the outside.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KarolaVicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    51
    13
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We wandered in here after failing to find another restaurant that we had been recommended, and were glad we did: we actually came back twice. Food is tasty with enormous portions, service was friendly and prompt. Try the stuffed squid, sit upstairs to catch the breeze and watch life going by on the street below.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Treens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stumbled across this cafe by chance. Sitting upstairs on the verandah we had a commanding view of street life in this city.

The food was exceptional - salads very fresh and well presented. The beer cold and the staff give excellent service. Price was really good!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“brilliant meal”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

walked in off the street without knowing anything about the restaurant. walked out having one of the very best meals we had anywhere in Vietnam. Spinach with garlic was the tastiest version of an old standard i've ever encountered, ditto the clams in a spicy broth.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Decent food for local price with friendly staff!!”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Xuan Trang provides decent food for local price! I do recommend you to stick to Asian dishes (friend rice, friend noodle, and other Vietnamese foods) at this restaurant as those are the ones that they can cook comfortably. The quality of western foods (e.g., hamburger, sandwiches, etc.) are quite questionable... This restaurants also has reasonably priced beers and other drinks, which is a big plus especially during the extremely hot Hue summer. The best part of this restaurant is its friendly and cheerful staff. The family like atmosphere at this restaurant makes people come back again to this place, and this is why this restaurant is long lasting in the city!!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenyalang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xuan Trang Cafeteria also viewed

 
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
 

Been to Xuan Trang Cafeteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing